Silver Lake Golf Course

3.9134000000 3.9 stars from 5 (254)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6238 yards
  • Slope: 116
  • Rating: 69.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 70 6238 yards 69.6 116
Black (W) 72 6238 yards 76.0 134
Blue 70 5709 yards 67.8 112
Blue (W) 72 5709 yards 74.0 125
Silver 70 5375 yards 64.9 108
Silver (W) 72 5375 yards 72.3 122

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 254 Reviews
5 stars:
92
4 stars:
95
3 stars:
36
2 stars:
15
1 stars:
16

recommend this course

210 out of 250 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals advanced golfers walkers   Challenges include narrow fairways elevation changes undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Course in good shape"


u613227587's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have not played here in two years, not close to home but overall great day. Had a noon time tee off, things when smoothly played just over 4 hours (3 some). Course in good shape (fairway & greens). the rough was thick which added to the differculty, got to hit it straight as fairway are narrow an side by side. Will be back again. Must ride the course too hilly for walking.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 06/14/2017:

Thank you for the 5 star review! We're happy to hear you decided to play with us after two years. The course is definitely in good shape for the summer! You're right about the fairways; hit 'em straight and down the middle to avoid trouble!

"Weekend at Silver Lake"


Charleyo's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape. No ranger to keep up the pace of play. Group in front of me had 2 holes open on the last 8 holes


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 06/13/2017:

Thank you for the 4 star review and recommendation of the course! Your feedback on pace of play is greatly appreciated and will help us improve moving forward.



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 06/11/2017:

Thank you for the review and recommendation! Your feedback on the practice green is greatly appreciated.

"Tight narrow track, accuracy a must."


Luckyshank's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
New York Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Not a long track but will punish you for errant tee shots. Weather was sunny and nice as nice can be. Pace was fabulous due to open tee times after an outing. Despite recent heavy rainfall, course conditions were great as usual for this place. Staff was super friendly with no crazy management issues today.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Golf Course on 06/05/2017:

Hi Michael, we're happy you enjoyed a quick pace of play and our great course conditions. Thank you for playing Silver Lake Golf Course!

"Best public course in Staten Island"


u256425290's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I have been playing this course consistently for three years. The course is in good condition for the amount of play it gets. The best feature about this course is the fact that every shot outside of the tee-box and greens are on uneven ground. This alone makes the course more challenging than many of the other courses around Manhattan. I recommend trying to find a hot deal and take the trip, you will not regret it.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Golf Course on 05/31/2017:

Hello David, we're happy you enjoyed our good course conditions and challenging layout. Thank you for playing Silver Lake Golf Course, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

"good time"


sigolferguy's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

i played on Saturday May 27 . Teed off at 1:55 pm. i was a single and got put with a three some of new golfers. Although they were new to the game i had a good time. We played in just under 5 hours. It would have been faster but the pin placements were in strategically difficult locations. I personally didn't mind it , but realized it was a problem for the rest of my group being beginners. I think if a golf course is looking to speed play on busy weekends they should make easier pin placements. I saw the superintendent while on the turn and tried to mention this but he mumbled something unintelligible and drove off. this is one of the best public courses around.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Golf Course on 05/31/2017:

Hello John, we're happy you enjoyed a quick pace of play and our course layout. Thank you for rating us one of the best public courses around and thank you for playing Silver Lake Golf Course!

"Slow"


jsforza's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

6 hour round. Had a 12:37 tee time didn't get out till after 1. Tournament playing ahead of us but the group 2 out in front of us had no clue how to play the game or how to play ready or had any business playing a tournament. We were 3 groups on the tee numerous times they would spend 20 min to find lost balls. The completely destroyed the round for me. 6 hrs is crazy to play. I should have left and asked for my money back. The course is in great shape on the plus side but no rangers moving pace of play and another group 2 behind us had a radio playing the whole time. Overall course is in nice shape the lack of ranger to pace players and control idiots playing the radio on a golf course really made for a bad day. Hope they read this. It should be policy to tell you when your playing behind a large group.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 06/09/2017:

Hi jsforza,

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience with us. We can assure you this is not up to our standard pace of play. Our staff works hard to accommodate all golfers, but this situation should have been addressed to ensure your day of golf was not interrupted. We apologize and are happy to hear you enjoy the course. Hopefully, this will bring you back so we can improve your next round of golf.



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 06/09/2017:

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Please feel free to reach out to pro shop staff to discuss your experience in detail. Thank you for golfing with us!

"One of them perfect rounds on a perfect day"


Luckyshank's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
New York Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Review is solely based on this days playing experience. Late afternoon round on a course I had pretty much to myself on a Saturday. Weather was cool with slight overcast which makes for perfect golf weather. Starter and rest of staff personnel was super friendly and course conditions were terrific. Greens were a little slow for Silver Lake standards. Usually some of the fastest and best greens of all NYC courses. Grabbing a bite and a few beers at the Veranda on site is always a plus at the Lake. With location, price, and friendly staff, it always was a place I played frequently.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 06/09/2017:

We really enjoyed your 5 star review! You highlighted everything that makes this a great place for golf. It's great to hear about excellent course conditions, friendly staff and great food after the round. See you soon!



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 06/09/2017:

Thank you for the 4 star review!



2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 06/09/2017:

We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Please feel free to reach out to the pro shop to discuss your experience in detail.


u580617808's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/11/2017:

Hi u580617808,

Thank you for the 4 star review and recommendation!

"Our new favorite city course!"


Lauren7279546's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a great experience at Silver Lake. It rained 3" the day before we played and the course was in great shape. We weren't either rushed or waiting at any point during our 18 holes and played in under 4 hours. While the facilities could have been better, I am going for the golf. We will return!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/09/2017:

Hi Lauren7279546,

We're excited to be your favorite city course! Great to hear drainage was not an issue after the rain and you were able to play at a consistent pace. Looking forward to your next round!

"Early morning round after a rain storm"


u7175077's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course drained well after a huge downpour the day before.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/09/2017:

Hi u7175077,

Thank you for the 5 star review! We appreciate your comments on course maintenance after the rain. See you soon!

"Never Again"


rekhadange's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course has an office in a trailer which is old and squeaky.The check out person is stubborn and just not the one to help or assist golfers in any way. Usually No is the answer.The course had 6 foursomes waiting on par 3 3rd and we waited for 45 mins for our turn. Pace of play was very slow and no ranger to control it.Ball washers did not have any towels.It was just awful.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/04/2017:

Hi rekhadange,

We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend our course at this time. It is our standard at Silver Lake to provide a much better experience than the one described here. Our staff works hard to accommodate every golfer and do their best to monitor pace of play closely. It sounds like play was a little behind on this particular day. We hope you can return in the future so we can improve your 1 star experience. Thank you for golfing with us!



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/04/2017:

Hi u000005559562,

Thank you for the 5 star review and recommendation!

"Solid Course Close to the City"


Richman730's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
First time playing Walked Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is conveniently located to NYC. It was in good shape for being the beginning of the season, however, the greens were recently aerated, so they were quite slow. This is expected for this time of year though.

There was an issue as we arrived 15 minutes before our tee time. After paying and getting our cart, we drove up to the starter, only to see that 3 groups were backed up in front of us. We asked those groups when their tee times were, and each of them were 10-20 minutes behind ours. The first starter we dealt with, said that unfortunately they were now placed in front of us, meaning our tee time meant virtually nothing and it was first come first play. However, a new starter approached and after bringing this to his attention, he remedied the issue. I am concerned that if we did not actively address this though, we would have been pushed back at least 30 minutes from our tee time. Just something to be aware of when arriving here.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/03/2017:

Hi Richman730,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you for mentioning good course conditions, especially so early in the season. As for the starter situation, we're happy to hear it was remedied but will make sure this doesn't become a concern in the future when you return for another round. See you soon!

"DON'T EXPECT TO FIND ANYONE TO HELP YOU"


Paul9042's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

1-PLACEMENT OF PINS WAS RANDOM. NOT THE USUAL NUMBER GIVEN RETO LOCATE THE PIN

2-NO WATER TANKS TO DRINK

3-NO SHUTTLE SERVICE FROM S.I. FERRY TO COURSE.

4-FOOD WAS GOOD BUT SERVICE WAS AWEFUL.

IN GENERAL A PLEASANT CROWD OF PEOPLE CHILLING AT THE TERRACE BAR AND RESTAURANT

RESPECTFULLY

PHS


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/03/2017:

Hi Paul9042,

Thank you for golfing with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us improve moving forward. The pin placement is carefully considered on each day for our golfer's enjoyment. Food and drink are important to our staff and we're sorry to hear your service was not good on this particular day. Please reach out to the pro shop to discuss lack of shuttle service. We hope you decide to reach out and discuss so we can make your next experience fantastic, especially because it sounds like you enjoyed the course!

"Great Course"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in fantastic shape. Some very challenging holes and greens. Must hit your drives in the fairway to score well.


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/03/2017:

Hi michael7863653,

Thank you for the 5 star review! It's great to hear about excellent course conditions from our golfers. Additionally, there's great advice here to focus on starting each hole with an accurate drive. It will really help your score, especially with this particular layout.

"Local Course"


rsander's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Silver Lake is a nice local course to play. They have done numerous upgrades to the grounds over the past years that are beautiful and they keep the course in great shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Silver Lake Management on 05/03/2017:

Hi rsander,

Thank you for the 5 star review and excellent feedback on course conditions! Our staff really enjoys hearing these wonderful comments from our golfers. See you soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed