Wild Rock Golf Club - Wild Rock Championship Course

4.7043529412 4.7 stars from 5 (116)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7414 yards
  • Slope: 141
  • Rating: 76.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Pat Gorman Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire is required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7414 yards 76.5 141
Blue 72 6953 yards 74.5 135
White 72 6393 yards 70.8 134
Gold 72 5746 yards 67.5 124
Red 72 5132 yards 69.6 124

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 116 Reviews
5 stars:
93
4 stars:
19
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

114 out of 116 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive near local attractions at a resort   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Best in Wisconsin Dells"


StevenRK's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wild Rock is my favorite Wisconsin Dells course.

The views and layout are awesome. Holes are framed beautifully by woods and natural areas, especially in the fall with the colors. Fairways are generous enough to except the occasional slice/hook. There are some blind approach shots greens that can burn a 1st time player.

Beware the greens. The speed was great but every green has at least 3 different areas that are separated by elevation changes or a ridge. Hit the wrong section and it is a challenging putt - 3 putts can be expected. Very different from the large flatish greens found most other courses. Will separate the good from the average putters.

I would put this as a MUST play if you are in the Dells!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Slow golfers should not play here"


u746175170's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course but 5 1/2 hour round. Waiting on every hole. Challeging for a good golfer, too much for the average vacationer.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"The course is long & immaculate."


mike15234's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging, but yet if played right you can have a decent score. I shot an 88 and my wife shot a 111. Beautiful day, upper 80's, lots of golfers & well worth the wait.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Amazing course!"


uXIIY8879XI's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We as a wonderful time on this truly amazing golf course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Bring your A game"


u962147262's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really enjoy playing this course. It is a real test and you need to be on your game. There are several holes where you need to have at least a 200 yard drive to not be in deep trouble. Lots of tears and slopes to the greens. Still, the greens are fast and true. I also love how this course feels very out in the country, even though it is only a couple of miles from the chaos of Wisconsin Dells. There are also a five tee boxes so you can pick the links that you want to play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Chris9763151's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A great day"


u000002277255's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course played long due soft fairways. Greens were perfect. Fast and challenging


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u839914354's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Must Play"


uPBDY6332PB's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout and you need all the clubs in the bag. This is a must play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



u017906565's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Wild Rock-Dells"


u000002515045's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice layout, fairways are wide but approach shots are difficult. Greens true and verry good condition.

Play appropriate tees so your approach shots are around 150 and you will really enjoy this track.

Stafg was super friendly eccept starter who should look for another job.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A Must Play"


u000007636511's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/03/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I've played a lot of golf courses in my days for l've been playing for 60 years but when I played this Masterpiece it put it the top 5 of all the golf courses that I've played in the State of Wisconsin and believe that is saying a lot. So please take my advice golfers and play the round of your life, you won't regret it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent


I recommend this course



sergeantmarquez's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Dan1967's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Frustration"


u000008028568's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very very tough course

Not recommended unless your handicap is less than 5

Pin placements and greens are ridiculous

Not a good resort course


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Beautiful Day"


golfkeys's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course and thanks to Golf Now the price was affordable.. Get there early and use the practice areas as they are included. Use the bar after the round as it is beautifully located looking over the course. Be careful on the back 9 as there are two quarry holes that consume golf balls. The first quarry caught me off guard and ruined what I thought was a good shot.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"7 hour round"


craigjj's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/22/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

Staff was good. No problems there. Course was wet but can't control the weather. The big problem I had was pace of place. We were waiting 15 minutes on every hole and we let the rangers know about it after hole 3. We didn't see any change after we were told the clubhouse was informed. After a 7 hour round we were extremely annoyed. No I'm not a slow golfer, no one in our group was slow, just bad bad bad course management!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course



u377214750's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"We liked the course a lot"


u000005915479's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We enjoyed our round at Wild Rock very much. We both felt the fairways were very forgiving. We thought that was probably a good thing, because the greens were very challenging to read and sometimes difficult if you were on the wrong side of the pin.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



donrsnyder's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Top course for the money"


pengeo12's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Wild Rock is a first class golf track at a fraction of the cost of Whistling Staights or Erin Hills.

The staff was very accommodating and easily arranged an earlier tee time than the one we booked and helped us play through three flower groups.

The holes were often very picturesque and sometimes dramatic. There were plenty of hazards- water, sand, fescue and forest but the fairways were generous and Line of sight was almost always available.

The layout is large and a power cart is a virtual necessity and the state of the art GPS on the cart was very helpful.

The hot deal we got on this excellent course was like stealing.

The course is well away from the blitz and clutter of Wisconsin Dells- indeed, an oasis of calm and naturalness.


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed