Hilton Head National Golf Club

4.6077764706 4.6 stars from 5 (687)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6730 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 72.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Singles allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6730 yards 72.8 133
Blue 71 6160 yards 70.0 126
White 71 5628 yards 67.3 118
Red (W) 71 4682 yards 66.4 112

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 687 Reviews
5 stars:
415
4 stars:
236
3 stars:
27
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

667 out of 685 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"One of the best anywhere!"


weekend1014's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is one of the best anywhere from tee to Green! Always in fantastic shape and the best course for the money in the Hilton Head area! Cannot wait to play it again and you shouldn't either!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 10/30/2017:

Thanks for the kind review, weekend1014! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your round and hope to see you again for another one soon.

"Very good golf course"


u000005180930's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played by myself on a very cold day, so course not crowded. Plenty of challenges but not overly hard. Many very attractive holes. Nice staff. Recommended !!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/17/2018:

Thanks for the kind words and great review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round, despite the cold weather. We hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Great course, cold weather made it empty"


pauldbarnhart's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The weather was pretty chilly and Breezy so I pretty much had the course to myself. Conditions of the course were very good for January, and of course layout is nice. Although shot placement in Club selection is important, this course doesn't provide an overly punishing set of Hazards if you aren't on your best game. Greens were in fantastic condition, rolled true and fast.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/16/2018:

We appreciate the great review, pauldbarnhart! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Pleasure to play"


u3920051's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played Hilton Head National many times over the years and have NEVER been disappointed. Always a pleasure!

Joe V


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/16/2018:

Thanks for the great review, Joe! We appreciate the kind words and are happy to hear you enjoyed another round with us. We hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.


craigmiddleton's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/16/2018:

Thanks for the great review, craigmiddleton! We appreciate the great feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for choosing Hilton Head National!


LamarM's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/12/2018:

Thanks for the great review, LamarM! We appreciate your feedback about our course conditions. Our staff has been working hard to preserve the course with the recent winter weather. We hope to see you again soon once the weather warms up! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/03/2018:

Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again for another round at Hilton Head National.

"An honest test of golf"


barttennis's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The National is an honest test of golf. It’s a very fair course an kept in excellent condition. The greens ran well and true good speed on them. Recommend it to anyone we were the only ones on our nine they started us on the tenth so we flew round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/03/2018:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate your kind words and are happy to hear you enjoyed your round. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National and we hope to see you again soon!



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 01/03/2018:

Thanks for the 5-star review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round and hope to see you again for another one soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!


Sergei7890704's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/27/2017:

We appreciate the 5-star review, Sergei7890704 and hope to see you again soon at Hilton Head National. Thanks for playing!


u000006908226's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/20/2017:

We appreciate the 5-star review! Come back and see us again soon at Hilton Head National.

"Great course"


Brucebraun's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For December the course is in great shape. So many challenging shots await. And not lined with condos. Course isn't long but requires good shotmaking to score well. Greens are great, sand traps need attention.

I got a hole in one at 13 here last February. After that round I asked in the pro shop if they had any trinkets or a little paper to complete to commemorate the feat. The answer was no, but I could buy a plaque. I've had the privilege of several aces in 50 years of golfing, all at different courses. Each course did something or had something, from a 1/2 sheet of paper with the course logo that the pro shop attendant completed, a call to the local paper, and/or a complimentary green fee. I just would be a nice touch for such a nice course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/18/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, Brucebraun. We're happy to hear about your hole in one last February and appreciate your feedback about our course. We hope to see you again soon at Hilton Head National. Thanks for playing!


jjk0144jk's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful setting,classic clubhouse,no homes,a scenic stroll in manicured nature.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/15/2017:

We appreciate the great review, jjk0144jk! Your feedback is important to our improvement. We hope to see you again for another round soon at Hilton Head National.


u072750340's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/15/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Low Country Classic"


jjk0144jk's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The back 9 r ensconced in a lovely setting of lily filled lakes and connectsing streams with no homes to disturb the bucolic stroll in quintessential Low Country beauty..

The layout is challenging and diverse.

Once the clubhouse is completed it’s .

reputation will grow.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/18/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us another review, jjk0144jk! We' appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Great Course"


MDMS's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great value. Course was in perfect condition, greens rolled great good speed. Would definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/08/2017:

We appreciate the great feedback, mdmacritchie! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to see you again for another round soon at Hilton Head National!

"Course always in great shape!"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We usually try to play this course 2 or three times a week when we are in Hilton Head. Course is always in great shape, staff friendly and good rates for the facility on a whole.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/13/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, rory2roz! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you when you're in the Hilton Head area again. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Greens are always kept in great shape!"


ars1012's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I play here every time i visit HHI. The greens are one of the best in HHI and the course is challenging from the blue tees. It is a tight layout and you need to hit your lines and fairways to score. The fairways and tee boxes were in good shape as well. My only negative is it gets alot of play and players need to fill in their divots.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/06/2017:

Thanks for the review, ars1012. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us again. We appreciate your feedback about our course conditions and are looking forward to seeing you next time you're in town. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Great Views-"


u000002041615's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great conditions, green speed was fair. Staff always made you feel welcome. Will definitely play this course again.

At times it felt like I was at Augusta National.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/06/2017:

Thanks for the kind words! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your round and hope to see you again soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Always a favorite"


CathyT's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We always include this course when we visit Hilton Head. As low handicap players, we find that the course is challenging and fair, offering lots of risk and reward.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/05/2017:

Thanks, CathyT! We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your round. We're looking forward to your next one with us! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Consistently great"


u072750340's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course is in constant great condition. Would highly recommend course to anyone. Best value for golf on the island


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/30/2017:

We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing #HiltonHeadNational!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed