Wild Rock Golf Club - Wild Rock Championship Course

4.7403000000 4.7 stars from 5 (77)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7414 yards
  • Slope: 141
  • Rating: 76.5
  • Layout

  • 856 Canyon Road, Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin 53965, Sauk County
  • (800) 867-9453, (608) 253-4653
  • (608) 253-4339
  • www.wildrockgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 2008
Architect(s): Dr. Michael Hurdzan (2008), Dana Fry (2008)
Type: Public
Greens: Blue Grass
Fairways: Bent Grass
Golf Season: Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/01

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Pat Gorman Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire is required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7414 yards 76.5 141
Blue 72 6953 yards 74.5 135
White 72 6393 yards 70.8 134
Gold 72 5746 yards 67.5 124
Red 72 5132 yards 69.6 124

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 5.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 77 Reviews
5 stars:
62
4 stars:
12
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

76 out of 77 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive near local attractions at a resort   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Condo golf at it's best"


PaulLBrook's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2016
Previously played Used cart Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wow, golfing in Wisconsin in November?

Weather great - course in wonderful condition.

Five Tee boxes and broad fairways.

Greens were a little fast, but fair.

Loved the electric carts and the wide cement cart paths.

Very senic.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great value great course"


u000006711742's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 9 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wanted to get away from chicago this was the course to go I'll be back a lot


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"November Golf"


u000006787486's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great time golfing at Wild Rock!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great golfing on 1-1-16"


uDKRP2013DK's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/01/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a beautiful day, the course is tough at times but in excellent condition. We moved fast throughout the round. Everything was green!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A Great Day of Golf"


u000002277255's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout and conditions were perfect. Cart GPS with pin placements very helpful. Even airated greens were smooth and true. Definitely will play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Best in Wisconsin Dells"


StevenRK's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wild Rock is my favorite Wisconsin Dells course.

The views and layout are awesome. Holes are framed beautifully by woods and natural areas, especially in the fall with the colors. Fairways are generous enough to except the occasional slice/hook. There are some blind approach shots greens that can burn a 1st time player.

Beware the greens. The speed was great but every green has at least 3 different areas that are separated by elevation changes or a ridge. Hit the wrong section and it is a challenging putt - 3 putts can be expected. Very different from the large flatish greens found most other courses. Will separate the good from the average putters.

I would put this as a MUST play if you are in the Dells!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Slow play"


u455142552's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/09/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time I played the course. The course was in very good shape with all the rain we have had. The pace of play was very slow over 5 hours for the 18. I would like like to play again,


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A course we could afford via Golfnow.com"


u342302097's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/02/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Excellent course! Fair, but very challenging. The views and landscaping were also excellent!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"phil"


u000007112886's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/06/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

great course.... beautiflu day... had a great time...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wild rock"


u757176226's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love the course, just happened to have a heavy rain prior to playing resulting in cart path only. Still enjoyable.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great views"


scojohnso's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Outstanding experience overall. Considering it is in the midst of the Dells's tourism center, it is entirely in a beautiful state park. Many deer sightings, great views and elevation changes. Great practice area. Challenging but fair. Give yourself enough time to get to the starter as the first tee is like 500 yards through the woods! Great deal on Golfnow.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Why Haven't You Played Wild Rock?"


DrEsox's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

If you are reading this review it is likely that you are trying to make a decision on where to play. It is also probable that you have not played Wild Rock and want to see what others think before making your decision. The question that I would ask is "why haven't you played Wild Rock?" The layout of the course is one killer hole after another. Awesome vistas of the Dells area are available on many of the elevated tees and greens. The conditions are as pure as you will find at any price, including the $300+ courses in WI. The service from the golf staff is on par with any of the top resort facilities in the country. They really know how to make all golfers feel welcome and ready to play.

Wild Rock is a must play and well worth the drive from any distance. I can't wait to get back up there and play it again. Wild Rock is the type of course that you could play every day and never have the same shot twice.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Day!"


rjs504816's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a course where you need to play from the proper tees. We had quite a bit of wind and when you are hitting into it with long carries watch out. Really enjoyed it though! Great shape and great staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"The Rock"


tseibert's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love the course! We always see deer and turkeys. We saw a mother deer and 2 small fawns this time. The course was in great shape. Almost had a hole in one on hole 15. This course would cost $200.00 if it was close to Chicago.....great value for the cost.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Outstanding"


Crowmer's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

This is a great course ...reminds me a lot of The Glen ...very hilly terrain, lots of undulation everywhere, great condition, super long and hard from the back tees.

I played the blues and it was like 6,700 yards I think. Pretty fair though. You have to hit driver on most holes but the fairways are pretty wide.

Overall great course at a reasonable price.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Awesome"


u908878243's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/30/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was awesome I loved it been wanting to play it forever the only problem I had their was a foursome in front of us and they would not let us play over


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Dang, I live too far away."


u000002319051's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Trying to round up friends for a return trip immediately.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wish I lived closer than 2 hrs away"


u000002319051's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Best course in state and northern Illinois including the Deere course in Silva,Il.

Back nine a mountain course in Wisconsin, who'd a thunk it!

Second time here, looking forward to next visit already.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"very special course"


Jsosaves's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wild Rock is a wonderful golf course, beautiful and challenging. It's crucial to play the right tee boxes. Even from whites, there are several forced carries that may be difficult. Greens are fair, and fun, with undulations that sometimes run counter to prevailing topography. Views from the highest elevations allow you to see far into the Wisconsin heartland. But two caveats: A can of beer will cost you $6, and if you accept the par 3 challenge (bet x amount and if on the green double that in pro shop credit) you will not be able to buy balls or markers...shirts, caps etc only. They don't tell you that on the course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"One of Wi best!"


wmeise's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

If your in the area, this is one place you must golf!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed