Southern Ridge Golf Club

3.1100000000 3.1 stars from 5 (418)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6817 yards
  • Slope: 118
  • Rating: 70.9
  • Layout

  • 5740 W Baseline Rd, Laveen, Arizona 85339, Maricopa County
  • (602) 237-4567
  • (602) 889-8991
  • www.southernridgegc.com
Write a review

Year built: 1993
Architect(s): Dan Pohl
Type: Public
Style: Traditional
Greens: Bent Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt required
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6817 yards 70.9 118
Copper 72 6406 yards 68.9 116
White 72 6182 yards 67.8 114
Silver (W) 72 5762 yards 71.9 114
Red (W) 72 5469 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 418 Reviews
5 stars:
26
4 stars:
136
3 stars:
157
2 stars:
56
1 stars:
43

recommend this course

309 out of 411 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals beginners seniors   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Not worth it"


SJ6539178's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Despite the fact that it was so cheap, it wasn't just worth playing.

Worst green, bumpy, bare ground, slowest

Fairway just left abandoned

The cart ...must pedal hard to get it going

This might be the worst course in PHX area


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 05/18/2017:

We regret to hear of that your round with us was not ideal. We assure you this is not the level we strive to achieve and will address it at the course. We hope you will come again soon for another round to make up for this experience!


mccaffreytim's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 05/11/2017:

We appreciate your feedback. We regret to hear of the poor experience you had with our course conditions. We will be sure to address this issue at the course and fix things accordingly. We hope to see you again soon to make up for this experience!

"Good course, great staff"


hhwatkins's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a can't lose course. Moderately priced and with enough challenges for the accomplished golfer. Interesting layout with 6 par 3s, 6 par 4s and 6 par 5s.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 05/08/2017:

We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your round at Southern Ridge and feel that we are a "can't lose" course! We love your positive attitude and hope to see you again soon for another round!

"Open fairways,"


ciervolino's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Play is through nice homes, but since the fairways are wide, chances of dinking someone's roof is low.

Nice course - good value for the intermediate player


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 04/24/2017:

We are excited to see that, overall, you had an excellent experience at our course. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another round!

"Ok"


greg3574656's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wide open fairways easy to play but a little on the boring side. No elevation changes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Golf Club on 04/24/2017:

Hey Greg, thank you for the feedback and three star rating. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the pace of play and staff friendliness! We regret to hear that the course layout was not challenging enough for your liking. We hope to see you back again soon here at Southern Ridge Golf Club, have a great day!

"bad conditions"


u000008054780's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Front nine in neighborhood. Kids were walking on the course! Drainage bad! Dry in most places, muddy in other places by standing water. No landscaping on this course.

Backnine outside neighborhood. Bad conditions of fairways here because of drilled holes in grass and pieces of clay everywhere. Would not recommend this course!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 04/06/2017:

"u000008054780" we regret to hear of your poor experience with us! We apologize for any inconveniences with the neighborhood and draining problems. We will address these issues at the course and fix things accordingly. We hope to see you again soon to make up for this experience!


bobbur01's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 04/06/2017:

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your round with us and think our course is good. We will address the ball washer issue at the course and fix things accordingly. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon for another round.



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Course Response on 03/29/2017:

"u000005321140" thank you for your feedback! We are excited to hear that you think our course is in the best condition its ever been in. We hope to see you again soon for another round!

"Narrow fairwsy"


Larry9460694's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairway are very narrow, greens in good shape and fairways were in good shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 03/29/2017:

"Larry9460694" thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that our greens and fairways were in good shape for your round. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another round!

"Superb course for money!"


3RiversGC's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played this course several times and enjoy it every time. One of the best values in the Phoenix area. Highly recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Golf Club on 03/27/2017:

Hey James, thank you for the four star rating and feedback! We are excited to hear you would recommend our course and appreciate your continued support. Thank you for stopping by Southern Ridge Golf Club and we look forward to having you back for an even better round of golf!

"Poor Maintenance"


Rickgc's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Course has too much standing water, hence lots of flying creatures. Tee boxes need some care. I found this course not worth the $39 and will not play it again. Parking was difficult as well.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 03/23/2017:

"Rickgc" we regret to hear of your dissatisfaction with your round at Southern Ridge. We apologize for any inconvenience parking and course conditions may have caused you. We hope to see you again soon to make up for this experience!

"Marshall,"


rick1791301's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played this course, we also called the course to ask them if one of the foresome could bring his son. He paid the extra fee to ride along with him. The Marshall was riding around with his kid. In front of us and behind us for 9 straight holes and then told us his son wasn't allowed out of the cart at all. He's 16. And was not playing. At NO time did we hold up the pace of play matter a fact it was a five and almost half hour round teeing off at 7:15 in the morning which should never happen. That being said I've played this course probably 100 times and have never had this kind of service at this course. Usually the staff is awesome and that is why I come back. This could of been handled differently. At worst I know the 16 year old won't be back or his father from out of town.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 03/22/2017:

"rick1791301" we regret to hear of your poor experience with us. We apologize for the poor staff friendliness you received and assure you this is not the level we strive to achieve. We always love our golfers to have the best experience possible and hope to see you again soon for another round to make up for this experience.

"Don't let the good rates tempt you!!"


yaowo1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a 9:07 starting time and was right on schedule, but went downhill from there. Round was over 5 hours on a very easy track. Group in front of us was very slow. Finally at the turn we hopped past them when they stopped for food. Only to find out that they let a twosome jump in at 10 (because of the 2 open holes). We caught up to another very very slow group. Waited every shot and had 4 groups on all of the par 5s. IF this course had a couple of rangers that would enforce the pace of play I would come back, but that will never happen, so don't get tempted by the good rates. It will only lead to a frustrating 5+ hours.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 03/15/2017:

"yaowo1", we regret to hear that the pace of play was not ideal for your round. We apologize for any inconvenience or frustrations this may have caused during your round. We hope to see you again soon to make up for this experience!

"Standard course"


davehyndman55's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Found the front greens a little rougher than the back nine but still very playable. Fairways good and "desert" rough. Golfed with a regular and he commented that the course is getting in better condition all the time. Good value for the money.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 03/13/2017:

Thank you for your feedback "davehyndman55", we appreciate your thoughts! We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your round with us and felt that you got a good value for your money. Please come again soon for another round!

"Not a bad day..."


LtsmithAZ's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Like many courses at this time of year, Southern Ridge needs a little water. But the fairways and greens (except one) were good.

One green had tire tracks across it and made it difficult to putt.

This course tries to make up for variety of layout with length and it works for the most part.

All in all, a good day.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 03/13/2017:

We apologize for any inconvenience on the greens that effected your putting. We will be sure to address this issue at the course and fix things accordingly. However, we are excited to hear that this did not reflect on your entire round and overall you had a great day with us! Thank you for your feedback "LtsmithAZ", please come again soon!

"Great Warm Up"


bkgolfaz13's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Our foursome enjoyed our round here as there is no major trouble and it is a pretty forgiving course. Reasonable price for the course. Don't expect much from the driving range as it could use some work.It was OK to warm-up before our round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 03/13/2017:

We regret to hear our conditions on the driving range were not ideal for your round. We are excited to hear that your foursome enjoyed the round overall with great pace of play, course layout, and value. Thank you for your feedback!

"First Time at Southern Ridge"


rezabfw's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was better than anticipated for the amount paid. Fairways in good shape but green a little bumpy. Sand traps in great shape. Course interesting given the 6 (par 5), 6 (par4), and 6 (par3) layout. Even though the course takes a while to get there, if you are looking for a course to "get your swing back" before you tackle the longer courses, Southern Ridge offers you that opportunity at a very reasonable price.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 03/13/2017:

"rezabfw", thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you feel our course offers a reasonable price and was in good shape for your round. Please come again soon to get that swing back!


rickterry's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens need some work, especially on the front nine


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 03/09/2017:

Thank you for your feedback "rickterry", we regret to see that the course conditions were not ideal for your round. We will be sure to notify our staff about the greens conditions and fix things accordingly. Otherwise, we are excited to hear you enjoyed the pace of play, staff friendliness, and course layout. We hope to see you again soon for another round!


WAFAG's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course appeared to be under some degree of construction or landscaping. What I thought was it sure made the course look bare and unappealing. Hope it improves quickly. As I played the round, there were no ball washers that had any water or solution in them. My partner attempted to use a lady's washroom, on the course, and couldn't because of the filth and uncleanliness. It had not been cleaned for many days. The cart, rented to use, had old cigarette butts in one of the compartments. The course is not managed well at all. It appears it is just collecting money and not attempting to maintain a quality standard.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 03/07/2017:

Hello "WAFAG", we regret to hear of your poor experience with us about the course conditions, course layout, and amenities. We will be sure to address it at the course and fix things accordingly. We hope to see you again soon to make up for this experience.

"Conditions"


u000005819618's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/01/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Each week we see continued improvements. The sand traps are manacured to a tee, fairways are greener each week also. The front 9 greens need work but overall good value for the fees paid.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Southern Ridge Tee Times on 03/07/2017:

We regret to hear that the front 9 greens were not ideal for your round. However, we are ecstatic to hear that you feel our course is continuing to improve each time you join us! We look forward to having you again soon for another round!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed