Hilton Head National Golf Club

4.5944941176 4.6 stars from 5 (672)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6730 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 72.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Singles allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6730 yards 72.8 133
Blue 71 6160 yards 70.0 126
White 71 5628 yards 67.3 118
Red (W) 71 4682 yards 66.4 112

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 672 Reviews
5 stars:
401
4 stars:
235
3 stars:
27
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

652 out of 670 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Course"


MDMS's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great value. Course was in perfect condition, greens rolled great good speed. Would definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/08/2017:

We appreciate the great feedback, mdmacritchie! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to see you again for another round soon at Hilton Head National!

"Greens are always kept in great shape!"


ars1012's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I play here every time i visit HHI. The greens are one of the best in HHI and the course is challenging from the blue tees. It is a tight layout and you need to hit your lines and fairways to score. The fairways and tee boxes were in good shape as well. My only negative is it gets alot of play and players need to fill in their divots.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/06/2017:

Thanks for the review, ars1012. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us again. We appreciate your feedback about our course conditions and are looking forward to seeing you next time you're in town. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Great Views-"


u000002041615's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great conditions, green speed was fair. Staff always made you feel welcome. Will definitely play this course again.

At times it felt like I was at Augusta National.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/06/2017:

Thanks for the kind words! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your round and hope to see you again soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Always a favorite"


CathyT's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We always include this course when we visit Hilton Head. As low handicap players, we find that the course is challenging and fair, offering lots of risk and reward.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 12/05/2017:

Thanks, CathyT! We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your round. We're looking forward to your next one with us! Thanks for playing Hilton Head National.

"Consistently great"


u072750340's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course is in constant great condition. Would highly recommend course to anyone. Best value for golf on the island


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/30/2017:

We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing #HiltonHeadNational!

"Great place to play off HH island"


markc10650's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Course was great condition and not crowded. greens were fast great for all skill levels


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/30/2017:

Thanks for the great review, markc10650! We appreciate your feedback about our course conditions and are glad to hear you enjoyed your round. We hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!


DaveBernier's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/22/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/27/2017:

Thanks for the kind words and great review! We hope to see you again for another round soon.

"great vaca"


kaympt's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

last minute decision to play, so glad we did. next trip first on our list!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/20/2017:

Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again for another round soon at Hilton Head National.

"A favorite to play"


Paul5486693's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course is always in great condition. Fairways, bunkers and greens were in great shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/21/2017:

Thanks for the 5-star review, Paul! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again when you're in the Hilton Head area again. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!


u849430809's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a must play golf course when you are down in Hilton Head. The blue tees make it a good challenge.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/20/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again next time you're in the Hilton Head area. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!


1015's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course -- one of my favourites in Hilton Head.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/27/2017:

Thanks for the review! We hope to see you again for another round soon.

"Always great course.......shameful that it could go away"


Francis2975474's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As usual it was an enjoyable day of golf. The course has a great layout. Only downside is the lack of sand deep enough in the bunkers. When this one becomes homes and condos, it will be a great loss to the area for visiting golfers.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/22/2017:

We appreciate the feedback about your round Francis2975474 and hope to see you again soon. Thanks for playing!

"Great cou se conditions and value"


u00000556874's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape. Played at 10:30 and played in 3:50 hours (twosome). Price for beer and hot dogs at turn very reasonable; can’t wait to play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/17/2017:

Thanks for the great review! We're glad to hear you had an enjoyable round and we appreciate the feedback. We're looking forward to your next round with us. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Course in good shape"


johnnypj01's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cart attendants were very nice, check in okay but not very welcoming; starter was a little curt. Greens were a little slow but healthy; fairways in good shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/17/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, johnnypj01. We apologize that the experience with our staff wasn't up to par, but are glad to hear you enjoyed your round overall. We hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"Great golf experience"


nmallon's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Booked on golf now so cost wasn't bad...course in great condition, greens were near perfect.

Loved it would definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/16/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, nmallon. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing #HiltonHeadNational!

"Great Condition, beautiful low country setting"


rogernorth's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course a number of times over the years, but had not been there since it had been reduced to 18 holes. The course remains a beautiful and challenging track, always in excellent condition.

We had perfect weather and were able to play in four hours.

Great mix of holes, we will definitely return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/10/2017:

We appreciate your feedback, rogernorth. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the layout and conditions of our course. We hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!

"HH National Showing It's Age"


Bobemac's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Texas Advisor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

This course has been around a long time and it's starting to show some age.

Scratch Golf the owner has plans to turn this course into a multi-use development with retail, apartments, and single-family homes. The present layout is quiet and peaceful with no houses visible on the course.

We had an early morning tee time and were finished in three hours.

The greens are in good condition but not nearly as fast as some other greens in the area.

The grass on many fairways is brown and there are lots of dead areas, Some of this wear and tear could be blamed on heavy play including multiple tournaments or it could be due to long-term plans of the owner.

When Gary Player designed this property he was really into contouring around greens

and creating concave greens a la Donald Ross. This makes a green more difficult to approach

and in several examples, it is almost impossible to get the ball to stay on the green. Shots landing on the green are bouncing off or sliding sideways downhill.

This place is one of the more expensive in the area but has no amenities like tees, towels, and water and ice chest.

Rich the starter told us that we had to give way and wait if we encountered any maintenance workers. This is contrary to what should be the rule. We wait until 8 AM to allow maintenance to do their work. Too many courses allow the employees to run roughshod over their golfers.

Today, we never encountered anyone on our round.

Hilton Head Int'l is a 25 year old property with wide fairways and a playable layout that faces an uncertain future.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/07/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review, Bobemac. We appreciate your feedback about your round and hope you consider giving us another shot in the future. Thanks for playing Hilton Head National!


u000003823123's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/06/2017:

We appreciate the 5-star review! We hope to see you again for another round soon.

"Great Course"


fredc85's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The whole course is in really nice shape, played as a single so ran into a little slow play as expected. No real wow factor on any holes in particular but the upkeep of the course was a wow in itself. Highly recommended.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 11/03/2017:

Thanks for the review! We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon.


Mburns001's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hilton Head National on 10/30/2017:

Thanks for the 5-star review!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed