Chippewa Golf Club

4.3289000000 4.3 stars from 5 (149)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6756 yards
  • Slope: 122
  • Rating: 71.8
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 12147 Shank Rd, Doylestown, Ohio 44230, Wayne County
  • (330) 658-6126
  • (330) 658-3127
  • www.chippewagolfclub.com
Write a review

Year built: 1962
Architect(s): James Harrison (1962), Ferdinand Garbin (1962)
Type: Public
Greens: Bent Grass
Fairways: Bent Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6756 yards 71.8 122
White 71 6101 yards 68.9 117
Red 71 4974 yards 67.7 114

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 149 Reviews
5 stars:
79
4 stars:
48
3 stars:
16
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

139 out of 148 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include elevation changes undulating greens water hazards   Great for drinks watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u000007177252's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Twice a year

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Very nice playing!"


u000007575435's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Greens were very erratic on speed from hole to hole. Improvement would be conistency. Overall it was a beautiful course! Fairways are a well taken care of. This course is a very advanced course layout! But if you play it properly, you'll do very well. Only negative ☆ would be the towers going right through the course. Had a great time!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



jkellis's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Good layout with a few very hard holes"


u00000604614's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
Previously played Walked Wet weather

Reviewed on

I have been playing Chippewa for many years. It is almost like two courses. The front nine is fairly straightforward and conducive to good scoring. The back nine has a number of holes where a bogey is a good score. The greens on the Bermuda Triangle holes (14-15) are so steep that the pins are always in the back portion of the green. Any location towards the front would be too difficult to putt. No 14 is the hardest since shorter hitters have difficulty carrying the pond below the green given a downhill lie on the fairway, and there is virtually no layup spot. That said it makes a bogey satisfying.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


jolney's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

This course is a country club condition public course. Has several challenging holes to test your skills but can also be enjoyed by your average golfer.

simulator in the club house is a great addition for 2017


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenging course"


Jmetz61's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course is always in decent shape. Greens are very difficult to hold. 14 & 16 greens are very unfair and almost unputtable. Layout of course in my opinion is inferior. Hard to find a good fairway lie on most holes.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from Chippewa Golf Club on 03/06/2017:

Hi, John. We appreciate you taking the time to review our course. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy the course layout and found some of the greens to be unputtable. We are always striving to improve the experience for our golfers so we hope you have a more enjoyable round next time you come out to play! We hope to see you again soon!

"Nice"


stevemet4's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Nice layout. 14,15 and 16 will test anyone regardless of handicap. Greens are 2nd to none.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautiful and challaging."


Photogent1943's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

We played this course when it was suppose to go up to 45 degrees. Never made it. Greens were frozen and did the course in 3 hours. Rest of the year the course is fantastic especially the Bermuda Triangle. Patience and determination to score good.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"One of the best public courses in Akron area."


Zhibin8328138's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It is a great golf course, you would enjoy it whether you play blue or white tee. It is fun to play the evil triangle , 14, 15, and 16th hole. The price is right too!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Pace of play"


golfing38's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played front nine in 1;30 mins but when we made the turn they put a group in front of the group in front of us took 2:30 mins to play the back made the round awful had to wait on every shot played here a few times never had this happen before


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Chippewa Golf Club on 11/21/2016:

Hi golfing38,<br/> Thank you for your review! We are so happy to know you enjoyed your round. We apologize for the slow pace of play. We understand how frustrating that can be. We will work to improve in this area and we hope to see you back again soon!


u00000898836's avatar
Age:  65+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/01/2016
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Love this course"


robacord's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape for a Fall round. The greens were very fast and true. The pace of play was a little slow, but still a very enjoyable day. If you have never played this course, you need too!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A1 course"


Payback129's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful course. Great layout. Fast greens. People were friendly. Can't wait to go back.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Some hype; some shots"


DocDivot's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/06/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

The course comes with a reputation hyping the backside's Devil's Triangle. Those holes take some good shotmaking and thought. The overall layout is fine, but there are better in the area. One issue that is problematic is that the greens do not hold well even when hitting shots from the fairway. The course's defense are the greens that run fast, but could be a bit more consistent. Brecksville's Sleepy Hollow has speedy greens, but the layout is much better.

Chippewa is worth a visit. After playing the track, it might be worth a return trip or other area courses might be more tempting. The course on the plus side is well maintained.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/10/2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking to improve course conditions and take your comments very seriously. Look forward to having you back soon and making up for this experience.


"Great Course"


Dave5552790's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/05/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You must put this course on your list of places to play. The course is in fantastic shape and was a pleasure to play. The layout is a good challenge for any golfer. The greens are in better shape than any course I've played this year, including Country Clubs. Don't miss out on this wonderful track. Enjoy!!!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Closer than you think"


KOOPER7777's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather

Reviewed on

I hesitated to drive to Chippewa golf course because it was located in Doylestown. I finally mapped it and realized it was only 25 minutes from Cleveland. So glad I did. Course is in great shape. Employees were very welcoming. Played 18 with a friend in 2 1/2 hours. Will definitely return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best Greens in the Area - Country Club roll"


Justin7626222's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

If you want an nice public course that gives you plenty of challenge, Chippewa is a good bet. The condition of the greens and fairways on this course are always excellent.

Greens roll true with a lot of undulation and they're fast. So fast at times you can miss the hole (putting) and end up well off the green. We played from the tips which makes this course more challenging. There are some holes you have to have a 230 yard carry from the blues.

Brad, the superintendent has been taking care of this course for many years and does an excellent job. So sorry about Don (the course pro that passed away recently). Don is missed by many.

You might say some of these greens are tricked up but with country club conditions and 9+ on the stimp, this course is a local favorite that gets a lot of play.

If you like food, try their Chippewa Wings - Best wings around, trust me!

Golf Chippewa, I'm sure you will not be disappointed. They have driving range too.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Golf Day"


MindFields's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 9 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Chippewa Golf Club allowed my Son-in-Law and I to play 18 holes of golf without being paired up with another couple. This was fabulous because I am just learning the game of golf and my handicap is in the high twenties. This gives me the opportunity to play at my own speed and capabilities without being pressured by other players as well as not aggravating and or discourage other players that would have been paired with us. The golf course was beautiful and challenging. Watch out for the Bermuda Triangle (Holes 14, 15, & 16). My son-in-law loves those holes for the extreme challenge of the game. For me – I enjoyed watching him play those three holes with only one over for all three. A majority of the greens have contour to them as well as being fast, so getting your ball to the green still leaves you a challenge to get your ball into the hole and make your par. ;o) I look forward to playing my next round of golf at Chippewa Golf Club!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best course I've played for the cost"


slabotnick's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

The best course I've ever played for the money. Always in great shape, very well maintained and just a fun place to play. Definitely a place to enjoy!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"One of N. Ohio's Best"


u000005323757's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2016
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Our group plays Chipp about 5 times a year and it never gets old. We always track our scores on the triangle to see who gets through it the best. Chippewa has the best drainage around and it's usually playable when other courses are soaked. Snack bar is top notch, as well.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed