Shalimar Country Club

3.0546705882 3.1 stars from 5 (120)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 33
  • Length: 2417 yards
  • Slope: 109
  • Rating: 31.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - $7
Pull-carts: Yes - $3
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 33 2417 yards 31.2 109
White 33 2154 yards 30.7 104
Yellow 33 1859 yards 30.8 100

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.4 stars from 5
Value: 3.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 120 Reviews
5 stars:
12
4 stars:
30
3 stars:
46
2 stars:
19
1 stars:
13

recommend this course

86 out of 120 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for 9-hole rounds walkers beginners   Challenges include water hazards bunkers narrow fairways   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

lasbus1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Shalimar Golf Club on 11/20/2017:

Hello lasbus1, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We are glad you enjoyed our affordable rates and found our staff friendly. Thank you for visiting Shalimar Country Club and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Tempe area!



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Shalimar Golf Club on 11/14/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review of course. We are glad you enjoyed our course conditions and pace of play. Thank you for visiting Shalimar Country Club and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Tempe area.


KipBoetel's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Shalimar Golf Club on 11/14/2017:

Hello KipBoetel, thank you for the four-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our pace of play and affordable rates. Thank you for playing Shalimar Country Club and we hope to see you the next time you are in the Tempe area!


speedbird2201's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Shalimar Golf Club on 11/14/2017:

Hello speedbird2201, thank you for the four-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course conditions and found our staff friendly. Thank you for visiting Shalimar Country Club and we hope to see you the next time you are in the Tempe area!

"opened to early"


ray2474968's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

this course is not ready fairway uncut lost many balls on the fairway.

greens need to be cut ,very ruff .

course ambassador was very rude.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shalimar Golf Club on 11/15/2017:

Hello ray2474968, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We are sorry to hear that you had a subpar experience at our course and we appreciate your feedback about our course conditions and staff friendliness. Thank you for visiting Shalimar Country Club and we hope to earn your business again.

"No Longer Competitive"


kcirbodmot's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Have played this course for close to 10 years. Staff has always been very service-oriented and friendly, but I have no idea where the management has been getting their ideas. Pricing has been jacked up to the point where I can now easily find local regulation courses where I can play 18 holes for the same price that Shalimar is charging for 9. Even worse, though, is the dreadful condition that the course is almost always in, nearly every month of the year. Even the fairways are hard, rutted and covered with dead grass. Either that, or there's standing water everywhere across the course. No in-between, and neither extreme is at all desirable. What a tremendous gem this course used to be just a few years ago, and what an insult it has become.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shalimar CC Management on 11/06/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us! Your feedback on course conditions is greatly appreciated and we hope you come back to try us again.

"This course should have not been open due to reseeding the grass."


Stendalford's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course should have been shut down due to reseeding the grass. My daughter and I were playing on dead grass and

Breathing. This course should have not been open.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shalimar Golf Club on 10/16/2017:

Hello Stendalford, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course. We are sorry to hear about your subpar experience at our course and we appreciate your feedback. We are starting the overseeding process on our course today and you will see a better product in a few weeks time. Thank you for playing Shalimar Country Club and we hope to earn your business again.


u2127238's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Shalimar Golf Club on 10/13/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to rate our course. We are glad you enjoyed our pace of play and found our staff friendly. Thank you for playing Shalimar Country Club and we hope to see you again soon.

"fun course, excellent place to polish game"


madmax7's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course just completed overseeing and it looks like it went really well. While the winter grass is growing in they are offering great deals. The course should be in fantastic shape by November.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Shalimar GC Management on 11/06/2017:

Our staff really appreciated your review as we prepare for a beautiful Arizona winter. We look forward to seeing you again!

"Fun, sporty 9-hole course"


madmax7's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really fun layout. Not a lot of bunkers, but some challenging par 3's. The greens are tiny, a real challenge to hit in regulation. Played in less than 2 hours and had a ball.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Shalimar Golf Club on 09/27/2017:

Hello madmax7, thank you for the five-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our layout and pace of play! Thank you for playing Shalimar Country Club and we hope to see you again soon!

"Staff Jerk"


AZWolverine83's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/07/2017
Previously played Walked Hot weather

Reviewed on

I have been playing this course for decades. Unfortunately I haven't been able to play much golf in recent years for health reasons. I had purchased an "unlimited golf" Groupon for Shalimar a few years ago and never got a chance to use it. It was $69, and according to Groupon's rules, the PAID portion is to be honored even if the Groupon benefits have expired. I called to make a tee time and mentioned the Groupon. The guy didn't know much about it, and said he'd "see what he could do." At the course, he hesitated at first, then VERY begrudgingly allowed me to play. Yes, I did get a free round walking, but the dude was totally dismissive and acted like I was a freeloader. Played poorly, but I guess I got my $69 worth for 9 holes...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Shalimar CC Management on 11/06/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us and recommending the course!


Jssheedy's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/27/2017
First time playing Hot weather

Reviewed on

Course in terrible conditions, All fairway grass was too long and unkept. Greens were like putting on a second cut. Terrible course conditions and layout. There is also Soccer golfers and a bunch of flags everywhere. Confusing and distracting. Far to expensive for what it is.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shalimar Country Club on 09/12/2017:

Hello Jeffrey, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Shalimar Country Club, in the Phoenix area. We are sorry to hear that you had a subpar experience with our course conditions when you last played. But, we are happy to see that you enjoyed the pace of play during your round. Thank you for playing with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.

"Neighborhood Course"


Miki8136561's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love playing here. Easy to find good deals and it doesn't take forever. Staff is friendly, not uptight. I like that it is an older neighborhood course...I never feel like have to hurry.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course



Trent3746463's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"abandoned"


u498478879's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

worsh that ever, the field is terrible in conservation, no wather at traps...... Very bad experience.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Course was in bad condition"


u6314349's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are tiny. Fairways were terrible. Where there was grass it was taller than my ball.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



mikepeel's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Value course"


u000007757122's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Not the shiniest penny in your purse, but it still spends. Great staff, great price, but the club house and the course look like it hasn't been touched since the course opened. The course was pretty tight, houses all around, and it was very dry and patchy-at-best with its grass.

Recommend if looking for a cheap round to swing the clubs. Not recommended if you're looking for the ultinate golf experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Value of Play"


ironhorse11's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

This is a great little course with good value for the price of $12.00.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Shalimar CC Management on 11/06/2017:

We're happy to hear you found good value at #ShalimarCC. Thank you for golfing with us!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed