Silver Lake Golf Course

3.9106000000 3.9 stars from 5 (246)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6238 yards
  • Slope: 116
  • Rating: 69.6
  • Layout

  • 915 Victory Blvd, Staten Island, New York 10301, Richmond County
  • (718) 442-4653, (718) 447-5640
  • (718) 720-0042
  • www.silverlakegolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1929
Architect(s): John Van Kleek
Type: Public
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 70 6238 yards 69.6 116
Black (W) 72 6238 yards 76.0 134
Blue 70 5709 yards 67.8 112
Blue (W) 72 5709 yards 74.0 125
Silver 70 5375 yards 64.9 108
Silver (W) 72 5375 yards 72.3 122

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 246 Reviews
5 stars:
89
4 stars:
93
3 stars:
33
2 stars:
15
1 stars:
16

recommend this course

204 out of 242 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals advanced golfers walkers   Challenges include narrow fairways elevation changes undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"One of them perfect rounds on a perfect day"


Luckyshank's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Review is solely based on this days playing experience. Late afternoon round on a course I had pretty much to myself on a Saturday. Weather was cool with slight overcast which makes for perfect golf weather. Starter and rest of staff personnel was super friendly and course conditions were terrific. Greens were a little slow for Silver Lake standards. Usually some of the fastest and best greens of all NYC courses. Grabbing a bite and a few beers at the Veranda on site is always a plus at the Lake. With location, price, and friendly staff, it always was a place I played frequently.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



u580617808's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/11/2017:

Hi u580617808,

Thank you for the 4 star review and recommendation!

"Our new favorite city course!"


Lauren7279546's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a great experience at Silver Lake. It rained 3" the day before we played and the course was in great shape. We weren't either rushed or waiting at any point during our 18 holes and played in under 4 hours. While the facilities could have been better, I am going for the golf. We will return!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/09/2017:

Hi Lauren7279546,

We're excited to be your favorite city course! Great to hear drainage was not an issue after the rain and you were able to play at a consistent pace. Looking forward to your next round!

"Early morning round after a rain storm"


u7175077's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course drained well after a huge downpour the day before.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/09/2017:

Hi u7175077,

Thank you for the 5 star review! We appreciate your comments on course maintenance after the rain. See you soon!

"Never Again"


rekhadange's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course has an office in a trailer which is old and squeaky.The check out person is stubborn and just not the one to help or assist golfers in any way. Usually No is the answer.The course had 6 foursomes waiting on par 3 3rd and we waited for 45 mins for our turn. Pace of play was very slow and no ranger to control it.Ball washers did not have any towels.It was just awful.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/04/2017:

Hi rekhadange,

We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend our course at this time. It is our standard at Silver Lake to provide a much better experience than the one described here. Our staff works hard to accommodate every golfer and do their best to monitor pace of play closely. It sounds like play was a little behind on this particular day. We hope you can return in the future so we can improve your 1 star experience. Thank you for golfing with us!



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/04/2017:

Hi u000005559562,

Thank you for the 5 star review and recommendation!

"Solid Course Close to the City"


Richman730's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
First time playing Walked Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is conveniently located to NYC. It was in good shape for being the beginning of the season, however, the greens were recently aerated, so they were quite slow. This is expected for this time of year though.

There was an issue as we arrived 15 minutes before our tee time. After paying and getting our cart, we drove up to the starter, only to see that 3 groups were backed up in front of us. We asked those groups when their tee times were, and each of them were 10-20 minutes behind ours. The first starter we dealt with, said that unfortunately they were now placed in front of us, meaning our tee time meant virtually nothing and it was first come first play. However, a new starter approached and after bringing this to his attention, he remedied the issue. I am concerned that if we did not actively address this though, we would have been pushed back at least 30 minutes from our tee time. Just something to be aware of when arriving here.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/03/2017:

Hi Richman730,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for mentioning good course conditions, especially so early in the season. As for the starter situation, we're happy to hear it was remedied but will make sure this doesn't become a concern in the future when you return for another round. See you soon!

"DON'T EXPECT TO FIND ANYONE TO HELP YOU"


Paul9042's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

1-PLACEMENT OF PINS WAS RANDOM. NOT THE USUAL NUMBER GIVEN RETO LOCATE THE PIN

2-NO WATER TANKS TO DRINK

3-NO SHUTTLE SERVICE FROM S.I. FERRY TO COURSE.

4-FOOD WAS GOOD BUT SERVICE WAS AWEFUL.

IN GENERAL A PLEASANT CROWD OF PEOPLE CHILLING AT THE TERRACE BAR AND RESTAURANT

RESPECTFULLY

PHS


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/03/2017:

Hi Paul9042,

Thank you for golfing with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us improve moving forward. The pin placement is carefully considered on each day for our golfer's enjoyment. Food and drink are important to our staff and we're sorry to hear your service was not good on this particular day. Please reach out to the pro shop to discuss lack of shuttle service. We hope you decide to reach out and discuss so we can make your next experience fantastic, especially because it sounds like you enjoyed the course!

"Great Course"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in fantastic shape. Some very challenging holes and greens. Must hit your drives in the fairway to score well.


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/03/2017:

Hi michael7863653,

Thank you for the 5 star review! It's great to hear about excellent course conditions from our golfers. Additionally, there's great advice here to focus on starting each hole with an accurate drive. It will really help your score, especially with this particular layout.

"Local Course"


rsander's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Silver Lake is a nice local course to play. They have done numerous upgrades to the grounds over the past years that are beautiful and they keep the course in great shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/03/2017:

Hi rsander,

Thank you for the 5 star review and excellent feedback on course conditions! Our staff really enjoys hearing these wonderful comments from our golfers. See you soon!

"Horrible conditions"


martinek88's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course did not drain at all from heavy rains 2 days ago. Every single fairway was soaked.

Greens were sandy.

No order for teeing off...everyone just lined up at the first tee box. No one even asked our group what time we had. We teed off 15 minutes past our time.

Nearly every fairway had more than 4 balls because of errant shots. Fairways are very close to each other.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 04/22/2017:

Hi martinek88,

Thank you for golfing with us! Your feedback is appreciated. We're sorry to hear course conditions were not up to par during your round. Our staff is working hard to improve playing conditions as we head into season. Hopefully, you can return over the summer so we can improve your 2 star experience.

"Good Course, Great Deal"


u029832595's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

When other courses are packed Silver Lake has openings. Very good prices also.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 03/13/2017:

Hi u029832595,

Thank you for the 4 star review! We're happy you found a good value with us. See you soon! <br/>



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 03/06/2017:

Hi u673917040,

Thank you for the 5 star review!

Best,

Silver Lake Management

"Slow pace of play and terrible management"


daejyi5's avatar
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

I read awesome reviews about this place and decided to head over from queens. This course is about an hr away from where I am and it was a waste of time, toll, money.

Our tee time was set for 12:15 and we got there at 11 only to find out it was backed up 1hr+.

We were also double booked with a walk on group of three.

Tee time was 12:15, we tee'd off at 1:30. Pace of play was dreadful and had to wait on the tee box for a minimum of 15 mins before being able to tee off.

We didnt get to finish our round. Terrible course time management. They should learn to get a better system thag works. Needless to say, everyone was annoyed at the delay and pace of play. I do not recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 03/01/2017:

Hi daejyi5,

We're sorry to hear about your late start and inconsistent pace of play during your round. Please reach out to the pro shop with any further concerns. We would like to see you back on the course to improve your experience for next time.

Best,

Silver Lake Management


tonestone's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 01/03/2017:

Hi tonestone,

Thank you for the 5 star review!

Best,

Silver Lake Management


Guyfred's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/27/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 01/03/2017:

Hi Guyfred,

Thank you for the 4 star review!

Best,

Silver Lake Management

"Nice course"


u000006513958's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/23/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Very nice course. Easy to get on. Friendly staff.

Only problem is geese droppings.. I understand it's

Winter so really not much the club can do about that.

Will play again anyhow weather permitting.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 12/29/2016:

Hi u000006513958,

Thank you for the 4 star review! We're happy to hear you had an easy time getting on the course and experienced good customer service.

Best,

Silver Lake Management

"Enjoyable"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/23/2016
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

enjoyed the round and pace. course was in good shape especially for the time of year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 12/29/2016:

Hi t0nys,

Thank you for the 5 star review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your day on the course with good pace of play. See you soon!

Best,

Silver Lake Management


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed