Dogwood Trace Golf Course

4.3996176471 4.4 stars from 5 (200)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6605 yards
  • Layout

  • 3108 Homestead Dr, Petersburg, Virginia 23805, Petersburg (City) County
  • (804) 732-5573
  • (804) 732-4452
  • www.dogwoodtracegolf.com

Year built: 2008
Architect(s): Tom Clark (2008)
Type: Public/Municipal
Style: Parkland
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6605 yards 0.0 0
Blue 72 6391 yards 0.0 0
White 72 5834 yards 0.0 0
Red 72 4914 yards 0.0 0

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 200 Reviews
5 stars:
100
4 stars:
85
3 stars:
14
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

193 out of 200 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals walkers seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

jammer81's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/30/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 10/03/2017:

Thank you for the four-star rating!

"Amazing value!"


Annleaht's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was our second time playing this course, and we had another great experience. Really, an amazing deal for a fun course in very good condition! Great amenities. We loved this place, and will definitely be back soon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 10/03/2017:

Thank you for the wonderful five-star review! We're so happy that we could make your second visit as great as the first. We're looking forward to the third!


u671992017's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 09/18/2017:

Thank you for the four stars!

"All around good course."


u000006341711's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in excellent shape and staff was friendly and accommodating. Love playin there!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 09/18/2017:

And we love having you! Please come and see us again soon!

"RWD@Dogwood"


russelld1948's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens and fairways of this course are as good as you can find on any public course in the state.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 09/18/2017:

We so appreciate you taking the time to leave us a great five-star review, Russell! We do strive to provide our golfers with the best possible experience and hearing that we've succeeded makes all that hard work well worth it. Don't be a stranger! Please come and see us again soon.

"A regular player at Dogwood"


u698535498's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always good condition and pretty good pace of play. Get your low scores on the front nine as the back is longer and more difficult. If rough is up watch were your ball goes as it will sink to the bottom and may completely disappear. Always enjoy the round, regardless of,score.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 09/14/2017:

Thank you for the terrific five-star review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the conditions and we look forward to your next round with us!

"Pam Meadows"


u000004464847's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Play pace was very slow. Balls coming from every direction on to the fairway from other holes. Noisy crowds on other holes. Very poor golf etiquette shown. Golf now discount not honored. Th course was in good shape, but due to all the other issues will not return or recommend to anyone.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 09/14/2017:

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us. We'd like to hear more about your experience with GolfNow rates not being honored as our policy accepts those rounds booked via GolfNow. Feel free to reply below so that we may address the issue.

"Great features."


u000006341711's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good value for the money. Very crowded for a holiday.. no carts available at tee time resulting in a 35 minute delay starting.

But management worked to get us on and started and we made it with delays in four and a half hours.

Don't post this.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 09/14/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great five-star review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your round despite some holiday crowds. Please come and see us again soon!


kccarter's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 08/29/2017:

Thanks so much for the five stars!


mahoneyd's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 08/08/2017:

Thank you for rating us 5 stars!


Call2preach's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 08/08/2017:

Thank you for the five stars!


u671992017's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 08/08/2017:

Thank you for the five stars!


u7322065's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 07/27/2017:

Thank you for providing helpful feedback!

"The course was great."


u000007634183's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course it self was one the prettiest courses ive played on. however the tee boxes were hard to get the Tees in the ground. the rough was a smidge tall lost 3 balls in it. theirs a moderate amount of water holes so come prepared with extra balls just incase. i know i lost about 5 in the water.

Another issue was the missleading hot deal granted it was still cheap but a $6 convenience fee is kinda high.

The AD was for 15 then ended up being $3 more per person. Its kinda a far drive but if the deal stays the same may consider going back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 07/27/2017:

Thank you for leaving us valuable feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the round and we hope you return soon!


Timothy9269545's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 07/27/2017:

Thank you for the four stars!


u9119064's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 08/08/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us four stars!


Papad2000's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 08/08/2017:

We appreciate the four stars! Please come and see us again soon!


jww24's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 08/08/2017:

Thank you for leaving us 5 stars!


Bubbabob's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 07/27/2017:

Thank you for the four stars!


wesgholson29's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Dogwood Trace Golf Course on 06/13/2017:

Thanks so much for the 5 stars!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed