Byrd at Sea Trail Golf Resort and Convention Center

3.8163529412 3.8 stars from 5 (81)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6740 yards
  • Slope: 130
  • Rating: 72.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: No
Metal spikes allowed: No
Singles allowed: Yes
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6740 yards 72.7 130
White 72 6251 yards 70.4 126
Gold 72 5561 yards 67.1 115
Red 72 4621 yards 67.8 110

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 81 Reviews
5 stars:
16
4 stars:
45
3 stars:
12
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

70 out of 81 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive   Great for locals playing multiple courses wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Quick round in the afternoon"


u000005028639's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Got out on an almost empty track, nice conditions, friendly staff. Old standby


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Slow due to poor rangers"


u149600982's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played on the 4th. We played behind the slowest group I have ever played behind and it was a 3some. In front of the 3some were 5 empty holes. We asked the ranger to help us with no avail. 3some would not let us play through. No help and no professionalism from this course. We left after 13 holes.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Byrd on 07/07/2017:

Hello Mark, thank you for taking the time to review Sea Trail - Byrd Course in the Myrtle Beach area. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our course due to the poor pace of play. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

"Poor Management"


mhs102603's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

The course has 3 course and they ALWAYS double tee the Byrd Course. The condition was perfect but the staff was unbelievably rude. The starters were missing tee times for people who booked in the club house. The started, whose name was Andrew was yelling at customers telling them it was not his fault the clubhouse miss booked their time. We played off the back tees on the Byrd course and there were 4 some on 4 some stacked up in front of us and and out tee time was at 8:04 am. It took almost 1.5 hours to play 5 holes so we went to the clubhouse to get a refund cause we were leaving town the next day and "the best they could do" was a rain check for the following year. Did not even consider a refund with the way it was all handled with the awful staff. It simply another course that caters to the locals and over books to get as much money as possible. My advice, never play this course without an 8 hour window blocked off.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Byrd on 07/10/2017:

Hi there Matthew, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We are sorry to hear that we missed the mark on your recent experience. It was certainly not our intent to provide rude customer service or poor scheduling and will be noting your thoughts. We strive to provide an excellent experience for our golfers and are sorry to hear that we let you down. We hope that you will give us the chance to earn your business again in the future.

"Good experience"


u000005616877's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love the layout and condition of the course was pretty decent- greens had been aerated recently but reasonably playable. Staff was very friendly and accommodating! The only real negative was the cart paths- very bumpy and in need of considerable repair.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/21/2017

Thank you so much for your review of the Byrd Course. We appreciate your positive comments and input pertaining to areas of the course.

Looking forward to your next visit with us at Sea Trail!


"Nice layout"


kilmerlake106's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Good staff and clubhouse. Wasn't busy at all on a Sunday afternoon in June. Nice variety of holes....course just needed to be mowed. Especially the greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Byrd at Sea Trail Golf Resort and Convention Center on 06/19/2017:

Hi David, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Byrd at Sea Trail Golf Resort in the Sunset Beach area. We appreciate the 3-star rating and are glad you enjoyed the layout, clubhouse, and our staff. Your thoughts have been noted and the team will make necessary improvements. We hope to see you back soon at Byrd at Sea Trail Golf Resort and Convention Center.

"Good layout, multiple tees so playable for any handicap"


u742200770's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

The Byrd course was closed for aeration, we played the Jones course and it was very enjoyable. Had one hour delay for thunderstorm on 8th tee. Resumed play and completed round in under 5 hours total.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/21/2017

Good morning and thank you for your 4-star rating of our course.

Hope to see you again soon at Sea Trail!


"Beach Golf"


u225296532's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great staff!!! The course was in excellent shape. Moderate challenge. Played the whites on Jones course. Plenty of wildlife...a couple of holes with gators.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/21/2017

Thank you so much for your kind words about the course and the 5-star rating! We are thoroughly pleased you enjoyed your round at Sea Trail and look forward to your return!

P.S.: Watch out for those alligators!


"Byrd course at Sea Trail"


kmdharan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in very good shape. The layout is perfect for mid handicappers.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/21/2017

Thank you for your 4-star rating of the course.

Hope to have your back at Sea Trail soon!



shipbum's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/21/2017

Thank you for your 4-star rating!




3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Byrd on 05/08/2017:

Hello Pam, thank you for taking the time to review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and pace of play. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"course"


chev48086's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Starter was fantastic. Worked us right in.Great guy to talk with.Dont lose this guy he really works at his job.Now as far as the check in lady that was behind counter I would say there could be some improvement.Maybe she was having a bad day.We told her first time players.We had to ask her where we go.She was very short with us.I kind of got the feeling that she didn't have time for us.Not a good feeling of first impression of your staff.Any ways you have enough customers so you can afford to lose one.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Byrd on 05/08/2017:

Hello Mark, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Byrd course."


u000006021497's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Excellent pace until it slowed at 16. Great shape. Well recommended.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



jdono1950's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Cart paths & sand traps"


Dennis2111317's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Both the cart paths and sand traps could use some help. Otherwise a very nice track.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Week of the masters"


garywilliston's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2017
Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice green sgood condition . Good amount of water greens fast. Strarter very nice and helpful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Excellent Day"


u630001322's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape but pace of play was slow 5+ hours. Weather was great. An enjoyable day.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Pace of play"


u735618010's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played Jones course first. Great! Conditions are very good. Conditions good at Byrd, but pace of play was slow. Really slow. Loved Maples layout and pace was really good on both Jones & Maples.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Byrd on 04/03/2017:

Hi Jeffrey,

Thanks for taking the time to review our course. We regret to hear that the pace of play was not up to par. We appreciate the feedback and have escalated it to the proper departments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the course conditions, as well as our other courses. We hope to see you again soon!



2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Byrd on 03/27/2017:

Hi David, thank you for the review. We regret to hear that our course conditions were not up to par. This is definitely not the experience we want for our golfers. We are however glad to hear that the pace of play was good. Thank you for playing and we hope to see you again.

"Good day at Seat Trails"


u8988060's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We found this course to be user friendly for the ladies in our foursome. Fairways and greens were good and seeing nature including 4 Gators made it even better!

One of our ladies shots ended up 6 feet from a sun soaking Gator.....Made for a great picture


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Cool day....hot price."


Paul2347403's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Got a great deal here on a very nice course. Conditions were good for this time of year. Nice variety of holes but found white tee boxes were a bit long for us on some holes,no problem we just moved up to the gold. Ladies liked the red tees. Great pace of play, nice fairways and good greens. Traps need a bit of work. Check in lady was grouchy but cart guy explained course basics. Play this one.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed