Chippewa Golf Club

4.3376000000 4.3 stars from 5 (157)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6756 yards
  • Slope: 122
  • Rating: 71.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6756 yards 71.8 122
White 71 6101 yards 68.9 117
Red 71 4974 yards 67.7 114

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 157 Reviews
5 stars:
85
4 stars:
48
3 stars:
18
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

146 out of 156 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include elevation changes undulating greens water hazards   Great for drinks watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good memories"


Mjm42779's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/19/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This was my home course in high school and I haven't played it for probably ten years. Everything was in tip top shape today as it was then. Shooting 78 didn't hurt either! Greens ran true and course played well even with a pretty strong wind on some holes (especially in the Bermuda Triangle).


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



CAROLTHAXTON's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

COURSE WAS IN EXCELLENT CONDITION. STAFF VERY FRIENDLY. BACK 9 WAS BUSY, SO THEY LET US PLAY THE FRONT AGAIN. VERY ACCOMADATING.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great shape"


MKuhn1963's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course always in great condition great value for the money.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Chippewa on 06/05/2017:

Hello Brett, thank you for taking the time to review our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and course conditions. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Ridiculous"


u704703000's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Playing as a single with a twosome in front of me make the turn and a new foursome appears that did not play the front starter said that they were supposed to meet their friends on number 10 t and he told him just to go ahead it took these beginners 20 minutes to play number 10 what a joke


Pace of Play: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Poor pace of play"


Chris3318906's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've golfed this course in the afternoon twice now and pace of play was terrible. 5 hour plus round is just too long. Course staff needs to enforce a reasonable pace of play.

I like the course, and morning tee times are not an issue. But pace of play in the afternoon definitely needs improvement.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Chippewa on 05/30/2017:

Hello Christopher, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course. We are sorry to hear about the subpar pace of play, we will pass your feedback onto the appropriate department. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.


bloodrage4's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u6619706's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000007177252's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Twice a year

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Very nice playing!"


u000007575435's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Greens were very erratic on speed from hole to hole. Improvement would be conistency. Overall it was a beautiful course! Fairways are a well taken care of. This course is a very advanced course layout! But if you play it properly, you'll do very well. Only negative ☆ would be the towers going right through the course. Had a great time!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



jkellis's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Good layout with a few very hard holes"


u00000604614's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
Previously played Walked Wet weather

Reviewed on

I have been playing Chippewa for many years. It is almost like two courses. The front nine is fairly straightforward and conducive to good scoring. The back nine has a number of holes where a bogey is a good score. The greens on the Bermuda Triangle holes (14-15) are so steep that the pins are always in the back portion of the green. Any location towards the front would be too difficult to putt. No 14 is the hardest since shorter hitters have difficulty carrying the pond below the green given a downhill lie on the fairway, and there is virtually no layup spot. That said it makes a bogey satisfying.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


jolney's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

This course is a country club condition public course. Has several challenging holes to test your skills but can also be enjoyed by your average golfer.

simulator in the club house is a great addition for 2017


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenging course"


Jmetz61's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course is always in decent shape. Greens are very difficult to hold. 14 & 16 greens are very unfair and almost unputtable. Layout of course in my opinion is inferior. Hard to find a good fairway lie on most holes.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from Chippewa Golf Club on 03/06/2017:

Hi, John. We appreciate you taking the time to review our course. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy the course layout and found some of the greens to be unputtable. We are always striving to improve the experience for our golfers so we hope you have a more enjoyable round next time you come out to play! We hope to see you again soon!

"Nice"


stevemet4's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Nice layout. 14,15 and 16 will test anyone regardless of handicap. Greens are 2nd to none.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautiful and challaging."


Photogent1943's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

We played this course when it was suppose to go up to 45 degrees. Never made it. Greens were frozen and did the course in 3 hours. Rest of the year the course is fantastic especially the Bermuda Triangle. Patience and determination to score good.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"One of the best public courses in Akron area."


Zhibin8328138's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It is a great golf course, you would enjoy it whether you play blue or white tee. It is fun to play the evil triangle , 14, 15, and 16th hole. The price is right too!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Pace of play"


golfing38's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played front nine in 1;30 mins but when we made the turn they put a group in front of the group in front of us took 2:30 mins to play the back made the round awful had to wait on every shot played here a few times never had this happen before


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Chippewa Golf Club on 11/21/2016:

Hi golfing38,<br/> Thank you for your review! We are so happy to know you enjoyed your round. We apologize for the slow pace of play. We understand how frustrating that can be. We will work to improve in this area and we hope to see you back again soon!


u00000898836's avatar
Age:  65+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/01/2016
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Love this course"


robacord's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape for a Fall round. The greens were very fast and true. The pace of play was a little slow, but still a very enjoyable day. If you have never played this course, you need too!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed