Hill Country Golf Club - The Lakes Course

4.4150117647 4.4 stars from 5 (267)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 36
  • Length: 3502 yards
  • Slope: 138
  • Rating: 37.0
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 36 3502 yards 37.0 138
Blue 36 3242 yards 35.8 135
White 36 2926 yards 37.3 134
Red (W) 36 2446 yards 34.4 119

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 267 Reviews
5 stars:
141
4 stars:
96
3 stars:
21
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

243 out of 265 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort convenient to the city near local attractions   Great for a weekend splurge advanced golfers entertaining clients   Challenges include bunkers narrow fairways water hazards   Great for drinks brunch watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"In Great Condition for This Time of Year!"


kmccullar's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape, greens are quite fast and a little bumpy! But great round of golf overall, fairways are plush!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hot but challenging"


PingSwing's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played the Creeks course and enjoyed it. It was HOT that day do not a lot of folks out there. The course was challenging yet not too long. Things changed on the Oaks course. It seemed tighter and more challenging. Our scores ballooned so was it the course or because we had begun to melt out there?

The fairways were good. The greens are not that good but they held when hit. Just not slick and smooth like other finer courses. It is late Summer so the conditions are on the dry side.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/07/2017:

Thank you for the review. We are so glad you did not melt on the course today as we know it has been extremely hot out. We appreciate your patience as the greens are transitioning into the cooler fall months and hopefully after the recent aeration they will be back to normal. Thanks for coming out and we hope to see you again soon.


petemartinez's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/07/2017:

Thank you for the 4-star review. We hope you enjoyed your day with us!

"Still a great course"


u000007734772's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Caught a good deal on GOLF NOW Booked it and had a great time. Wish we could have slipped in the LAZY RIVER NEXT DOOR. IT WAS HOT.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/07/2017:

Thank you for the review! We appreciate you coming out in the heat of the day, we know it has been extremely hot out this summer! Make sure to stoke up on water and come back and give us another try.

"Hidden Gem in the Hill Country"


mitchkaarlela's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course in the hill country west of San Antonio near Sea World. I have played all 3 nine hole layouts and like them all. The GolfNow coupon was an added bonus.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/01/2017:

Thank you for the review, we appreciate the great feedback and are glad you received such a good deal. Please come back and see us again in the near future.


Lucio4924129's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/01/2017:

Thank you for the 5 star review! We really appreciate it.


u044466530's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/01/2017:

Thank you for the honest review, we appreciate the feedback and hope that you will give us another try in the near future so that we can increase your 3 star review into 5 stars.

"One of the best courses in San Antonio,Tx"


mariopatron's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Great course to play on , has three courses to choose from. The course is immaculate and the staff are very courteous. I enjoy playing there whenever I can, took a friend there that has never played there before and he was very impressed with the golf course, so impressed that we are playing there again this week.


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/01/2017:

Thank you for the awesome review! We appreciate the kind words regarding the condition of the course, can't wait to have you back with us again this weekend!

"Short and tight"


dunmired's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course in an excellent location. Extremely scenic and the pace of play was unbelievable. It often felt like I had the course to myself.

The course is short and tight . If you can consistently hit a 3 iron off the tee this is what I would recommend. Put away the driver


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/01/2017:

Thanks for the awesome review. The tee shot is key when playing here. We appreciate the 5 star review and hope to see you again this weekend.

"Great Course"


vinsontigers's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Brought a visitor from FL on this day and was truly impressed with layout and overall day on the course. Seen beverage cart about every 4 holes which was awesome. The only disappointment we had is the back 9 had been sanded. With 27 holes of availability just wish we could have played on better 9.

Highly recommend playing this great course.


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/07/2017:

Thank you for the review. We appreciate you and your friend coming out and giving us a try! We apologize for the inconvenience as it is that time of year where we have to aerify all of our greens. Thank you for coming out and we hope to see you again soon.


u8549447's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/01/2017:

Thank you for the 5 star review. We appreciate the great feedback and hope to see you again soon.

"Great Course"


Preston9070516's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

No complaints about this course; great condition, great views, great challenges, great value for the cost, great clubhouse/food, great golf carts included with GPS. Will definitely be back multiple times in the future.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/01/2017:

Thank you for the excellent review. It sounds like you had a wonderful time today, we appreciate the great compliments regarding our staff, course, and restaurant. Can't wait to see you again in the near future.

"Very well planned course"


Leonard2454's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is very deceptive, from the tee it looks like you have a very narrow fairway, but after your drive the fairways open up to reveal a very fun and well kept course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/07/2017:

Thank you for the review! We are glad the narrow fairways didn't scare you away. We appreciate you coming out and we hope to see you again soon.

"Last minute holiday tee time"


u000003594702's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

So it was week of the 4th and my and kids all had to work so I was free. I decided to book a tee time and the am round starting before 8am was a great deal at $63. I played Creeks and Oaks. The recent aeration did make the greens a little bumpy but the course was in great shape. Round went quick as we played as I was grouped with a twosome and another single. Staff were great and answered every question I had. I enjoyed it so much I came back 3 days later and played Creeks and Lakes for $40 with a early am tee time with a buddy.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/01/2017:

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad you were able to get such a great deal around the holiday weekend. We appreciate the great review and hope to see you again soon.

"Greens poor"


Jerry6035310's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/02/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unfortunately the greens had just been aerated. Could have waited until after July 4th holiday


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/01/2017:

Thank you for the honest feedback, we appreciate the advice and we will take a look into moving the aerification dates next year. Thank you.


jkbump's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 06/12/2017:

Thank you for the 5 star review!!!!

"Great Course"


u735316013's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played on a Friday morning, 9 on cedar and 9 on oaks. Tee boxes, fairways in great shape. Greens on cedar still filling out, only negative. Great, challenging course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 06/12/2017:

Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your day with us. The Cedar / Oaks is definitely a challenging 18, but we are glad you were able to conquer it. Thanks again for the review. Please come back and see us again soon.


Golfpro1221's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course. Must play if you live in San Antonio or if you are traveling over the weekend!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 06/12/2017:

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are glad you enjoyed your round today!

"Mediocre."


wgarrettesi's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Not bad and not great! Greens and fairways can use work. Not a visually compelling course and did not care for the three nines layout. Played Lakes and Oaks nines. Pace of play was very slow and no marshals to keep golfers moving along. My wife and I would not play this course again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 06/12/2017:

We apologize about the pace of play on this particular day. We always strive for a 4 hour and 20 min round. We appreciate you making us aware of any slow play as we will take a closer look into the situation. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

"Resort GC Staff"


u391942735's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The GC itself is in great shape, but the usual resort course expected service was lacking. No one at the Bag Drop Area, Water Bottles upon purchase..... it's not what I am use to. BUT the Restaurant, Locker & Shower facility were at par with Private Club ratings. Overall I would play again. 4⭐️


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 06/12/2017:

Thanks for the review. We appreciate you making us aware of a few issues at the course today, but we are glad we made up with it with our other facilities. Thanks again for the 4 star review, we can't wait to have you back!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed