Villa de Paz Golf Course

2.9934000000 3.0 stars from 5 (302)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6641 yards
  • Slope: 123
  • Rating: 70.1
  • Layout

  • 4220 N 103rd Ave, Phoenix, Arizona 85037, Maricopa County
  • (623) 877-1172
  • (623) 877-0655
  • www.villadepazgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1976
Architect(s): Greg Nash, Jeff Hardin
Type: Public
Style: Parkland
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No tank tops or cutoffs.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Back 72 6641 yards 70.1 123
Middle 72 6181 yards 67.9 117
Champ (W) 72 6146 yards 73.3 125
Senior 72 5558 yards 65.6 109
Forward (W) 72 5458 yards 69.5 115

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.8 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 302 Reviews
5 stars:
13
4 stars:
104
3 stars:
90
2 stars:
58
1 stars:
37

recommend this course

202 out of 301 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks watching the game 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Worst course I've ever played."


kimm3's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Have to say that the greens were fairly good but everything else was really rough. Many fairways were domed and your drive would roll off into terrible rough. It was a very frustrating round. #18 was a beautiful hole...seems it's the only hole that's taken care of.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 04/20/2017:

We regret to hear of your poor experience at our course. We will be sure to address course conditions, staff friendliness, and course layout at the course and fix these issues accordingly. We hope to see you again in the future to make up for this experience!


danielwiggins's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Decent course, I was a bit worried after reading a couple of the reviews but I found it to be OK overall.

This course is rough around the edges but the fairways were ok and the greens ok as well.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 04/13/2017:

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the course layout and staff friendliness. We appreciate your feedback and appreciate you choosing us to book your round with. Please come again soon!

"Great value"


u000008227579's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is great value for the price. Fairways and greens in great shape. Layout of course is very good. Greens very challenging.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 04/04/2017:

We are happy to hear that you think our course is of great value, in great shape, and has a great layout! Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon for another round!


Charlieertl's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/29/2017:

"Charlieertl" we regret to hear of your poor experience with us. We assure you this is not the level we strive to achieve and will address it at the course. We hope to see you again soon to make up for this experience!

"Okay for the money"


u000007304429's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Grass was thin in many areas, making for very tight lies even next to the green, and add to that the hard clay subsoil, it made pitching around the greens almost stupid. By the 18th hole I was ready to break a branch off a tree and use that instead of an iron since my clubs were getting battered.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 04/04/2017:

We regret to hear of your poor experience at our course. We assure you this is not the level we strive to achieve and will address it at the course. Please come again soon to make up for this experience!


safetypest's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/29/2017:

"safetypest" we are excited to hear that you feel you got a great value for the price! We hope to see you again soon for another round!

"Good practice course"


odis3867949's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great practice course. Other than to much duck poo on some greens a good course to enjoy golf


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Villa De Paz Golf Course on 03/27/2017:

Hey Odis, thank you for the feedback and three star rating. We regret to hear that there was an abnormal amount of interference on some of the greens. We will look into our duck population on course and ensure that we monitor our greens more regularly. We are happy to hear you would recommend our course and we look forward to having you back soon. Thank you for stopping by Villa De Paz Golf Course and have a great day!

"Nice Course"


speerman99's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course for the money! They keep it up very well. Greens rolled good. Got out at 10:00 AM with no one in front of us and no one in back of us!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/24/2017:

We are happy to hear that you felt you got a good value at our course, and the greens were kept up nicely. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon for another round!

"Good warm up course for the wife"


sknimko's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We are from Canada and my wife had not hit a ball in 7 months so this was a nice warm up round to start her off.

The course is over grow with weeds and the fairways are in rough shape. The tee boxes were very rough but the greens we in fair shape and we're rather fast.

We enjoyed this course and had a good time it was not a slow game as we still finished In just over 4 hours.

The club house staff was amazing and very friendly.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Villa De Paz Golf Course on 03/27/2017:

Thank you for the feedback and four star rating! We regret to hear the course conditions were not enjoyable for your round. We will be monitoring these issues moving forward. We are happy to hear the club house staff treated you well and you found your tee time with us was valuable and would recommend our course! Thank you for stopping by Villa De Paz Golf Course and we look forward to having you back again soon!


dawgpound69's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/20/2017:

thank you for your feedback and the 4 star review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the course overall and look forward to seeing you again soon for another round!

"improved course"


Golfcarl9's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played here several years ago and didnt have high expectations this time. I could tell right away the course had improved. We had an 8am Tee time and got off a few minutes early. The fairways were decent and the greens were in pretty good shape. The course has a fun layout. Its a little rough around the edges but certainly playable. We had a fun day.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/22/2017:

"Golfcarl9" thank you for your review! We are ecstatic to hear that the course has improved since your previous time playing here. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the course layout and the course conditions were ideal for your round. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another round!


Rickgc's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/22/2017:

"Rickgc" thank you for your feedback! We are glad to see that you enjoyed your round overall with us. Specifically, that you enjoyed the pace of play, course layout, and course conditions! We hope to see you again soon for another round!


u748640652's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/20/2017:

We apologize for your poor experience during your round. We assure you this is not the level we strive to achieve and will address it at the course. We hope to see you again soon to make up for this experience!

"Tired old course"


sooner90's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

A typical muni. Course condition is mediocre with lots of brown spots. Layout is average at best. Good for locals and beginners, but lacks challenge.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/24/2017:

"sooner90" we regret to hear of your poor experience with our course. We will be sure to address the course conditions and fix things accordingly. Please come again soon to make up for this experience!


denniso49's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/07/2017:

We are happy to see that overall you enjoyed your round with us! It is great to see that the pace of play and staff friendliness were excellent for your round. We hope to see you again soon on our course!

"Over growth"


mholthaus3's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in good shape aside from that everything needed some tlc. Over growth the. Trees and tons off weeds.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa De Paz Golf Course on 02/27/2017:

Thank you mholthaus3 for the feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the greens and we will look into the course conditions issues moving forward. We hope to see you back again for an awesome round here in Phoenix!


DeOne52's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/01/2017:

We apologize for your poor experience during your round with us. We will be sure to look into the course conditions issues and fix things accordingly! We hope to see you back again for another round with us!


rgreabeiel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Decent course for the money. Eighteenth green was pretty rough, rest were decent.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Villa De Paz Golf Course on 02/22/2017:

Thank you for the feedback and the three star rating. We are glad you enjoyed your round with us and we will address the course conditions that you mentioned. We hope to see you back again soon here in Phoenix!

"Gorgeous Day On The Course"


rivnme's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were only in town for a week and wanted to get out as many times as possible. With past reviews we were a little apprehensive to golf here but the price was right. I have to say, we were pleasantly surprised. The course was in fairly good condition. The T-boxes could use some leveling and there was a lot of rough terrain if you hit off the fairway but in AZ for winter course conditions it's what you can expect. We would golf here again, for the price you can't beat it!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Villa De Paz Golf Course on 02/22/2017:

Thank you rivnme for the feedback and four star rating. We are glad you enjoyed the staff friendliness and value of your round and will look into the course conditions mentioned. We hope that your next round with us will be even better here in Phoenix!

"Course condition"


k2nn2dy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/13/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

We found the course in average condition. Tee boxes and greens rough.We did have a lot of waiting between holes. Group ahead were very slow. Having someone out there monitoring that would be very beneficial. Compared to Union Hills I would say they're in about the same condition. Was the cheaper of the two.

Not letting two out on their own might be a step in the right direction as well.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 02/23/2017:

We are happy to hear that the course conditions were good for your round! Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon for another round.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed