Hilton Head National Golf Club

4.5953294118 4.6 stars from 5 (664)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6730 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 72.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Singles allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6730 yards 72.8 133
Blue 71 6160 yards 70.0 126
White 71 5628 yards 67.3 118
Red (W) 71 4682 yards 66.4 112

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 664 Reviews
5 stars:
395
4 stars:
233
3 stars:
27
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

644 out of 662 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"great vaca"


kaympt's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

last minute decision to play, so glad we did. next trip first on our list!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/20/2017:

Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again for another round soon at Hilton Head National.

"A favorite to play"


Paul5486693's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course is always in great condition. Fairways, bunkers and greens were in great shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u849430809's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a must play golf course when you are down in Hilton Head. The blue tees make it a good challenge.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/20/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again next time you're in the Hilton Head area. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Always great course.......shameful that it could go away"


Francis2975474's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As usual it was an enjoyable day of golf. The course has a great layout. Only downside is the lack of sand deep enough in the bunkers. When this one becomes homes and condos, it will be a great loss to the area for visiting golfers.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great cou se conditions and value"


u00000556874's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape. Played at 10:30 and played in 3:50 hours (twosome). Price for beer and hot dogs at turn very reasonable; can’t wait to play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/17/2017:

Thanks for the great review! We're glad to hear you had an enjoyable round and we appreciate the feedback. We're looking forward to your next round with us. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Course in good shape"


johnnypj01's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cart attendants were very nice, check in okay but not very welcoming; starter was a little curt. Greens were a little slow but healthy; fairways in good shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/17/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, johnnypj01. We apologize that the experience with our staff wasn't up to par, but are glad to hear you enjoyed your round overall. We hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Great golf experience"


nmallon's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Booked on golf now so cost wasn't bad...course in great condition, greens were near perfect.

Loved it would definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/16/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, nmallon. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing #HiltonHeadNational!

"Great Condition, beautiful low country setting"


rogernorth's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course a number of times over the years, but had not been there since it had been reduced to 18 holes. The course remains a beautiful and challenging track, always in excellent condition.

We had perfect weather and were able to play in four hours.

Great mix of holes, we will definitely return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/10/2017:

We appreciate your feedback, rogernorth. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the layout and conditions of our course. We hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"HH National Showing It's Age"


Bobemac's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Texas Advisor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

This course has been around a long time and it's starting to show some age.

Scratch Golf the owner has plans to turn this course into a multi-use development with retail, apartments, and single-family homes. The present layout is quiet and peaceful with no houses visible on the course.

We had an early morning tee time and were finished in three hours.

The greens are in good condition but not nearly as fast as some other greens in the area.

The grass on many fairways is brown and there are lots of dead areas, Some of this wear and tear could be blamed on heavy play including multiple tournaments or it could be due to long-term plans of the owner.

When Gary Player designed this property he was really into contouring around greens

and creating concave greens a la Donald Ross. This makes a green more difficult to approach

and in several examples, it is almost impossible to get the ball to stay on the green. Shots landing on the green are bouncing off or sliding sideways downhill.

This place is one of the more expensive in the area but has no amenities like tees, towels, and water and ice chest.

Rich the starter told us that we had to give way and wait if we encountered any maintenance workers. This is contrary to what should be the rule. We wait until 8 AM to allow maintenance to do their work. Too many courses allow the employees to run roughshod over their golfers.

Today, we never encountered anyone on our round.

Hilton Head Int'l is a 25 year old property with wide fairways and a playable layout that faces an uncertain future.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/07/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review, Bobemac. We appreciate your feedback about your round and hope you consider giving us another shot in the future. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!


u000003823123's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/06/2017:

We appreciate the 5-star review! We hope to see you again for another round soon.

"Great Course"


fredc85's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The whole course is in really nice shape, played as a single so ran into a little slow play as expected. No real wow factor on any holes in particular but the upkeep of the course was a wow in itself. Highly recommended.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/03/2017:

Thanks for the review! We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon.


Mburns001's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 10/30/2017:

Thanks for the 5-star review!

"One of the best anywhere!"


weekend1014's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is one of the best anywhere from tee to Green! Always in fantastic shape and the best course for the money in the Hilton Head area! Cannot wait to play it again and you shouldn't either!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 10/30/2017:

Thanks for the kind review, weekend1014! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your round and hope to see you again for another one soon.


Rfrankel73's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course. Slow play. Behind on teetime. We finished in just under 5 hours.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 10/30/2017:

Thanks for the review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon.

"Fabulous golf day!!"


JoAnn4692803's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was a beautiful and forgiving course, one of the prettiest I’ve played. Wonderful not seeing homes around us....just nature. Would return here in a flash!! Highly recommended!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 10/23/2017:

We appreciate your kind words and are looking forward to your next round with us! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Great Course, Great value"


u000003761928's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My family and I played this course for the first time. What a pretty course and very well maintained. Nice part was that there were no houses along the course, just beautiful trees. Great scenery. I think it was a great value as courses on HHI and the surrounding areas can be quite pricey. Challenging for all skill levels. From what we were told this course is a favorite of the locals. If you are in the area you owe it to yourself to play this course.

Pete A.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Response from Hilton Head National on 10/25/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, Pete! We appreciate the kind words and the beautiful photo as well. Come back and see us again for another round soon.

"HH Nat day"


johnsgolf1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course conditions very good and greens pretty fast but fair. Staff there is very friendly & accomodative . we had a tee time but we were delayed and they gave an adjusted later tee time to accommodate us. Good value for the money but they do want You to move fast, suggesting our foursome should finish in 4 hrs and when you are running behind you get a warning on the GPS on the cart. The GPS provided on the cart is something that similar priced courses in the HH area do not provide and is very nice. THe course has some nice features and some challenging holes and the grass just off the fairway(Brillo. Pad like grass that some pros call " I'll. Kill ya"). The latter allows the ball to drop to the bottom and it is hard to find( sometimes you need to step on it to find it) much less hit it. You need to stay on the fairway!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 10/20/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!


u000007815342's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 10/20/2017:

Thanks for the 4-star review!

"Lovely course"


betsyf651's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My two sisters and I had a wonderful round at HHNational yesterday. The course is in very good shape from the tee box to the green. The fairways are wide and forgiving and the greens are in excellent shape. Clearly players repair their ball marks. We played from the red tees which made for good scores but we will probably move back when we play next as the total yardage was only 4600. However, that will add 1000 yards...

The staff is warm and welcoming and the clubhouse is nicely laid out.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 10/18/2017:

Thanks for the review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon.

"Great conditions"


akelocolbert's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in excellent shape. Greens were fast but true. Played 18 and then 9 before flight home. Will be back next year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 10/18/2017:

Thanks for the kind words and great review! We're looking forward to your next round with us.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed