Old South Golf Links

4.3264647059 4.3 stars from 5 (682)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6772 yards
  • Slope: 138
  • Rating: 72.7
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 50 Buckingham Plantation Dr, Bluffton, South Carolina 29910, Beaufort County
  • 1 (800) 275-8997, (843) 785-5353
  • (843) 837-7375
  • www.oldsouthgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1991
Architect(s): Clyde Johnston
Type: Public
Style: Links
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire. No cutoffs, gym or jogging shorts, bathing suits, tank tops, halter or tube tops, tee shirts and blue jeans or any other denim.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6772 yards 72.7 138
Blue 72 6354 yards 70.4 132
White 72 5779 yards 68.6 116
Red (W) 71 4776 yards 68.2 117

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 682 Reviews
5 stars:
295
4 stars:
317
3 stars:
52
2 stars:
11
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

648 out of 678 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers locals   Challenges include water hazards forced carries bunkers   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Some easy holes, some really hard holes."


tigerteez's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 5/28/2031
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played course for first time because of GolfNow rates. Nice layout. Greens rolled true and were a good speed - not too fast. Holes near the marsh were more difficult due to constant wind. Will likely play again.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/21/2017

We are glad you gave us a try...now you know what a great course it is. The breeze always kicks up in the afternoon on the holes along the intra-coastal waterway. We hope to see you again soon.



yungr1's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"very nice couse"


RICKSHAN's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

variety of terrain and layout of holes , and great views of the ocean ( sound ) .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A great first time in SC golfing experience."


redhedfromshwa's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging but not too difficult. Great staff. The scenery was beautiful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Layout"


BigRodney15's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love this golf course, but I don’t know why the greens are so slow, must be around a 5 on the stemp meter, it just ruins The golfing experience for me.

The staff is a 10 Excellent


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000005809647's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/13/2017

Thanks for your 5 star review!


"Nice Course"


dbwanthal's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course in really good condition other than the tee boxes, many were as much sand as grass and uneven. Some really fun, unique holes. Many tees to play from, but white was 5779 and blue was 6354 - something in between would be perfect. I've played several times and would play again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/09/2017

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Old South does have lots of variety and beautiful views making it an interesting and challenging course. Please play again soon.


"Fun Course"


phhiltonhead's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Best kept as usual . Always look forward to playing. Lot of carry off blue tees may be best to play whites to enjoy course more


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/09/2017

We appreciate your review and others agree. We just won Favorite Public Golf Course for 2017. We hope to see you and your friends again soon.



u000006000487's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really nice layout in fine condition. Exceptional value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/01/2017

Thanks for your 5 star review. Yesterday was a perfect day to play and we are glad you did. Come back soon and bring your friends!


"Old South has some tricked up holes."


uBLGE1201BL's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Glad we had a golfer that had previously played the course, otherwise could have lost a dozen or two golf balls. For example, on a dogleg par 5 with 2 layup areas before hitting into green found a dozen balls. Course should provide a course layout book like several courses in the area. However, would recommend course and better to have a golfer that has played the course several times with you to score well.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/01/2017

It's great to hear you enjoyed your round. We do have a booklet available in the golf shop with a hole by hole layout and description. If you had mentioned that this was your first time playing, the staff would have given you a complimentary copy. Playing with a regular is certainly better than a book. Please visit again.


"Best place in town"


u4864909's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/28/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I cannot say enough about how nice this place is. Everyone was extremely well mannered, pleasant to interact with and very accommodating. I will quickly become a regular here. Beautiful course, friendly staff, great atmosphere.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/30/2017

We are so glad you had a great day. We strive to make the Old South experience exceptional for everyone. Please visit again soon!


"Beautiful Course"


weekend1014's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Old South has a beautiful scenic layout especially the 16th hole! Course was in great shape although the greens were a little slow! Will fed play again!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/30/2017

The sixteenth hole is spectacular...especially at high tide. We hope you become one of our many "regulars".


"Hilton Head"


Mark8528327's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/25/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course to play, you will use all the clubs in your bag.

Beautiful course to play.

We played the tips, gave us all we wanted. Some of the holes you will need to use the right clubs to hit the landing zones or you will be in trouble.

Staff was great throughout the course. Drink carts on course.

Tee boxes well maintained, fairways were in great shape, greens in good shape looked fast but played a little slow.

Driving range, putting green, chipping area all in great condition.

we definitely will play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/30/2017

Thanks for sharing all your great comments about Old South Golf Links. It is beautiful and fun to play. We hope to see you again soon!


"Excellent atmosphere"


u7098839's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love alligators, so I was super excited when I saw over 5 of them. Besides that, the whole experience was great! Would recommend this course to all. There is a few holes that are difficult so I'll be back next year to play them. Hopefully score a lot better.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/30/2017

Alligators are just one of the many species that inhabit Old South and the surrounding marshes and woodlands. We are glad you enjoyed your day and please return to better your score!



dietacoka's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 11/03/2017:

Thank you for the 5-Star , we appreciate you coming out to see us and hope you will give us another try in the near future.


u763414414's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 10/24/2017:

Thank you for the 4-Star review, we appreciate you coming to see us and hope to see you again this weekend.

"Great course, excellent value!"


Luis2115551's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played Old South for the first time yesterday, and it was a great experience. The staff was very friendly, and the course itself was in excellent condition. The layout was great, some tricky holes where some course knowledge is helpful, luckily I was paired with a regular that helped out. The course was packed but everyone kept up and we finished in right around 4 hours. I will definitely play again next time I'm in town.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 10/24/2017:

Thank you for coming to see us! We appreciate that you were finally able to play Old South while in town. Please make us your must play next time you visit the Hilton Head Island area.


handler54's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 10/24/2017:

Thank you for the 4-Star review, we appreciate you coming to see us and hope to see you again this weekend.


u763414414's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 10/24/2017:

Thank you for the 4-Star review, we appreciate you coming out to see us.

"Hands down my favorite course in the area"


karendoolan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Old South is a must play course on Hilton Head. The staff is super friendly with well organized started and range speed of play supervision. Always a delightful round. My husband and I both enjoy playing this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 10/24/2017:

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad that Old South is a must play while you and your wife are in town. Thanks for coming out and we hope to see you again before you leave.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed