Azalea Sands Golf Course

3.0123588235 3.0 stars from 5 (194)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6902 yards
  • Slope: 123
  • Rating: 72.5
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 2100 Hwy 17 S, North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina 29582, Horry County
  • (843) 272-6191
  • www.azaleasandsgc.com

Year built: 1972
Architect(s): Gene Hamm
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda
Fairways: Bermuda
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6902 yards 72.5 123
White 72 6287 yards 69.5 116
Gold 72 5958 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 72 5148 yards 70.2 119

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.1 stars from 5
Value: 3.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 194 Reviews
5 stars:
13
4 stars:
53
3 stars:
68
2 stars:
27
1 stars:
33

recommend this course

120 out of 194 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions near the airport   Great for beginners seniors walkers   Challenges include bunkers water hazards thick rough   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Garry7598973's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 10/19/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Azalea Sands Golf Club. We are very sorry to hear that you may not have enjoyed your round with us and any feedback is greatly appreciated on how we can improve your next round. Thank you for choosing to play our course in the Myrtle Beach area, and we hope to see you again soon.


Krgreen951's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

By far the worst course we have played on in Myrtle Beach. Was very disappointed on the course conditation.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 10/16/2017:

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your round with us and appreciate the feedback so we can make the best possible improvements. Thank you for playing with us and we hope to earn your business back again soon.



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 10/16/2017:

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Azalea Sands Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to see that the course layout and conditions might not have been at their best that day, however we do hope that the great pace of play and friendly staff were able to make your round more enjoyable. Thank you for recommending our course in the Murrells Inlet, SC area and we hope to see you back with us again soon!

"Good all around course"


Clif1783513's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/07/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This course is underrated, all around good course with just enough shot making challenges


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great value"


u000003783952's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/05/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

This course was good for what you pay. Fairways great shape. Tee boxes good shape. Greens good. Pace of play excellent under 4 hours for a round is awesome. Would like to see some water to drink on course but all in all great


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"needs attention"


Cheech54's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

I'm from Canada and maybe spoiled when it comes to golf courses. I've played 2 courses so far and both require some serious money injection. if it wasn't for golf now's Hot Deal prices, I would not have spent money to play these courses. The greens were long and weed infused - putting was very difficult, also if it wasn't for the gentlemen I was playing with, pointing out the blind hazards, I would have lost a lot of balls in the water. I will look for course above $30 and hope for the best!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 10/06/2017:

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Azalea Sands Golf Club. We apologize for the greens being in sub par shape and appreciate the feedback so we can make the best improvements. Thank you for playing with us and we hope to earn your business back soon!


harry2014's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is nice however it was a slow pace maybe over booked.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Average course"


Band74's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in fair condition. Fairways were in good shape but the greens looked like they had been aerated in the recent past but had not been sanded. I thought the play was slow with waiting nearly on every hole. We booked this under the hot deal and for the price was a good deal. If I had paid more I would have been upset.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 10/06/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Azalea Sands Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that the greens may have been in poor conditions when you played, but we are glad that the fairways were in good shape. We are also sorry to hear that you may not have had a smooth round, and your feedback is appreciated. Thank you for recommending our golf course, in the Myrtle Beach area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"This is a great course with just enough challenges to keep your round interesting"


1ironmic's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/27/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I enjoyed my round here. The fairways were smooth and greens we receptive. The pace of play was a little slow, but; overall this is a nice course to play.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Tom217's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000002090409's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Average course, good layout. First 2 holes not in great shape. Scorecard was a photo copy.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 09/28/2017:

Hello, thank you for giving our course, Azalea Sands Golf Club, in the Murrells Inlet area, a three-star review. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience at our course specifically in regards to our course layout and our staff friendliness. We appreciate your feedback, and we'll see you again soon.

"Can Be Better"


u5400882's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Course was fair but lost a few ball just off the fairway in the thick grass, an average course.No water on the course,no cart for refreshments and one ball washer.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 09/27/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Azalea Sands Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that parts of the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Your feedback is appreciated especially when it comes to there being no water or refreshments on the course. Thank you for choosing our golf course, in the Myrtle Beach area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Dan2919331's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 09/25/2017:

Hello Dan, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Azalea Sands Golf Club, in the Murrells Inlet area. We are sorry to see that our course conditions were not in the best shape when you last played. But, we are happy to see that you had a smooth round in regards to the pace of play. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.


HZwambag's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 10/13/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our golf course, Azalea Sands Golf Club, in the Myrtle Beach area. It looks like you may have had an all-around poor customer experience with us, so we apologize. We would like to hear any additional feedback about your round so that we know where improvements can be made to improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to earn your business again soon.

"Decent, but not great"


jimpetroskey's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Man at the counter let me out early to avoid the bad looming weather. Thanks! The course was slightly weton several holes, but not too bad. Greens were a little sparse and the traps were

not very good. Fairways and tee boxes were decent.

If you are looking to play an inexpensive course that is not overly tough, come here.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 09/18/2017:

Hello Jim, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Azalea Sands Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that the greens and the traps may not have been in the best shape when you played, but are glad to see that you enjoyed your round. It also looks like you had a smooth round and we hope that you were able to beat the weather. Thank you for recommending our golf course, in the Myrtle Beach area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Bare bones"


Bball12's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good if you are new to game - or teaching kids or don't want to pay a lot of money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 09/13/2017:

Hello Athena, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Azalea Sands Golf Club, in the Myrtle Beach area. We are sorry to hear that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and a smooth round, so we hope that made your round a little better. We are always welcoming any golfers, whether they are new to the game or have played it for years, and we hope our course is enjoyable for everyone. Thank you for playing with us and we hope to see you again soon.



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Hammer46's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/30/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u9331821's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played here while on vacation. I loved the layout and the everything about it. The fairways were somewhat wet l. But they had just gotten 4"of rain so it's understandable. We had a great time and would love to come back sometime


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Disappointed"


Robert9185666's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had played before. The course was in rough shape and. There was a six some in front of me


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Azalea Sands Golf Club on 08/22/2017:

Hello Robert, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Azalea Sands Golf Club, in the Myrtle Beach area. We are sorry to hear that our course was in bad shape when you played and that it was not a smooth round. However, we are happy to see that you found our staff friendly. Thank you for playing with us, and we hope to earn your business again in the future.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed