ChampionsGate - International Golf Club

4.1551000000 4.2 stars from 5 (432)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7363 yards
  • Slope: 143
  • Rating: 76.8
  • Layout

  • 1400 Masters Blvd., ChampionsGate, Orlando, Florida 33896, Orange County
  • (888) 558-9301, (407) 787-4653
  • (407) 787-4650
  • www.championsgategolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 2000
Architect(s): Greg Norman (2000)
Type: Semi-Private/Resort
Style: Links
Greens: Floradwarf/Poatrivialus
Fairways: GN1 Bermuda
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Leadbetter Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Shirts with collars and sleeves; slacks or Bermuda shorts are considered appropriate attire. No tank tops, tee shirts, fishnet tops, cut-offs, sweat pants, warm up suits, blue jeans or denim shorts, tennis shorts, short shorts, or other athletic shorts
Credit cards accepted: Amex MasterCard Visa Discover card(s) Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7363 yards 76.8 143
Blue 72 6792 yards 74.1 137
White 72 6239 yards 71.5 132
White (W) 72 6239 yards 75.7 134
Gold 72 5618 yards 68.0 117
Gold (W) 72 5618 yards 71.6 118

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 432 Reviews
5 stars:
180
4 stars:
172
3 stars:
56
2 stars:
15
1 stars:
9

recommend this course

369 out of 427 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort near local attractions worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers a weekend splurge playing multiple courses   Challenges include bunkers water hazards forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views dinner  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Marc3474931's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"New greens!"


Jiraporn7874199's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course having new greens but so many areas still need to be maintained including fairways. A little disappointed that this time of the year other courses fairways are perfectly green for the price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/17/2017:

Thanks for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your round with us but we apologize that you did not enjoy our course conditions. Our maintenance staff is consistently working on keeping our conditions up. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back again in the future!

"Some difficulty but fun."


Patfische1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good shape, scenic layout. We got a good price on line. Watch out for the cost of beer and drinks from beverage cart! Would play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/17/2017:

Excellent! We're glad that you enjoyed our course conditions and layout. We're also pleased that you got a great rate. Can't wait to have you back soon!

"Great course"


twade1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This is a great layout and is in wonderful condition. The greens are brand new and rollong around 10.5. We didn't wait on any shots. The greens had chemical pellets on them (again...just bad luck). All amenities offered... $6 per beer is steep. Great experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/15/2017:

Fantastic! We're thrilled that you had such a great experience with us at ChampionsGate. We're glad that you enjoyed the challenge of our layout as well as our course conditions. Can't wait to have you back for another great day of golf!

"The International is not what it used to be"


pwhennessy's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/13/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I last played this course about 5 years ago and then I would have given it at least a 4 star rating...but not now. The tee boxes are in excellent shape. It's plain to see why. They are weed free and brilliantly green. Maintainance $ were spent here. The greens are new. Placed last October. They look nice and roll smooth but are so hard they don't hold shots. You can come in with a sand wedge, land on the front of the green and roll right off the back. The nicest thing I can say about the fairways is that they won't be playing summer rules here anytime soon. It all comes down to maintainance dollats.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/15/2017:

Thank you for your review! We appreciate all feedback from our guests. We apologize that you did not find the fairway’s in the condition that you prefer or have experienced here in the past. New greens usually take 1 to 2 full years to return to a normal level of firmness.

We would be happy to discuss in greater detail the reasons for the renovation, the decisions not to over seed, and/or agronomic practices for new greens. Please give us a call at 407-787-4653 and ask for Jonathan, Andy, or Patrick. Thank you again for your review!

"Poor course conditions"


uKTMV4425KT's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Have played this course multiple times and has always been average. But since they replaced greens and closed for a few monthes with less play i figured I would give another chance. Its the worse ive seen, which is odd because national course is quite nice.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/13/2017:

Thanks for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoyed your experience on our International course. We appreciate your feedback and we would love the opportunity to discuss your experience in greater detail. Please give us a call at 407-787-4653 and ask for Jonathan, Andy, or Patrick. Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you!

"Great Value"


lenwise's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Met my Waterloo here ,The kind of course that will beat you up this first couple of times but still enjoyed the day .Will be back for more


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/13/2017:

Awesome! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your first time with us at ChampionsGate. We're pleased that you enjoyed the challenge our course presented and we can't wait to have you back again soon. Hopefully, next time you'll get a few punches in! ;)


pwenger52's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pace of play way too slow. Too many people on course- need ranger to keep people moving. Paid way too much to sit in cart .


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/13/2017:

Thanks for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your round with us. We understand how important pace of play is and we strive to make sure everyone is playing at a good speed.

We appreciate your feedback and we would love the opportunity to discuss your experience in greater detail. Please give us a call at 407-787-4653 and ask for Jonathan, Andy, or Patrick. Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you!

"Very nice Golf Club"


JBright1955's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the International Course

Course in great shape.

One of the more difficult courses we have played


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/10/2017:

Awesome! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our conditions as well as the challenge our course presented. We hope to see you again soon for another round at ChampionsGate!

"Not Playable for the average golfer"


richardsgarzi's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Based upon my experience of 55 years as an avid golfer and playing over 500 course around the world, I would rate this course as close to unplayable for the average golfer. Especially females and red tee players.

I played from the white tees, and in one case, after hitting my best drive was left with a 258 yard shot to an elivated green with a bunker in front, and a water carry over a lake.

.My wife had a par 3 with a 168 carry over a pond. Thus not much fun for us playing such a course.

I cannot believe anyone would ever design such a golf course. I love Greg Norman as a played but can not say the same for his course design.

I believe a golf course should be playable for everyone that plays from their proper tees. That is not the case at ChampionsGate International.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/10/2017:

Thank you for your feedback! We understand that the International course is one of the more difficult courses in the area, especially when the wind starts to kick up. We do strive to make it playable for players of all skill levels and abilities in order for everyone to have an enjoyable experience.

We do hope that you come back and give us another try. Hopefully the course will play a little easier now that you have seen it once before Thank you again for your review!


Ryonrealestate's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/10/2017:

Fantastic! Glad you enjoyed your round with us. Hope to have you back soon!


purelove42's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/10/2017:

Thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback and we would love the opportunity to discuss your experience in greater detail. Please give us a call at 407-787-4653 and ask for Jonathan, Andy, or Patrick. Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you!

"Excellent"


Karenano's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Everything was excellent. Really liked the practice area. Hitting quality range balls off turf at the practice area was included. Course was in great condition. Starter set a great pace.

Champions Gate is a reliable pleasant round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/07/2017:

Thanks so much for your feedback! We're thrilled that you had such a great experience with us. We look forward to having you back again soon!

"Great first experience"


GramleyGap's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played the International course and the fairways were terrific and the greens were really fast but smooth. The greens will be terrific when they get soft enough to hold the balls on approach shots. Nice variety of par 3's on this course. Risk/reward par 4 allowed me to drive my first par 4 ever playing from the white tees. Enjoyed this course much more than several others in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/07/2017:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that you had a great first time playing with us at ChampionsGate. We're glad that you enjoyed our newly rejuvenated International course and we appreciate your feedback. We can't wait to have you back soon for another round!

"The course should be in better conditions"


CAMIONETADODGE2012's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It is a very challenging course, but I think it need more care because there are some greens in not good conditions


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/07/2017:

Thanks for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed the challenge our course presented, but we're sorry that you did not enjoy our conditions. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure to address this issue. Thanks again and we hope to have you back in the future!

"Nice Carts!"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very friendly and helpful staff right from the time you drop your bags all the way through. Excellent GPS on the carts. The greens were new but in excellent condition and rolled true. Enjoyed the round here very much, very good value for the money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/07/2017:

Awesome! We're extremely pleased that you enjoyed experience with us. We strive to make sure our guests have a great time, so we appreciate your kind words about our staff. We're glad that you found good value in our course and we look forward to having you back soon!

"Good course not great"


Mike6481927's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good shape. However pace of play was very poor. It took almost 5 hours to play. Got a great deal to play. Too good to miss.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/07/2017:

Thanks for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed our course, but we apologize that the pace was slow. We know how important it is to the game so we will make sure to address this issue. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you back soon!



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/07/2017:

Fantastic! Glad that you enjoyed your experience with us at ChampionsGate!

"Champions gate - International course"


Gary1725312's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were late teeing off due to a rain delay in the morning. We're told that the greens were new - and we had to bounce the ball up to the pin. Could not shoot for the pins. Correct advise - the greens were hard - and did not hold even a high incoming shot. And was kind of pricey for the course conditions.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 02/07/2017:

Thanks for your review! We're sorry that you did not fully enjoy your round with us at ChampionsGate. We want all of our guests to feel that they are getting great value at our course.

We would love to hear more about your experience. Please call us at 407-787-4653 and ask for Jonathan, Andy, or Patrick so we can further discuss. Thanks again and we look forward to hearing from you!

"Champions Gate"


Joe3929020's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great course. We played in high wind which added to the toughness. I would play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from ChampionsGate Golf Club on 01/30/2017:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that you had a great round with us even with the high wind. You must be a pro! We look forward to having you back again soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed