Eagle Crest Golf Club

3.5708000000 3.6 stars from 5 (445)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6537 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 71.7
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 2492 Old Ranch Rd, Escondido, California 92027, San Diego County
  • (760) 737-9762
  • (760) 737-9788
  • www.eaglecrestgc.com
Write a review

Year built: 1989
Architect(s): David Rainville
Type: Public
Greens: Bent Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required – collared shirt, no denim. Length of shorts must be between knee and 4 inches above.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6537 yards 71.7 133
White 72 6035 yards 69.6 125
Red (W) 72 4941 yards 70.5 125

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 445 Reviews
5 stars:
63
4 stars:
226
3 stars:
91
2 stars:
32
1 stars:
33

recommend this course

353 out of 436 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for locals wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers water hazards narrow fairways   Great for drinks patio dining watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Tight track."


01FLOGGER01's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Price is right! Lot of dirt spots. Greens ok but slow. Nice layout. Makes you think your way around.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Good value for the price."


u162896205's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You get to use all of your clubs, not just your driver.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 05/22/2017:

Thank you for your 4-star review and feedback of our golf course. Please let us know if you ever need anything and we hope to see you back again very soon!


Virgilio8215871's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 05/22/2017:

Thank you Virgilio for your review and feedback of our golf course. We hope to see you back again very soon!

"Terrible"


Ryan1280996's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Condition was very poor with all the water they claim to have from the Wells was very disappointed I've been playing there for 8 years I like the layout but would not pay more then 15 dollars probably won't be returning for along time


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 05/17/2017:

Thank you Ryan for your review of our golf course. We apologize for the course conditions as our staff is working hard to get everything back up to par. Please come back and see us again very soon!


u000002539389's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 05/17/2017:

Thank you for your review of our golf course. We are sorry to see you did not have good time on the course and we hope you will let us know if you ever need anything while you are here. Please come back and see us again!


u000007331145's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 05/17/2017:

Thank you so much for the 4-star review and feedback of our golf course. We are thrilled you had a good time on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon!


padres2323's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairways and greens in good condition. Best value for your money. I like the layout and plays tight. Bunkers are ok. I would go more often if it was closer......good tacos and $2 beers. Greens easy to read


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 05/17/2017:

Thank you padres2323 for your review and feedback of our golf course. We appreciate you taking the time and we are thrilled you thought it was a good value. Please come back and see us again very soon!

"So glad to see improvement"


Chris1560964's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I stopped playing here regularly 2 years ago because the drought hit it hard, as in rock hard fairways. It was my favorite layout of all the affordable courses around Escondido. Well the rain finally returned and so has this course. Hats off to the maintenance crew for cutting back the US Open style rough. There are only two real sore spots left, the #2 green (blotchy) and the #14 fairway (flood damage). There are some rough parts here and there but no more than I see at other courses. So after this round, it's back in my rotation and I couldn't be happier.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 05/15/2017:

It's wonderful to hear that we're back in your rotation! We're thrilled that our hard work is paying off and we were able to provide a fun round! We look forward to your next visit with us.

"The coarse is coming back"


u0000050113087's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The coarse is getting back in great shape. After a rough winter with a lot of rain damage Eagle Crest is in very good shape. The greens have always been good , but now they are in really good shape and also rolling alittle faster than usual. Get out and give it a try before everybody else figures it out.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 05/05/2017:

Thanks so much for the 4-stars and kind words! It's great to hear that all of our hard work has paid off and is shining through!

"Great Round"


u604455655's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The threesome arrived earlier and they let us go right away. No one in front, and no one behind. Finished our round in about 3 hours. 3 very fun hours.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 05/05/2017:

It's wonderful to hear that you and your group had a great time with us! A great round that moves along nicely is always fun! We look forward to your next visit with us!

"Worth the Drive and Good Value"


u751859693's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Greens were in great condition, fairways mostly good condition. Pace of play was good, and the staff was very friendly and down to earth. The clubhouse is nothing fancy but includes a grill, drinks, golf apparel/supplies, and a deck out the back. The driving range needs rubber tees for the hitting mats. Putting green is large and in good shape. Overall enjoyed the day, a fun layout, and we will come back and tell others.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 05/05/2017:

We really appreciate the great feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your round overall and we'll certainly pass along your tip about the driving range. We look forward to your next visit with us.

"Fun but there's better"


enickl01's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

This is more your neighborhood style course.

Everything was okay with course.

It's a shorter style course which is fine, but to pull it off the course either needs to really wow you with the layout, condition, or views.

Unfortunately it was a miss on all of those.

The course has some fun risk reward holes. Being short it comes with the standard narrow fairways with plenty of OB trouble.

This course runs along a creek so it was really muggy. Its also not a scenic creek. Felt like Super Mario the golfer driving through all the drainage pipes connecting the course and sess pools.

The course condition was okay. The water hazards were low and looked rather sad. I dont like it when low filled concrete water hazards take away from the beuaty of the course.

The staff saved the day. Great beer andunch specials. But due to the short layout and the fact the marshall was also the starter that day it was a brutally slow day.

Took over 5.5 hours and we bailed after 16 and skipped 17 -18. Because 17 looked like an exec 100 yard hole.

Won't be back.

If the fairways were pure and the hazards trimmed and the water drainage fixed. It could be a fun course.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 05/15/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We're sorry to hear that our layout and conditions didn't impress you but it's great to hear that your interactions with our terrific staff were positive. We're continuously working to provide a great experience for our golfers and we hope you'll return so we can have the chance to change your opinion. Have a great day!

"Perfect greens"


u000005706508's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were impressed with the size and condition of the greens. Even the fairways were in very good shape. It was not crowded and we had a great day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 04/20/2017:

Thank you so much for your review and feedback of our golf course. We are thrilled you had a good time on the course and found the conditions to your liking. We hope to see you back again very soon!

"Course has deteriorated"


STephen3550857's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was in poor condition. After all the rain we had I expected a green course but was disappointed to find dried fairways and slow greens. Bunkers were hard sand and all the ponds were filled with algae and missing wild life. Off the fairways the grounds were not maintained, high grass everywhere.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 04/10/2017:

Thank you Stephen for the review of our golf course. We apologize for the course conditions as our staff is working hard on getting everything back up to par. Please come back and see us again very soon as you are sure to be pleasantly surprised!

"Good lay out poor condition"


jdpdz5's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Course has a lot of promise but needs a lot of work. Poor conditions, fairways are hit and miss. Greens are shaggy one hole, fast the next, very few markers anywhere. Also, entrance need a code to get in and no signs to actual club house.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 04/10/2017:

Thank you jdpdz5 for your review and feedback of Eagle Crest Golf Club. Our staff is working hard on the course conditions and we appreciate your patience during this transition period. Please come back and see us again soon once all the new changes have had time to settle in.

"Greens very fun and well kept"


dpsanders's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Suffered from heavy flooding this year. Not back yet but very fun layout at great price.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 04/06/2017:

Thank you dpsanders for your review and feedback of our golf course. It is great to hear you had such a good time on the course and we appreciate your patience during this rainy, flooding transition period. We are very happy you see the value in playing here and we hope you will come back and see us again very soon!


u596133945's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

overall experience was good. only complaint is that I was not made aware of the entrance to the course. need a code to get through the front gate of the housing community


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 04/03/2017:

Thank you for the review of our golf course. We appreciate you taking the time and hope that you will continue to golf with us throughout the year!

"Snowbird"


Timbevreed's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Recent flooding left 4-5 holes somewhat damaged. Rough very bad, swallows balls. Very few yardage markers or 150 markers. Several water hazards not visible from course and not marked with stakes. Saw bev cart on hole 2, too early for us, she said she'd be back but never was.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 03/27/2017:

Thank you Timbevreed for the review and feedback of our golf course. We apologize for the flooding as we are working hard on getting everything back up to par. We appreciate your patience and we hope you will come back and see us again once all the new changes have had a chance to set in.

"No Fairways only Greens"


Bret66's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is in horrible shape. The rough is not controlled(loose your ball), fairways (what fairways),

the greens were fair.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 03/27/2017:

Thank you Bret66 for your review and feedback of our golf course. We apologize for the conditions of the course as our staff is working hard on getting everything back up to par. Please check back soon as we should have everything back soon!



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Eagle Crest Golf Club on 03/27/2017:

Thank you schola127 for your review and feedback of our golf course. We apologies for your experience at the course and we hope you will let us know if you ever need anything while you are here. Come back and see us again very soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed