Still the home of the HP Byron Nelson Championship: The TPC Four Seasons in Irving, Texas

IRVING, Texas -- Originally designed in 1982 by Jay Morrish, with player consultants Byron Nelson and Ben Crenshaw, the TPC Four Seasons Las Colinas has been the host course for the HP Byron Nelson Championship since 1986. Its contract with the PGA Tour event runs through 2018 before the tournament is expected to move to Trinity Forest, a course under construction in Dallas.

In 2008, the TPC course was redesigned by former PGA Tour and current Champions Tour player D.A. Weibring and his partner, architect Steve Wolfard. The PGA Tour player consultant was Harrison Frazar; J.J. Henry also gave input as several holes were lengthened, and the 18th was dramatically redesigned. The golf course now plays to a par 70 and 7,166 yards from the championship tees.

Apr 28, 2014

Join the conversation

Related Links

Mike Bailey

Senior Staff Writer

Mike Bailey is a senior staff writer based in the Houston area. Focusing primarily on golf in the United States, Canada, the Caribbean and Latin America, he contributes course reviews, travel stories and features as well as the occasional equipment review. An award-winning writer and past president of Texas Golf Writers Association, he has more than 20 years in the golf industry. Before accepting his current position in 2008, he was on staff at PGA Magazine, The Golfweek Group and AvidGolfer Magazine. Follow Mike on Twitter at @Accidentlgolfer.

Related Articles