ChampionsGate - International Golf Club

4.1134000000 4.1 stars from 5 (494)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7363 yards
  • Slope: 143
  • Rating: 76.8
  • Layout

  • 1400 Masters Blvd., ChampionsGate, Orlando, Florida 33896, Orange County
  • (888) 558-9301, (407) 787-4653
  • (407) 787-4650
  • www.championsgategolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 2000
Architect(s): Greg Norman (2000)
Type: Semi-Private/Resort
Style: Links
Greens: Floradwarf/Poatrivialus
Fairways: GN1 Bermuda
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Leadbetter Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Shirts with collars and sleeves; slacks or Bermuda shorts are considered appropriate attire. No tank tops, tee shirts, fishnet tops, cut-offs, sweat pants, warm up suits, blue jeans or denim shorts, tennis shorts, short shorts, or other athletic shorts
Credit cards accepted: Amex MasterCard Visa Discover card(s) Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7363 yards 76.8 143
Blue 72 6792 yards 74.1 137
White 72 6239 yards 71.5 132
White (W) 72 6239 yards 75.7 134
Gold 72 5618 yards 68.0 117
Gold (W) 72 5618 yards 71.6 118

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 494 Reviews
5 stars:
198
4 stars:
200
3 stars:
63
2 stars:
20
1 stars:
13

recommend this course

419 out of 489 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort near local attractions worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers a weekend splurge playing multiple courses   Challenges include bunkers water hazards forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views dinner  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender


5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/25/2017:

Outstanding! Glad you enjoyed your experience at ChampionsGate!

"Spiked greens"


fsandrin's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unfortunately didn't play on course as the greens and fairways were spiked, they moved us over to national


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/19/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you were not able to play the International course. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back again in the future!


u645592606's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Incredibly friendly staff.Only one complaint no ice bucket on golf cart .

Highly recommend this course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/16/2017:

Awesome! We're glad that you enjoyed the customer service our staff provided and we appreciate your feedback on our carts. We look forward to having you back soon!


u645592606's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unfortunately we where told on

Arrival that we where now playing the National instead of the international even though we only booked the previous evening

Steve H


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/11/2017:

Thanks for your review! We apologize that you were not able to play our International course. We're glad that you enjoyed your round on our National course. We hope to have you back again so you can play International!

"Fine Early Morning Round"


22ozziedog's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Given the drought conditions experienced in Florida, I thought the course was in pretty good shape. Played the course in January for 1st time and came back due to the layout. Tee boxes and fairways really nice and manicured. Greens are still new and with lack of rain are somewhat hard, so plan for some roll.

Check in and starter etc. all top notch.

I've enjoyed playing the course both times


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/16/2017:

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed your course despite the lack of rain we have had. We're pleased that our course conditions met your expectations and that our staff left a great impression on you. We're glad you've enjoyed both of your times with us here and we hope to have you back soon!

"Great condition"


U000006316853's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I got a great rate on Golfnow so I took a chance and I'm glad I did, the course was in great shape and I would play it again in a heartbeat


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/16/2017:

Excellent! We're glad that you got a great rate for our course and that our conditions met your expectations. Hope to have you back soon!

"Championsgate-international"


u00000331580's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tee time reflected at course 40 minutes later than on line booking. Start delayed due to tournament. Starter needs lesson in etiquette .


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/08/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not fully enjoy your round with us. We're sorry that your tee time was delayed and that our customer service did not meet your expectations. We appreciate all of your feedback and will use your review to help us improve. We hope you will give us another try in the future!


u626882547's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/08/2017:

Awesome! Come back soon!

"Great course"


paulnunes's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The whole course was excellent and the people wonderful what more can I say


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/04/2017:

Awesome! We're glad that you enjoyed our course as well as out staff. We can't wait to have you back again soon!

"Great course, even better people."


u648573551's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Every single person we worked with was great, start to finish.

Played the National course bc we were told we might enjoy it more, we had a great time. International is a tough links style course and we play in the 90's, so probably good we didn't start there, would like to try though, looks like it's in great shape too.

Course was in great shape, and the restaurant/bar food & staff are great too.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/02/2017:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your round at ChampionsGate. We're glad that our staff left a great impression on you and that you found our course in great condition. You should definitely come back and try out our International course. Hope to have you back soon!


u000004732172's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/02/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We would love the opportunity to discuss your issue in greater detail over the phone. Please give us a call at 407-787-4653 and ask for Jonathan, Andy, or Patrick. Thank you again and we hope to hear from you soon!


jaydee20's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/02/2017:

Awesome! Glad you enjoyed your experience with us at ChampionsGate!

"Great Challenge"


bertuzz2004's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love this track, first time playing it since they renewed the greens, they rolled great but did not hold very well, which is understanding.... Entire course was in fantastic condition considering how dry the area has been over the past few months. Ready to challenge yourself??? Play this course!! Will be back in November, can't wait!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/02/2017:

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We're pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated greens and that you found our course in good condition. We can't wait to have you back in November for another great day of golf!

"Good round"


stephsguy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We we're supposed to play the International course but due to tournament going on, we opted to play the National course. I wish I had known there was a tournament scheduled as I could have arranged my schedule to play a different day. We had played International in the past but never the National. My preference is International but to get a timely round in, I was pleased to be offered the National course. Overall good round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 04/27/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you were not able to play the International, but we're glad that you enjoyed your round on the National course. We look forward to having you back for another good round soon!

"The future is bright."


u000007130896's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I liked it. Wife thought to much construction hurt aesthetics. Will improve quickly with time I think. Couple holes a problem for short hitting seniors. Mostly pretty open an playable.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 04/25/2017:

Awesome! We're glad that you enjoyed your round at ChampionsGate. We're sorry that your wife was disappointed with the construction, but it will improve in time. We hope to have you both back in the future!

"New Greens not matured yet Hard as rock"


KevinWaugh99's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course many times in the past and have always enjoyed it. It is a great layout. The issue this time came down to one major disappointment, they just put in new greens and they are hard as rock which you will not find in any marketing description for the course. We were greeted by the starter who told us straight out that the greens will not hold and that the collars are like Velcro meaning if you try to bounce one in to try and hit the collar to deaden it you are out of luck, it stays on the collar. I will give them marks for their honesty but if I would have never booked to play there if I had known that. I am a 4 hdcp and have some game. I can't imagine a mid or high handicap player garnering any enjoyment until these greens mature. With all of the great golf options available in Orlando I would pass on this course until 2018.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 04/25/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your round with us. We'r sorry that you did not enjoy our new greens and that you were not made aware of them before booking your round. We sent out emails, social posts, and even videos on Facebook promoting the new greens and the renovations. As they mature they will soften over time. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another try in the future!

Commented on 04/30/2017

I absolutely will give the course another opportunity when I return in 2018. I like the course design and it is a first class facility. I booked my round on Golf Now and I did not see any of your communication attempts mentioned on there. Happy to give the course another play. Thank you for the reply to my review.


"First Class"


Frank5111291's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great experience playing this course which was in very good condition given the current drought in Central Florida with many local courses clearly suffering in this regard

Pace of play was good ... golf shop staff not over friendly but Bar staff post round were really efficient and even remembered my drink order from 3 days previous ... due to play again Monday !!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 04/25/2017:

Fantastic! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course conditions and that the pace of play was good. We're pleased that our bar staff left a great impression on you and we look forward to having you back!


mrpotts33's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 04/20/2017:

Fantastic! We're honored that you consider us on of the best courses in Orlando. We can't wait to have you back soon!

"Good course"


ydumon's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Like the course. FAIRWAYS in great shape. Good lay out. Greens in better condition then other courses played in area

Had a good price with golfnow. Would not play this course at full price


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 05/04/2017:

Fantastic! We're glad that you enjoyed our course conditions and that you received a good rate as well. Hope to have you back soon!

"Great course"


u000005198531's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great condition even in this dry spell. Hope to play here again soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 04/20/2017:

Outstanding! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us as well as our course conditions. Can't wait to have you back soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed