Wild Rock Golf Club - Wild Rock Championship Course

4.7529000000 4.8 stars from 5 (85)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7414 yards
  • Slope: 141
  • Rating: 76.5
  • Layout

  • 856 Canyon Road, Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin 53965, Sauk County
  • (800) 867-9453, (608) 253-4653
  • (608) 253-4339
  • www.wildrockgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 2008
Architect(s): Dr. Michael Hurdzan (2008), Dana Fry (2008)
Type: Public
Greens: Blue Grass
Fairways: Bent Grass
Golf Season: Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/01

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Pat Gorman Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire is required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7414 yards 76.5 141
Blue 72 6953 yards 74.5 135
White 72 6393 yards 70.8 134
Gold 72 5746 yards 67.5 124
Red 72 5132 yards 69.6 124

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 85 Reviews
5 stars:
69
4 stars:
13
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

84 out of 85 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive near local attractions at a resort   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Always satisfied"


u000006419064's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played here with a group. Course is always in great shape and taken care of. Due to recent rains it was cart path only which added some time onto the round. Very challenging course. We golf here every year and will definitely be back. You can beat the golf package rates they offer.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Ranks with Wisconsin's best!"


RavensGolfer's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

One of the most enjoyable courses I've played and a steal at $45 - easily worth twice that. Course was in excellent conditions with the greens rolling smooth and with good speed.

Wonderful mix of holes - left, right, uphill, downhill. Make sure you're plenty loose from the start as #2 requires a lengthy carry to reach the fairway. Par 3s are strong with #15 a magazine cover hole. Several holes have their fairway bunker in the middle of the fairway, requiring you to think a bit about how to play the tee shot. Most holes offer a way to get the ball on the green playing to one side on the other - but you may have a 60 foot putt on some nicely undulating greens.

One suggestion for the course - create a scorecard set of tees of 6000-6100 yards. At almost 6400 (alternative was 5700) yards from the whites, it was a little long for my game, resulting in playing a number of par 4 as short par 5s.

From a design, condition and enjoyment standpoint, it's the equal of some of the bigger name courses on the eastern side of the state - and for value, Wild Rock is hands down the winner. No question I'll be back to play it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"too many yards"


dragonsdaddy's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

except for mis-reading the scorecard, and thus playing from the tips, we had a blast. great view from the teebox on 5 made the round memorable. can't wait for the opportunity to try a more reasonable yardage on this fine course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"satisfied"


uPJJI6224PJ's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course, staff and weather were great and i will play here again and recommend playing here to anyone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenging course"


u000003366789's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful view. Challenging layout. Very well maintained. This is a must play course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Bring your putter!"


JeffBarkley's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For late April course was in excellent shape. Greens were very quick and fairways were firm and fast. Fairways here are generously wide so hitting them is not the trick. Greens are severely sloped and in some cases having 2-3 different bowls / tiers. You will not have a good scoring day unless you are in the correct part of the green. Beautiful layout and rolling terrain. Too far between holes to walk though.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"One of the best"


bigdaddywix's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Just a great course. Top ten in the state for sure


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"very scenic"


u000006820594's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape for this early in the season


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Condo golf at it's best"


PaulLBrook's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2016
Previously played Used cart Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wow, golfing in Wisconsin in November?

Weather great - course in wonderful condition.

Five Tee boxes and broad fairways.

Greens were a little fast, but fair.

Loved the electric carts and the wide cement cart paths.

Very senic.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great value great course"


u000006711742's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 9 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wanted to get away from chicago this was the course to go I'll be back a lot


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"November Golf"


u000006787486's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great time golfing at Wild Rock!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great golfing on 1-1-16"


uDKRP2013DK's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/01/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a beautiful day, the course is tough at times but in excellent condition. We moved fast throughout the round. Everything was green!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A Great Day of Golf"


u000002277255's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout and conditions were perfect. Cart GPS with pin placements very helpful. Even airated greens were smooth and true. Definitely will play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Best in Wisconsin Dells"


StevenRK's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wild Rock is my favorite Wisconsin Dells course.

The views and layout are awesome. Holes are framed beautifully by woods and natural areas, especially in the fall with the colors. Fairways are generous enough to except the occasional slice/hook. There are some blind approach shots greens that can burn a 1st time player.

Beware the greens. The speed was great but every green has at least 3 different areas that are separated by elevation changes or a ridge. Hit the wrong section and it is a challenging putt - 3 putts can be expected. Very different from the large flatish greens found most other courses. Will separate the good from the average putters.

I would put this as a MUST play if you are in the Dells!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Slow play"


u455142552's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/09/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time I played the course. The course was in very good shape with all the rain we have had. The pace of play was very slow over 5 hours for the 18. I would like like to play again,


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A course we could afford via Golfnow.com"


u342302097's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/02/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Excellent course! Fair, but very challenging. The views and landscaping were also excellent!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"phil"


u000007112886's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/06/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

great course.... beautiflu day... had a great time...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wild rock"


u757176226's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love the course, just happened to have a heavy rain prior to playing resulting in cart path only. Still enjoyable.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great views"


scojohnso's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Outstanding experience overall. Considering it is in the midst of the Dells's tourism center, it is entirely in a beautiful state park. Many deer sightings, great views and elevation changes. Great practice area. Challenging but fair. Give yourself enough time to get to the starter as the first tee is like 500 yards through the woods! Great deal on Golfnow.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Why Haven't You Played Wild Rock?"


DrEsox's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

If you are reading this review it is likely that you are trying to make a decision on where to play. It is also probable that you have not played Wild Rock and want to see what others think before making your decision. The question that I would ask is "why haven't you played Wild Rock?" The layout of the course is one killer hole after another. Awesome vistas of the Dells area are available on many of the elevated tees and greens. The conditions are as pure as you will find at any price, including the $300+ courses in WI. The service from the golf staff is on par with any of the top resort facilities in the country. They really know how to make all golfers feel welcome and ready to play.

Wild Rock is a must play and well worth the drive from any distance. I can't wait to get back up there and play it again. Wild Rock is the type of course that you could play every day and never have the same shot twice.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed