Old South Golf Links

4.3445470588 4.3 stars from 5 (706)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6772 yards
  • Slope: 138
  • Rating: 72.7
  • Layout

  • 50 Buckingham Plantation Dr, Bluffton, South Carolina 29910, Beaufort County
  • 1 (800) 275-8997, (843) 785-5353
  • (843) 837-7375
  • www.oldsouthgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1991
Architect(s): Clyde Johnston
Type: Public
Style: Links
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire. No cutoffs, gym or jogging shorts, bathing suits, tank tops, halter or tube tops, tee shirts and blue jeans or any other denim.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6772 yards 72.7 138
Blue 72 6354 yards 70.4 132
White 72 5779 yards 68.6 116
Red (W) 71 4776 yards 68.2 117

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 706 Reviews
5 stars:
312
4 stars:
324
3 stars:
52
2 stars:
11
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

672 out of 702 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers locals   Challenges include water hazards forced carries bunkers   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Nice Course"


dbwanthal's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course in really good condition other than the tee boxes, many were as much sand as grass and uneven. Some really fun, unique holes. Many tees to play from, but white was 5779 and blue was 6354 - something in between would be perfect. I've played several times and would play again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/27/2017

Work on the tee boxes is in the plan for 2018.


Commented on 11/09/2017

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Old South does have lots of variety and beautiful views making it an interesting and challenging course. Please play again soon.


"Some easy holes, some really hard holes."


tigerteez's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 5/28/2031
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played course for first time because of GolfNow rates. Nice layout. Greens rolled true and were a good speed - not too fast. Holes near the marsh were more difficult due to constant wind. Will likely play again.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/21/2017

We are glad you gave us a try...now you know what a great course it is. The breeze always kicks up in the afternoon on the holes along the intra-coastal waterway. We hope to see you again soon.


"Wet and windy,but in great shape"


jerrybuck's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always like playing this course when in the area,lot's of wind the day I played,makes it a lot more of a challenging,greens where in good shape considering the weather they have had,price was good on golf now.will play again in a few days.staff was friendly and helpful.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Greens, although a bit slow, were in excellent condition."


Honorman's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens could not be cut shorter because of weather conditions and risk of loss. The course was in very good condition and very playable even though it was off-season, January. The staff was very friendly and very amenable. I will try to play this course again during my current visit to this area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/16/2018

We appreciate your great review and hope you let your friends know about Old South. We look forward to having you play here again.



Dalehines's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/16/2018

Thanks for your five star review!


"Greens rolled great"


Dennidc's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have been playing old south during the winter for approximately 10 years and this is as good as I have seen the greens roll. They are usually a bit on the slower side but they had a really nice pace for my first round there this winter. I always bring friends who come to visit from PA to play here it is one of the more interesting layouts in the area. Good challenge from the tips even though it's not very long I love that I get to hit nearly every club in my bag.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/05/2018

We appreciate the 5 star review and hope to see you again soon.



Sergei7890704's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/05/2018

We are glad you enjoyed your round. Thanks for the great review.


"play this course every year"


u000003028382's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My favorite course at Hilton Head. Beautiful course, water, marsh, sand, fair greens, great fairways. Fun course!


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 01/09/2018:

Thank you for the review! We appreciate you coming out to see us and are so glad the weather cooperated for you. The course has an incredible layout with the surrounding wildlife, thank you for noticing! Please come back and see us again soon.

"Rainy Day In The Low Country"


vino2nite's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

I looked forward to playing Old South again, but after 6 holes and pouring rain, we had to quit. Hopefully a rain check is in order.

If you have not played this course, the views are spectacular. Every hole is interesting, challenging, but fair.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/02/2018

We are sorry the weather did not cooperate! We hope to see you again when the sun shines.


"Best of Bluffton"


u7905856's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course and HH National next door are the best public courses around especially if you are trying to get away from the Island and get away from the people that tend to flock to the Island golf courses. Paid 14 bucks on GN which this course will go for well over 100 in peak season. Probably one of the most enjoyable days I’ve had this year just because the cost and nobody was there. Nothing like having a course like this essentially to yourself. I love this time of the year but this course no matter when never disappoints and is an absolute must play for visitors.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/21/2017

You must have bought the "Hot Deal of the Day" and received the best rate ever for Old South. Thanks for your 5 star rating and for letting everyone know what a great golf course is here waiting for them. We hope to see you again soon!


"Challenging and beautiful course."


John9397535's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’ve played 3 courses on the island and enjoyed Old South more than either one of them.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 12/21/2017:

Thank you for the excellent review! We appreciate the great compliments, please don't forget to put us on your list for next year!

"Meet friends for first course to play"


34mike34's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/10/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

From the time I pulled in, the bag drop person Daniel was fantastic. When my friends met up with me after a 11 he drive they were cred for with pure professional attitude. Great layout. Conditions for mid December we're excellent. We will play again and again. Pro shop staff were very helpful, and the snack bar had quality food at a reasonable price. 100% to Old South.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/19/2017

Thanks for letting us and everyone else know how much you enjoyed playing golf at Old South. We strive to make everyone welcome and present a quality product from the golf course to the pro shop and restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!



u000005395994's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Old South on 12/15/2017:

Thank you for the 5-Star review!

"Great golf along the bay"


Willus's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I always play Old South when in HHI/Bluffton. This visit was a late afternoon 9, but whether 9 or 18 this is a fun and varied golf course with a mix of open, wooded, and challenging bayside holes (on either 9). Built for golf and not through a development, it has the best bay views of the courses I've played here. The staff is friendly and helpful and the course is set up to be fun for all levels of player.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/11/2017

Thanks for the great review and letting others know what a fun course Old South is to play. We look forward to seeing you again soon.


"What a steal"


tboreese7's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’ve played in the Hilton Head area for many years and for the price, I️ have not found a better deal. I️ got a hot deal and the course was in very good shape for the season. The layout was good. Open fairways and accessible greens. There were a couple of chopped up holes, but still fair. I️ would recommend this course to anyone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/11/2017

We appreciate the great review. Be sure to tell your friends and visit again soon.



Jcurtis77777's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/07/2017

Thanks for the 5 star review. We hope to see you again soon.


"Great course"


Brucebraun's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Every opportunity I get the play Old South I do. Variety. Some holes are a green light right off the tee. But don't be fooled. Next hole is tight and/or makes you plan your landing area. The marsh views are terrific. At low tide the pluff mud displays former errant shots, thousands of them. At high tide the views over shimmering water are outstanding. Trees, traps, and/or marsh are everpresent. The course isn't long so big hitters will have less opportunities, but the golfer who can pick their spot, and hit it, will score well. A real challenge and so worthwhile.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/06/2017

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and our potential clients. We are pleased you enjoy the course and play often.


"Great layout and great deal"


Harry2563's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played as a single and got a great rate the morning of play. First off with couple of locals. Course had a lot of character(dog legs and landing areas), only complaint was that the greens were SLOW.

Course was in good shape and staff couldn't have been any friendly. Will come back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/06/2017

We are glad you enjoyed your first round at Old South. The course offers a lot of variety and challenge. We hope to see you back soon.



homeinstead's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in excellent condition especially for this time of year. Greens were really nice


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/04/2017

This is a great time of year to play as conditions are great. We hope to see you back here soon..


"Best golf value in Hilton Head or Bluffton"


u7517298's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great condition & super value for the price. Challenging for a good player & fair for a high handicapper. Highly recommend.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/29/2017

We appreciate your business and the 5 star review. Old South is fun and interesting for golfers of all ability levels.



Chandler2945752's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/27/2017

Thanks for the 5 star review!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed