Sterling Hills Golf Club

3.7633470588 3.8 stars from 5 (444)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6813 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 72.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire is required. Blue jeans, cutoff pants, athletic shorts, swim suits and jogging clothes are not considered proper attire
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tournament 71 6813 yards 72.9 133
Championship 71 6395 yards 70.9 126
Regular 71 5906 yards 69.0 121
Forward (W) 72 5482 yards 72.7 125

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 444 Reviews
5 stars:
92
4 stars:
202
3 stars:
83
2 stars:
37
1 stars:
30

recommend this course

350 out of 440 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens water hazards   Great for drinks brunch watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

bari4's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2017:

Thank you for the 5-star review and recommendation!


markmullin107's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us! Your feedback on course conditions is greatly appreciated. We hope you can come back and try us again next season.

"Used to be classic now sad"


bluebillbbtcm's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Got a cheap rate. Can't complain too much. Truly a $25 course


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/10/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us! We're sorry to hear you did not recommend the course at this time. We hope to see you again!


bari4's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/02/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/05/2017:

Thank you for the 5-star review and recommendation!

"Great weather."


Cljonzy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/30/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Whenever we want to beat the heat, we head to Ventura County. Sterling Hills is a good value and in much better shape than Camarillo Springs. Not as nice as River Ridge, but good deals. Will come back. Maybe you should think about orange tees for seniors, like River Ridge. Just a thought. It would make it more enjoyable.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/04/2017:

Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation! Your recommendation on the senior tees is greatly appreciated and will be reviewed. See you soon!

"Need maintenance"


u000001317653's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairway no grasses in some area cart took off gps

Need more maintenance


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/04/2017:

We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Your feedback is appreciated.

"great course, poorly ran"


Bruce8457077's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As a couple we've played Sterling many times and usually rally enjoy it.

Brought another couple for their first time but they didn't have enough charged cats and the ones that has gone out in the morning were failing on the course.

Found out the new owner had decided to not buy batteries for their carts.

Not only will our friends most likely never return but doubtful that we will either.

VERY DISAPPOINTED !


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 09/26/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us! We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time because of the electric carts. If you decide to visit us again, please talk to the pro shop about cart selection so we can make sure your round is fully accommodated.

"Great greens"


rmason123's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were in great condition, my first time playing this course and enjoy the day. Fairways are nicely laid out & not overly challenging. A nice overall experience for this player who travel for work.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 09/25/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us on your business trip! Looking forward to seeing you again when you're back in LA.

"Sterling Hills - A fun round"


Steven9675321's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have just recently discovered Sterling Hills. I have played the course twice over the past six weeks. The staff is very nice and accommodating. Check-in was friendly, and inviting, and the grill has many tasty options. The driving range is rough, yardage is not clearly marked and the driving range balls have seen better days, and the balls need to be replaced. The course is challenging, yet the yardage markers are questionable. I would highly recommend playing the course with a GPS device, since the carts do not have GPS built in. You will have a much more enjoyable your round not second guessing your yardage. The bunkers are well maintained, as I played through several. The greens are very nice, however, the fairways are 'chunky', and has inconsistent grass throughout. Off the fairway, you are hitting off of bare dirt on many holes. Overall, an enjoyable round, cooler temperatures and requires some creativity on each hole. Enjoy.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 09/20/2017:

Your assessment of the course is great and will help other golfers score. Thank you for golfing with us and sharing your 4-star experience!


ccourchesne's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 09/20/2017:

Thank you for the 4-star review!

"The course is challenging!"


cd13618's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the front nine in 44 however I found the back more challenging!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 09/20/2017:

The back 9 definitely provides a challenge. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us. See you soon!

"Good Round for the Money"


Wxwnanny's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pace of play was excellent, Course in fair condition. Some fairways in great shape, others we used winter rules to find a grassy spot. Great views on some of the holes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 09/19/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us and providing great feedback on the pace of play. We're happy you find a good value with us and look forward to another round.

"Nice Course in OK Shape"


Wxwnanny's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really like this course but wish it were in better condition. It wasn't very busy but we were behind a really slow 4some and there was no marshall. Overall, I felt like a got a good deal playing there.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 09/06/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us and sharing your experience!


youngsunny's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 09/05/2017:

Thank you for the 5-star review and recommendation!

"Fun course to play"


u000007171639's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This course has a great layout, a country club feel. We have played 4 weeks in a row, driving all the way from Studio City to get that wonderful ocean breeze. Thanks for cutting the tee boxes grass!! The greens are some of the best conditions, someone complained on an earlier review about players not repairing their divots, try playing LA city Courses!! The bunkers need some attention but most of them aren't even in play. There's a lot of dry spots in the fairways but if you hit a good tee shot you get incredible role. Proshop staff is extremely friendly, especially Dave, Thanks!! The Best pace of play, so far all 4 rounds, 4 hours, with no one in front or behind us, occasionally a twosome catches up and we let them play through. Great prices and value. Overall, great experience every round played. Blows away LA City Courses.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 09/05/2017:

Thank you for driving all the way from Studio City to play golf with us! We look forward to having you on the course as much as you look forward to getting away from LA City Courses.

"Pretty good price but don't fall for it"


u000002463738's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

There is a reason ... it's in very bad condition. I've played here probably 5 times over the last 10 years and was shocked on this visit.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Westridge Management on 08/29/2017:

We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Our staff is working hard to improve course conditions for your next visit.


Cljonzy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 08/29/2017:

Thank you for the 4-star review!

"Needs help"


indylynn8's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course over the past few weeks has been going down hill. It needs some TLC


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 08/29/2017:

Your feedback on course conditions is greatly appreciated. Thank you for golfing with us!


Ed9008079's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 08/29/2017:

Thank you for recommending Sterling Hills Golf Club!

"Course Conditions"


u000007083819's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This is my first post, as I usually don't take the time to write a review. But, I felt it was time to share the following comments. Our Sunday group plays at here on a regular basis - 2-3x a month for the past 2 years. I agree with some of the recent reviews about the moderate/poor course conditions, especially the fairways and some of the greens. However, I don't think it's entirely all management's fault! I'm sure the hot weather we've experienced this summer plays a role, but more importantly, it's the golfers' responsibility to repair divots in the tee boxes, fairways and greens. I'm troubled by the irresponsible entitled guests who are too lazy to do their part in maintaining the course. A grounds crew can only do so much and as we all know (or should), it takes time for Mother Nature to do her part. Our foursome enjoys playing at Sterling Hills and we are hopeful the course conditions will improve as Fall approaches. (*Note: during late spring, the course was in great shape.) For those that read my review, please do your part in policing yourself. With the aid of the groundskeepers, together we can make the course the DIAMOND as it once was... #beresponsiblegolfers


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 09/05/2017:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on current course conditions! We're thrilled to hear your group enjoys playing golf with us 2-3 times/ month. Our staff looks forward to better conditions moving forward. See you soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed