Barberton Brookside Country Club

3.9448588235 3.9 stars from 5 (65)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6587 yards
  • Slope: 114
  • Rating: 69.9
  • Layout

  • 3727 Golf Course Dr, Norton, Ohio 44203, Summit County
  • (330) 825-4538, (330) 825-4539
  • (330) 825-2536
  • www.barbertonbrookside.com

Year built: 1921
Type: Public
Greens: Bent Grass
Fairways: Blue grass
Golf Season: Open: 4/01 Closed: 10/31

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Colared shirt required
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6587 yards 69.9 114
White 72 6188 yards 68.2 111
Yellow 72 5117 yards 69.4 110
Red (W) 72 4710 yards 67.5 105

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 65 Reviews
5 stars:
15
4 stars:
36
3 stars:
9
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

60 out of 65 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Great for locals  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Fast greens"


Vernonh472's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great shape: fairways nice, rough a little deep, but the greens were great for putting!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Play this course while you still can!"


Gharth3's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Barberton Brookside is a gem of a golf course that has been in Norton, Ohio for many years. It is has always been is great shape with very nice and fast greens that hold good shots. I hope that the course is there for play for a few more years, but it is up for sale to developers. You know what that means, another great golf course will be turned into a terrible housing developing with no class. Get out there and play it while you can.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent public golf course."


Greendriver2's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Challenging & in great condition with a very accomadating & friendly staff !!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Bad conditions and ignorant staff"


u903046652's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I booked through golf now for a single tee time that I showed up early for. Even tho I was ten minutes early I was forced to play with another guy that was slated for the same tee time. Had we both been there at our time and not early I wouldn’t have minded this but the manager was adamant on us having to be together which gave me no time to warm up or even use the bathroom. After a few holes they’re grass cutter decided to mow our hole while we were trying to tee off. Many holes had been wet in which the mower left large tracks in the middle of the fairway. Overall boring set up for the overall course. Mind you there was no one on any othe the other holes around us. Overall terrible experience and would rather spend my money somewhere else.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Barberton Brookside Country Club on 09/26/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Barberton Brookside Country Club, in the Cleveland area. We are sorry to hear that you had a poor customer experience and that you did not have an enjoyable round with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope you will an improvement for your next round with us. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to earn your business again soon.

"HIDDEN TREASURE!!"


clough261's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

From the moment we walked in the pro shop we felt welcomed, thanks to Pat and Michelle. Course was in great shape from tee to green.....tee boxes could use a little TLC but other than that its a Hidden Treasure, will definitely be back soon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Course in Great shape!"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed the round. The course was in great shape for the recent dry conditions. Love the layout. Challenging but playable.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"comments"


raja1938's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

San traps need some work.

Rough is very good. Greens are excellent


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Barberton Brookside Country Club on 09/14/2017:

Hello Roop, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Brookside Country Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that the sand traps may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It sounds like you enjoyed a lot of the course, specifically the greens and the rough, so we are excited to hear that. Thank you for recommending our golf course, in the Cleveland area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Barberton Brookside"


u806069890's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course and some very fast greens. We came out to play on a day they were calling for rain. We never saw a drop of rain and had the course to ourselves. We enjoyed it and will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u4236946's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the second time I played this course. I booked my tee time off of GolfNow and was able to get 18 with caart for only $10. The course itself was in good shape, but some of the landscaping needed some upkeep. I don't every do anything in the clubhouse, so i can't give a good review of that.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Nice re-acquaintance"


u091544209's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had not played the course at Barberton Brookside in many years. I really did not remember the course. But I was happy my brother-in-law suggested it. The staff was very friendly and the course was in top notch shape. The fairways were well-groomed and and the greens held our approach shots really well. The clubhouse has seen better days but we went there for the golf, not the amenities.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Ming4855349's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great greens"


u000005748573's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I play alot of courses including some very big name country clubs yes including Firestone the course has fast for public greens and are true meaning hold shots and roll true great greens and and great challenge for anyone if your a slicer you won't like this course. O B right


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Beautiful golf course."


u770084315's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairways are manicured and the greens hard and fast. Very good challenge for any golfer. The multiple tee boxes are a plus to keep it fun for all players.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



jaydaniels1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Once is enough"


11bigblue11's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The layout of the course was okay but there was piles of grass everywhere in the fairways. Half of our shots from the fairways we had to move the grass. Roughs were even worse. There were two of us and we were following a five some which the ranger said has always been allowed there. No more for me.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Barberton Brookside Country Club on 06/28/2017:

Hello Steve, thank you for taking the time to review Barberton Brookside Country Club in the Cleveland area. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the course layout, but we are sorry that the round may have been a little slower than expected. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you golf again with us soon.

"Nice Course"


Big44Daddy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unfortunately it had rained pretty hard a few hours before I tee'd off and the course was closed to all carts so I walked the whole course, they allowed me to use a hand cart at no charge... I really liked the course and it's upkeep, the greens were nice and the fairways well kept


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"The course was not busy"


u1979814's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is always in good shape play that many times has a good layout recommend you play it


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000003664718's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"pace of play"


oldnogood's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

course was nice. need to add another set of tees. big gap between 6350 yds. and 5400 yds. biggest gripe was they allowed a couple of fivesomes out on course-never a fun time!!!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed