ChampionsGate - International Golf Club

4.1258000000 4.1 stars from 5 (461)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7363 yards
  • Slope: 143
  • Rating: 76.8
  • Layout

  • 1400 Masters Blvd., ChampionsGate, Orlando, Florida 33896, Orange County
  • (888) 558-9301, (407) 787-4653
  • (407) 787-4650
  • www.championsgategolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 2000
Architect(s): Greg Norman (2000)
Type: Semi-Private/Resort
Style: Links
Greens: Floradwarf/Poatrivialus
Fairways: GN1 Bermuda
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Leadbetter Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Shirts with collars and sleeves; slacks or Bermuda shorts are considered appropriate attire. No tank tops, tee shirts, fishnet tops, cut-offs, sweat pants, warm up suits, blue jeans or denim shorts, tennis shorts, short shorts, or other athletic shorts
Credit cards accepted: Amex MasterCard Visa Discover card(s) Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7363 yards 76.8 143
Blue 72 6792 yards 74.1 137
White 72 6239 yards 71.5 132
White (W) 72 6239 yards 75.7 134
Gold 72 5618 yards 68.0 117
Gold (W) 72 5618 yards 71.6 118

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 3.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 461 Reviews
5 stars:
188
4 stars:
184
3 stars:
59
2 stars:
19
1 stars:
11

recommend this course

391 out of 456 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort near local attractions worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers a weekend splurge playing multiple courses   Challenges include bunkers water hazards forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views dinner  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

bodmintel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"New Greens"


u000002049855's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Awesome with the new greens put in last summer. firm, fast and true...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/29/2017:

Great! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your round with us at ChampionsGate. We're pleased that you enjoyed our new greens and we hope to have you back for another round with us!

"Mr. Ed"


emilyv30's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

New greens and wind made it very difficult. Played at an afternoon discount rate. Ammenities and staff were great. Would play the course again because we enjoyed the design as a whole. But new greens need some aging not at all receptive.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/28/2017:

Awesome! We're glad that you enjoyed your time with us at ChampionsGate. We apologize that you did not enjoyed our greens and that the wind caused some difficulty. As you know, as the greens mature they will soften. We're glad that you enjoyed our course layout as well as our staff. Can't wait to have you back soon!

"Links style Norman course with lots of wind"


tbrown10632's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played mid morning on links style International Norman course with British Isle winds. Course was in good shape despite lack of rain in Florida. Tee boxes were in excellent shape; fairways were in good shape, hard and ball rolled out; greens rolled very true and moderately fast for putting but shots from fairway consistently rolled off greens despite good iron and approach shots. It was fun to play, pace was good and would recommend to others wishing to play a resort links course. Course staff were excellent and pleasant. Overall, very good experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/27/2017:

Awesome! We're glad that you enjoyed your round with us at ChampionsGate. We're pleased that you enjoyed our course conditions and that the pace of play was good. We're happy that our staff left a great impression on you as well. Can't wait to have you back soon!


u962652975's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/27/2017:

Outstanding! Come back soon!

"Needs water"


jwschampion54's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens are terrible. Need watered. They never hold. Prefer The National Course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/24/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your round with us. We're sorry that our greens and course conditions did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your review and we hope you will give us another in the future!

"Over Priced for the condition"


andysimpsonref's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

The course is over rated in my opinion with the fairways being in rough condition. Not much grass to hit off of and the traps we terrible. It was like hitting out of clay and nothing raked. This was a 40.00 course at best. I'm not saying I wouldn't play it again but at the price I feel it was not a good deal at all. Very over rated golf course unfortunately!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/23/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not fully enjoyed your round with us. We're sorry that our course conditions were not up to your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future!


railgolf's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/23/2017:

Awesome! Glad you enjoyed your time with us at ChampionsGate!

"Cracking course"


Kplfishtank's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed this course. Played before a while back and got rained off so wanted to come back. Wasn't disappointed

Some lovely looking holes


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/27/2017:

Fantastic! We're glad that you made it back and that you enjoyed your time with us. Can't wait to have you back again soon!

"Greens very hard"


jjfraf's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Green rolled good but any shot on to the green would roll because the greens are very hard. Additionally, the greens are very hard and every green hit you ended up in a collection area or trap. Moreover, the GPS in the cart was off on approach shots by as much as 25 yards. This made it very hard to get the right distance. The pin placement was never in sync with the cart and green. I would never come back and play this course.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/20/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not fully enjoy your round with us. Our greens are very new so as they mature they will soften. We appreciate your feedback on our GPS and will make sure to look into this matter. Again, we apologize that you did not enjoy your round with us and we hope you will give us another try in the future!

"Horrendous"


scnf17's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

The greens were new and so hard, I hit shots that landed on the front of the green that rolled 10 yards off the back. The cart gps was off by 10-15 yards each hole. The fairways were burnt out. The soccer field across from the course had nicer grass on it than the greens! I have never played a course in such worse shape. Please save yourself some money and time and go elsewhere!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/20/2017:

Thank you for your review! We're sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. We apologize that you did not find the fairways in the condition you prefer. Our International greens are very new so as they mature they will soften.We would be happy to discuss in greater detail the reason for the renovation and agronomic practices for the new greens. Please give us a call at 407-787-4653 and ask for Jonathan, Andy, or Patrick. Thank you again for your review!

"Fairways Need Water"


bz6wt6's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed Champions Gate International for the second time. Green were true and FAST. Tees were in very good shape as were the sand traps of which this links course has many. But the fairways are getting quite crispy as the area has not had any rain to speak of. It's a problem.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/22/2017:

Awesome! We're glad that you enjoyed your round with us. We apologize that our fairways did not meet your expectation. We appreciate your feedback on this and will use your review to improve. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

"Great"


machucal40's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Awesome course. With exceptional challanges.

Greens are in great shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/20/2017:

Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed your round at ChampionsGate. We hope to have you back soon!

"Challenging round at ChampionsGate"


uwp1974's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Our group played ChampionsGate for the first time recently. Golf personnel were great. The course was in generally good condition, although the greens were extremely hard. It was difficult to hold your approach shots.

The layout is challenging and enjoyable. I'd like to return.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/20/2017:

Wonderful! We're glad that you enjoyed our course conditions as well as the challenge our course presented. We're also pleased that our staff left a great impression on you. We apologize that you did not enjoy our greens. They are new and as they mature they will soften. We appreciate all of your feedback and hope to see you again soon!


djtheglassman's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

All around good value. Great staff and course condition.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/15/2017:

Awesome! We're glad that you enjoyed our course conditions as well as the customer service that our staff provided. Can't wait to have you back!

"Amazing Golf Course"


LW11g's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

This course is very special with a consistent number of well designed holes many with amazing backdrops to view from the tee. The course also flows nicely and has a nice variety of types of holes. Greens are still a little hard as I understand they were renovated recently. This did seem to take away from the round enjoyment. International is one of those you gotta play courses in the Orlando area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/15/2017:

Outstanding! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us at ChampionsGate. We're glad that you enjoyed the variety of holes we have, but we apologize if the greens took too much joy out of your round. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have you back soon!

"Good test of gollf skills"


alderts's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good condition and enjoyable to play. I was disappointed and surprised that additional taxes were charged at the course to where the final cost was about 7% higher than what GolfNow had communicated would be due at the course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/08/2017:

Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed your round with us at ChampionsGate. We apologize for the confusion with the final cost of of your round. We will make sure to work with GolfNow to rectify this issue. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have you back soon!

"Not Worth The Money - Poor Course conditions - Course Is not watering the fairways and Greens"


uBNUY1437BN's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/06/2017
Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Very poor conditions and fairways are dry and not being watered. For what they charge they need to put money into the course. bragging that the greens are new and very fast is totally inappropriate.Tell golfers the truth - Owners are not investing in watering the fairways. There is much better value for the money courses in the Kissimmee area that are 50% of the price!!!!!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/08/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that our course conditions did not meet your expectations. We can assure you that our fairways are being watered. Our maintenance staff works extremely hard to maintain our course. Our greens are new and a bit fast. We apologize if you felt we were bragging, but we want to make sure all of our guests know what to expect when visiting us. The greens are a little fast right now, but as the greens mature they will soften and in turn slow down.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you back in the future. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please give us a call at 407-787-4653 and ask for Jonathan, Andy, or Patrick. Thank you again for your review!

"5-Star Florida Links"


JayTrav's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a very nice facility. Clubhouse with country club caliber pro shop, bar, grill room, and lockers. Staff was strong, too. Course was a Florida links, really tough in the wind from the regular tees but would've been very fair in calmer weather. The other course here is traditional. Leave a little extra time when you arrive because the range and 1st tee are a 5 minute cart ride from the clubhouse.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/17/2017:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your round at ChampionsGate. We're pleased that you enjoyed the customer service our staff provided as well as the amenities we have. We're sorry that the wind interfered with your round. We hope to see you back on a much calmer day!

"Save your time and money"


KBDuffer's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The pro shop staff was rude to my wife. The ground staff were great and friendly. The course itself was hard as concrete making me think they don't water it regularly. Greens wouldn't hold any shots at all. I would avoid this course and go to one better maintained.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 03/08/2017:

Thank you for your review! We deeply apologize that our pro shop didn't provide your wife with the customer service that we strive for and that our course conditions did not meet your expectations. We will make sure to address this issue with our pro shop immediately. We can assure you that our fairways are being watered. Our maintenance staff works extremely hard to maintain our course and we are glad that you found them to be great and friendly. Our greens are new and a little fast right now, but as the greens mature they will soften.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you back in the future. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please give us a call at 407-787-4653 and ask for Jonathan, Andy, or Patrick. Thank you again for your review!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed