Villa de Paz Golf Course

3.0000000000 3.0 stars from 5 (294)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6641 yards
  • Slope: 123
  • Rating: 70.1
  • Layout

  • 4220 N 103rd Ave, Phoenix, Arizona 85037, Maricopa County
  • (623) 877-1172
  • (623) 877-0655
  • www.villadepazgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1976
Architect(s): Greg Nash, Jeff Hardin
Type: Public
Style: Parkland
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No tank tops or cutoffs.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Back 72 6641 yards 70.1 123
Middle 72 6181 yards 67.9 117
Champ (W) 72 6146 yards 73.3 125
Senior 72 5558 yards 65.6 109
Forward (W) 72 5458 yards 69.5 115

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.9 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 294 Reviews
5 stars:
13
4 stars:
102
3 stars:
86
2 stars:
58
1 stars:
35

recommend this course

197 out of 293 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks watching the game 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Nice Course"


speerman99's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course for the money! They keep it up very well. Greens rolled good. Got out at 10:00 AM with no one in front of us and no one in back of us!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



dawgpound69's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/20/2017:

thank you for your feedback and the 4 star review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the course overall and look forward to seeing you again soon for another round!

"improved course"


Golfcarl9's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played here several years ago and didnt have high expectations this time. I could tell right away the course had improved. We had an 8am Tee time and got off a few minutes early. The fairways were decent and the greens were in pretty good shape. The course has a fun layout. Its a little rough around the edges but certainly playable. We had a fun day.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/22/2017:

"Golfcarl9" thank you for your review! We are ecstatic to hear that the course has improved since your previous time playing here. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the course layout and the course conditions were ideal for your round. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another round!


Rickgc's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/22/2017:

"Rickgc" thank you for your feedback! We are glad to see that you enjoyed your round overall with us. Specifically, that you enjoyed the pace of play, course layout, and course conditions! We hope to see you again soon for another round!


u748640652's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/20/2017:

We apologize for your poor experience during your round. We assure you this is not the level we strive to achieve and will address it at the course. We hope to see you again soon to make up for this experience!

"Tired old course"


sooner90's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

A typical muni. Course condition is mediocre with lots of brown spots. Layout is average at best. Good for locals and beginners, but lacks challenge.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



denniso49's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/07/2017:

We are happy to see that overall you enjoyed your round with us! It is great to see that the pace of play and staff friendliness were excellent for your round. We hope to see you again soon on our course!

"Over growth"


mholthaus3's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in good shape aside from that everything needed some tlc. Over growth the. Trees and tons off weeds.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa De Paz Golf Course on 02/27/2017:

Thank you mholthaus3 for the feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the greens and we will look into the course conditions issues moving forward. We hope to see you back again for an awesome round here in Phoenix!


DeOne52's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 03/01/2017:

We apologize for your poor experience during your round with us. We will be sure to look into the course conditions issues and fix things accordingly! We hope to see you back again for another round with us!


rgreabeiel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Decent course for the money. Eighteenth green was pretty rough, rest were decent.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Villa De Paz Golf Course on 02/22/2017:

Thank you for the feedback and the three star rating. We are glad you enjoyed your round with us and we will address the course conditions that you mentioned. We hope to see you back again soon here in Phoenix!

"Gorgeous Day On The Course"


rivnme's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were only in town for a week and wanted to get out as many times as possible. With past reviews we were a little apprehensive to golf here but the price was right. I have to say, we were pleasantly surprised. The course was in fairly good condition. The T-boxes could use some leveling and there was a lot of rough terrain if you hit off the fairway but in AZ for winter course conditions it's what you can expect. We would golf here again, for the price you can't beat it!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Villa De Paz Golf Course on 02/22/2017:

Thank you rivnme for the feedback and four star rating. We are glad you enjoyed the staff friendliness and value of your round and will look into the course conditions mentioned. We hope that your next round with us will be even better here in Phoenix!

"Course condition"


k2nn2dy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/13/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

We found the course in average condition. Tee boxes and greens rough.We did have a lot of waiting between holes. Group ahead were very slow. Having someone out there monitoring that would be very beneficial. Compared to Union Hills I would say they're in about the same condition. Was the cheaper of the two.

Not letting two out on their own might be a step in the right direction as well.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 02/23/2017:

We are happy to hear that the course conditions were good for your round! Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon for another round.

"Solid course, However lacking ambiance"


balbu88's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Stay on the fairway! Fairways a bit rough, however the rough is really rough. Greens were above average, with the back nine in much better shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 02/15/2017:

We regret to hear the fairways were a bit rough for your round. We are glad to hear that the greens were great and the back nine was in great shape! We thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.


cnapier3's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The pace was slow and crowded. But at this price I would go again, and again.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 02/15/2017:

We regret to hear that our pace of play was not ideal for your round. We will be sure to address it at the course and fix things accordingly. Thank you for your feedback!


marynorma's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz on 02/23/2017:

We regret to see that the course conditions were not ideal for your round. We assure you this is not the level we strive to achieve and will address it at the course. Thank you for your feedback!


taz2314's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz on 02/23/2017:

We are happy to see you enjoyed your round with us overall! Thank you for the 4 star review and we look forward to seeing you again soon for another round.

"Bermuda Grass...Try Bermuda Dirt"


u000005052112's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

I understand in golf sometimes you get what you pay for. This course on the other hand is not one of those courses. We chose this course so we could play with a friend who is just starting golf. He now believes golf is played literally in the desert. If you find grass it may be on one of their incredible uneven lied tee boxes, but choose your spot wisely because those are mostly sand as well. Course is literally covered in trash on every single hole, the on course bathrooms are "clean", When I clean a bathroom I know the correct way is to just dump a bucket of bleach all over everything and let it soak, TADAH! 3-4 of 18 greens DIDN"T have bird feces covering 80% of the green. Lastly the review of the 18th hole..."one that you soon won't forget" is HILARIOUS! When you drive up to the 18th tee box make sure to take it ALL IN! BEAUTIFUL! Just breathtaking haha. All in all I will never play this course again. Save your money and go hit golf balls at a driving range! I'm not sure about their driving range, didn't look to see if it too was complete dirt or if they have grass to hit off. They do however have "GOLF BOARDS" for rent if you want to experience that. Here it would be an off road experience riding a motorized Golf Surf Board. I would recommend them spending money on ATV's instead.. This course is not worth the money to waste in gas driving here, and if you live close, save your energy because it's worth walking here. Positive Note: Staff was friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 02/23/2017:

We regret to hear that the course layout and course conditions were not ideal for your round. We assure you this is not the level we strive to achieve and will address it at the course. We are glad you enjoyed the pace of play and friendly staff! Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon to make up for this experience.


uPIMQ6020PI's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz on 02/23/2017:

We regret to hear of the bad weather during your round. However, we are happy to see that your enjoyed your round with us overall. Thank you for your feedback!

"You get what you pay for"


vicarsjason's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

VDP is far from a Scottsdale course in more than one way. I avoid this course during the summer as the course conditions are such that there is more dirt than grass but during the rest of the year it's somewhat playable as long as you are able to keep it in the fairway. Also never expect to play this course quickly in any way. 5-10 minute waits in between shots and on tee boxes are very common. Likewise traditional golf etiquette is not seen on this course. Slower groups typically won't ask if you want to play thru, people don't appear to fix divots throughout the fairways or the greens and the 90 degree rule most clubs observe is rarely seen here. I even regularly see people driving carts directly up to the greens and parking the cart in the short space between a green side bunker and the green. The course is not in the greatest of neighborhoods so don't be surprised if you smell hints of marijuana smoke coming from the backyards or the apartment complex around the course or the occasional group of kids playing football in the middle of a fairway. With all the negatives aside, which there are plenty, if you are new to the game of golf this is a great course for you. It's inexpensive and provides a great challenge for anyone learning the game. It's also a great course for anyone that is just looking for a cheap round of weekend golf.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 02/23/2017:

We regret to hear of your experience during your round with us. We assure you this is not the level we strive to achieve and will address it at the course. We are glad you think this course is challenging and a good value!


u903795598's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Villa de Paz Tee Times on 02/23/2017:

We regret to see that your round was not ideal. We assure you this is not the level we strive to achieve and will address it at the course. We hope to have you again soon for another round to make up for this experience.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed