The Legends at Orange Lake Resort

3.5988941176 3.6 stars from 5 (858)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7072 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 74.3
  • Layout

  • 8505 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, Florida 34747, Orange County
  • (888) 657-3529, (407) 239-1050
  • (407) 905-1355
  • www.orangelake.com
Write a review

Year built: 1998
Architect(s): Arnold Palmer (1998)
Type: Resort
Greens: Bermuda
Fairways: Floradwarf – an Ultradwarf Bermuda
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "The McCord Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Teal 72 7072 yards 74.3 132
Black 72 6665 yards 72.0 129
Blue 72 6263 yards 70.3 124
White 72 5780 yards 67.8 120
Yellow 72 5188 yards 69.6 120

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 858 Reviews
5 stars:
285
4 stars:
358
3 stars:
124
2 stars:
50
1 stars:
41

recommend this course

706 out of 855 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views locals   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks dinner patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

tigerbrown41's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 08/07/2017:

Hi tigerbrown41, thanks for the 5-star review!

"Awesome round"


uIPJR3862IP's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Very nice course. Greens and forward in excellent condition. Staff very fondly and Starter very acknowledge of the Course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



grayjca's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 11/17/2017:

Thanks for the great review! We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your round. We hope to see you again for another round soon.


u507855527's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 11/16/2017:

We appreciate the feedback about our Legends Course and hope to see you again for another round soon!

"Awesome Course"


uIPJR3862IP's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a good round at Orange Lake. Great conditions. The layout is good also. Playing a second time this week for the value.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 11/16/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of our Legends Course. We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear you came back for another round. We hope to see you back again soon!

"Avoid this course until it improves"


u299510915's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played in a 4 ball at 7.42am that cost a little under $250 and what a waste of money it was!! With 2 exceptions, the greens were in very poor condition with many bare patches, broad leaf weeds on some and overall running so slow it was difficult to sink a put. Some were fuzzy and others looked as though they were trying to recover from decease. Unfotunately it did not stop there. Most, if not all tees appeared as though had not been cut for days and many had bare patches and were uneven. To rub salt into the wound, the 11th fairway resembled a ploughed field in parts and was so wet one of our group hit his ball over 200 yds down the middle of the fairway and could not find it because it had plugged and disappeared into what looked like a swamp. It wasn't even marked GUR.

At the end of the round I asked to see the manager to complain and request compensation. I was told he had not arrived at work yet (it was 12.30pm!!) So I left my cell phone number for him to call. It is now 30 hours later and guess what..... he has not had the courtesy to call me back. Not a happy bunny!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Overall good"


Canada212's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time here. Staff friendly and helpful. Enjoyed course layout and variety of tees make it playable by all. Greens were a little patchy and some localized weed growth. Cart girl was excellent. Given softness of course they should include towels on the carts. Restaurant after front nine was very slow, had to let groups through


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 11/16/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your round and hope you consider giving us another shot in the future. Thanks for playing our Legends Course at Orange Lake Golf!


u1385121's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 11/16/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of our Legends Course. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your round. Come back and see us again for another round soon!



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 11/16/2017:

Thanks for the 5-star review of our Legends Course! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon.

"The Legends - decent resort golf"


Chad1742962's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played in the morning and there was quite a bit of dew until about 10am which made the already slow greens even slower. Course is under new management apparently and there seems to be a lot of maintenance being completed that had not been previously. Challenging track and fun to play overall.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 11/10/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, Chad1742962. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon!

"First ar legends"


u000004711512's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was awesome. Fairways and greens in great shape. Pace of play was very good. Only problem we encountered was a kid was flying a remote control drone on hole #4 in the middle of the fairway. He was oblivious to the oncoming golfers. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this course and play again when in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 11/07/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear about the distraction on hole #4, but are glad to hear you enjoyed the rest of your round. We hope this doesn't deter you from playing another round soon. Thanks for playing our Legends Course at Orange Lake Golf.


HansKoch's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We come to Florida once a year and The Legends is one of our favourite courses. Bit this year we are disappointed. The greens are slow and not up to the standard of other courses we played .You will find patches without grass others with grass that shouldnt be on fast greens. Apparantly the course is renewing the bunkers maybe not enough time for the rest of the course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 10/31/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback and hope you consider another round with us in the near future. Thanks for playing!

"Go somewhere else"


DrewRutledge's avatar
Age:  25-34

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

The greens were about as fuzzy as a 6 month old chia pet. The greens were also very, very patchy on some. The staff were awesome, friendly as can be. The pace of play was so bad we (3) were able to play 2 balls every stroke. I really hope the person uploading the pictures of this course gets the raise they deserve. We paid about $20 more than it was worth. *no where near what the pictures portray*


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 11/01/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, DrewRutledge. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your round and the pace of play wasn't up to par. We hope this doesn't deter you from returning for another round soon. We appreciate you giving us a shot!

"Wasted time and money"


u00000701126's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/28/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

The course was closed a couple of days (Thursday and Friday) for overseeding. So you would assume that the first day open after overseeing, Saturday, that the greens would be freshly mowed and cups newly cut. WRONG! The greens were in awful condition. I might be willing to forgive that, but I don't forgive lack of effort when I spend valuable time and money to play golf. We played early Saturday morning and the tee sheet was packed. The greens had not been cut, so not only were they hairy, they were also covered in dew. The cups looked like they had not been moved in a week. These were the worst conditioned greens I have played in years! They had spent a lot of money recently replacing the sand in bunkers and refurbishing some of the bridges through the swamps. So it is hard to understand why the greens were allowed to be so bad. I had played here several time over the last 10-15 years and had always thought the course was above average. No longer!

On a positive note, the starter was honest telling us in advance the course needed some work. We also enjoyed great weather and the father-son two ball we were paired with. The restaurant/sports bar after the round was clearly the highlight of the day. Go enjoy the restaurant and don't waste your time or money on golf here until they make major improvements to the course, especially the greens.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 11/01/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that the course conditions weren't up to par during your round. We hope you consider giving us another shot in the future as our staff continues to work on the conditions. Thanks for playing!


patjfahey's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 10/31/2017:

Thanks for the great review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you for another round soon.

"Challenge!"


u000004804989's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Layout was tough but playable! Few longgggg par 5s but multiple tees to hit from! I’d play it again. I’d probably play it differently next time but that’s normal! Great course. Cost effective. Would promote it for sure. Played reserve as well few years ago. Both great


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 10/31/2017:

Thanks for the review! We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon.


richview506's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 10/25/2017:

Thanks for the review! We're glad to hear you had an enjoyable round at our Legends Course. We hope to see you again for another round soon!

"Surprisingly good condition despite the wet weather and past hurricane Irma"


tomik17's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a nice track with some challenges. They have done a lot of work in the surrounding (cleaned the woods). Tee boxes and bunkers are mostly good. Fairways still have some wet spots, but are well playable. Greens are not very fast but true and on the second nine have some mold spots which would require good attention … Staff not seen a lot, except the beverage cart and at the bag drop by arrival, but not after the finish of play! The pace was not bad, but as there were mostly twosomes only out there, could have been much better. But there was no player’s assistant to watch the pace out there..

Overall – this is a nice and partly challenging course that can be recommended, but watch out for the rate, if you get a hot deal from Golfnow it is a bargain.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 10/25/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We appreciate your feedback and hope you consider giving us another shot in the future. Thanks for playing!


richview506's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 10/25/2017:

Thanks for the 4-star review. Come back and see us again for another round soon.

"Enjoyable Round at The Legends"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I am an owner at Orange Lake and I always enjoy this course. The only concerns were several discolorations around some greens (they did not affect play) and some greens had little or no grass in spots. A big improvement is the white sand in the traps (nicer to look at and play out of). I would recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 10/25/2017:

Thanks for the kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon.

"Nor for recreational golfers."


u000001742315's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First, all 18 holes were open for play...not the "play nine twice as stated on Golf Now. This is a championship course and not recommended for the recreational or senior golfer, even from the forward tees. Fairways are usually generous, but the greens are generally small and many are very closely guarded by water and/or bunkers. Good value though, if you're up for the challenge.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Orange Lake Golf on 10/25/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback about our course layout and the notes on GolfNow. We have reached out about amending the notes to avoid any further confusion. We encourage you to try one of our other courses at the resort for a more manageable layout and hope to see you again soon. Thanks for playing!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed