Prescott Country Club

3.9554000000 4.0 stars from 5 (224)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6655 yards
  • Slope: 127
  • Rating: 70.9
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 1030 Prescott Country Club Blvd, Dewey, Arizona 86327, Yavapai County
  • (800) 717-7274, (928) 772-8984
  • (928) 772-0565
  • www.prescottgolf.net
Write a review

Year built: 1971
Architect(s): Milton Coggins
Type: Semi-Private
Style: Traditional
Greens: Bent Grass
Fairways: Blue Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6655 yards 70.9 127
White 72 6302 yards 69.2 122
White (W) 72 6302 yards 74.7 132
Red (W) 72 5732 yards 71.2 124

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 224 Reviews
5 stars:
62
4 stars:
112
3 stars:
35
2 stars:
8
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

199 out of 221 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals seniors advanced golfers   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers thick rough   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Nice course"


TucsonMike's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

The course was in good shape. There was a woman's league in front of us but we played in 4 hours so you can't complain about that. As busy as it was we were surprised there were no food or beverage options. No water on the course so you could not even fill up a bottle of water. Sign says no food or beverages allowed but apparently they don't want to sell you any as well.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 06/20/2017:

Thank you for your feedback, Mike. We run our beverage cart Thursday thru Monday, so we apologize if you did not have one while you were playing but the bar is open 10 am to 8 pm every day. We're glad that you enjoyed the course itself as well as the pace of play. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

"Average"


u000004648429's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played this course yesterday for the first time. It is average. I was disappointed in that the bunkers needed manicuring around them and considering the summer is starting there is no water on the course and no cart circling the course with drinks. This is called a "country club" but other courses in the area do have better amenities and even course conditions.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 06/20/2017:

Thank you for your review. We run our beverage cart Thursday thru Monday, so we apologize if you did not have one while you were playing but the bar was open 10 am to 8 pm that day. Regarding amenities, we do offer a bar seven days a week, from 10 am to 8 pm. We offer live entertainment and Karaoke weekly. We have a seasonal pool, full gym, and lockers. Hopefully, you'll give us another try in the future.


u000002452356's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 06/06/2017:

Thank you for your 5-star rating! Come join us for another round soon.

"Love the layout of course"


u000008047713's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoy playing this course. It is my favorite in the area. Wish prices in afternoons would be discounted more due to amount I can afford to pay consistently, but also the wind is almost always an issue in the afternoons for some reason. The course was in good shape except for the sand bunkers. They need better sand as is like concrete to hit out of them. Really affects your scoring when you blade the ball each time trying to get out of them, because of the hardness of the sand.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 05/03/2017:

Thank you for taking the time share your kind words and feedback about our golf course. We are thrilled to hear that you consider Prescott Golf & Country Club your favorite golf course in the area. Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.

"In good shape"


skipclark's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is always in good shape. Snack bar was closed, as happens often.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 05/03/2017:

Thank you, Skip! We hope to see you out here again soon.

"Nice course"


u000002676892's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course that is in good shape except some bunkers need attention. Expect at least 4.5 hours for a round since lots of really slow players.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u996324784's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great staff and course. Par 3's and some greens can be difficult but fun and challenging.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"It's the little things"


ihitemlong's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I play here regularly and keep coming back so what follows is a cumulative opinion and is meant to be constructive. Little things like the condition of grass on aprons of greens is poor. Type of sand, or maybe it's dirt, vary between bunkers as does the amount, or depth & fluffiness, of sand (or dirt). Seems to me they should be more uniform. Course is challenging and I enjoy playing it, but it could be improved.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 05/11/2017:

Thank you for your review and continued business. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope to see you out here for many more rounds to come!

"Fun Course!"


itryatgolf's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

I really enjoy this course, conditions are good and it is a real fun layout! The staff is always friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone. The food in the new restaurant is great. I can't wait to play there again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 05/11/2017:

Awesome! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Sounds like you had a great time! Hope to see you out here again soon.

"Pleasant and enjoyable"


mwtravlr's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

We saw the "public welcome" sign en route to our hotel while on vacation and decided to take a look, maybe hit balls. It looked attractive and in very good shape.

They had a tee time available in an hour and we decided to play, even though it was obvious they had just sanded and dressed the greens. They were smooth and surprisingly quick Very well maintained fairways.

Tee time started promptly and we played in 4:10 which was a pleasant surprise considering the totally filled tee times before us. We were paired up with a couple of friendly locals who play there frequently.

One was a recent transplant who raved about the benefits of living in the area.

The course is relatively short but the par 3's are not.

There are. generous fairways and the rough is cut at short country club height.

Lots of maintenance people were working and the course appeared to have several improvements underway. Would gladly play there again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 04/11/2017:

Thank you for your 4-star rating and review. Next time you're in the area be sure to stop in for another round of golf!

"Best Course in Yavapai County"


u000001120331's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Awesome traditional golf course. Are you sick of desert golf/target golf? I know I am. Prescott Country Club is a great fair and fun golf course. The condition is awesome. Where else in Arizona can you play beautiful bent grass greens for these kind of prices. A true hidden gem.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 04/11/2017:

Excellent! Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about our golf course. Please come join us for another round soon!

"Fun Course!"


caligolfer88's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2017
Previously played Used cart

Reviewed on

I've played this course a lot and I really enjoy the layout. A nice straight forward layout with tricky, yet fun greens. Conditions are great, and I really like the shorter rough at this course, it almost tees the ball up! Super friendly staff, nice pace of play and real reasonable rates. Definitely my favorite course in the area!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 04/11/2017:

Thank you! We appreicate you taking the time to share your experience. Hope to see you out here again in the near future!


maddisyn's avatar
Age:  25-34

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 04/11/2017:

Thanks for the 5 stars! Come see us again soon!

"Poor greens average fairways"


vegasdancediva's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens at Prescott GCC were in poor condition, they looked fine, but they were very hard and putted extremely inconsistent. Some greens were extremely fast and others very slow, you could not figure out if the ball would break or run past the hole - quite frustrating all day.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 04/11/2017:

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize if your round was not as enjoyable as it could have been. We hope you'll come give us another try in the future.

"Ran us out w/ no refund & no reply to my email."


Jenn6144555's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

We paid for 4 people ($150.) & told the man only 2 players because our son was a beginner & needed more time. We made it to the sand pit (1st hole) & the same man was cross armed staring. My husband asked what was up? He said we were taking too long & needed to keep up with the players in front. Duh! We know the rules. We reminded him we have a beginner & that we paid for a little bit of extra time. He responded " I don't care if you paid for 8 people!" The 2 men behind us were already hitting balls into us but he showed no concern about that! We felt bullied by this guy so my husband said ok then, we'll leave & get a refund. He said fine, I'll talk to them up there. Inside the office we were told by Brian there are no refunds. We told him we made it 3/4 through the 1st hole before we were harassed & had only been playing for a few min.

The next morning I emailed Jeff & Jess, the owners, requesting a refund & fully explaining how upset we all were with the situation. It has been more than 7 days & I havent heard their reply or received the refund.

I would NEVER recommend this course. I used to live in the PCC for quite a few years & know its history. Being designed in 1971 doesnt make you so fancy that you cant treat people with respect.

~Ripped Off


Pace of Play: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 04/11/2017:

We are very sorry to hear that you don't have a more positive experience to share from your time with us here at Prescott Golf & CC. We want golfers of all skill levels to feel welcome here. We didn't receive an email from you the next morning or else we would have responded so we do apologize if it never made it to our inbox. If you would like to discuss your experience further please email us at countryclubprescott@gmail.com. Thank you.

Commented on 04/18/2017

UPDATE: We did receive an apology & a refund.


"Horrible Course"



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had never played this course before. The fairway & the cart paths were absolutely horrid, I don't know which was more rough riding. The greens were horrendous and extremely inconsistent. We had to start on the back 9 "because they were working on Hole #3, but their work wouldn't interfere with play"...what??

The gentleman that worked in the pro shop was very polite, the gentleman that was the starter, approached our cart and was smoking a cigarette at the same time, not only is it rude & disguting, I'm allergic to cigarettes smoke!!

First time on this track and the last.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 03/24/2017:

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you don’t have a more positive experience to share. The construction that is happening next to hole #3 is a county project that is beyond our control and our reason for teeing off the back nine is to allow the workers a little extra time in the morning before they start seeing golfers. We'd love for you to come back in the summer while we're in season and play another round! If you would like to discuss your experience further please email us at countryclubprescott@gmail.com. Thank you.


u1989234's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 03/22/2017:

We are very appreciative of your 5-star rating! See you again soon.

"Greens"


u561754296's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens could use a little work. Everything else was good.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 03/21/2017:

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you out here again soon!

"Give it a try. Bet you'll like it."


Clark1997's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Friendly staff, nice pace, quite good shape for winter. Will definitely be going there more often as this was our first time.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 03/27/2017:

Thanks, Clark! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and kind words. We look forward to seeing you out here again soon!

"Great golf and staff"


Pmarichal's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course and the right price. Staff is friendly and pace of play most of the time is great.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Prescott Golf & Country Club on 03/20/2017:

Thank you for your kind words! Join us for another round of golf soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed