Crooked Cat at Orange County National

4.5333117647 4.5 stars from 5 (533)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7493 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 76.0
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 16301 Phil Ritson Way, Winter Garden, Florida 34787, Orange County
  • (888) 727-3672, (407) 656-2626
  • (407) 656-4045
  • www.ocngolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1998
Type: Public
Style: Links
Greens: Champions Bermuda Ultra Dwarf Turf Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No denim, collared shirt and bermuda shorts required
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Champ 72 7493 yards 76.0 139
Orange 72 6927 yards 73.7 132
Green 72 6432 yards 71.4 126
White 72 6020 yards 68.8 122
White (W) 72 6020 yards 74.5 133
Tan (W) 72 5122 yards 69.6 120

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 533 Reviews
5 stars:
344
4 stars:
147
3 stars:
28
2 stars:
9
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

501 out of 533 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers playing multiple courses   Challenges include bunkers forced carries undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Earl8359301's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



robb1's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is great fun to play. I played from white tees,plenty of length. If you choose the tips,better hit it straight & long. When I get back to orlando will certainly play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



amorone53217's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Classic Florida Golf"


jcoach21's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

From the time you arrive until the time that you leave you feel that you are in a special place. All the facilities are first class as is the course. No visit to the Orlando area is complete without a round on crooked cat.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/15/2017:

Thank you for recommending Crooked Cat! We look forward to seeing you again.

"Best Value for Money in Orlando"


StevieGG's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Amazing condition everywhere. Greens were the best we played all week and cannot rate this complex highly enough.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/15/2017:

We're happy to hear you found great value playing #CrookedCat!

"Lovely track but slow slow slow"


Saber2th's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They were just entering high season but we tees off 35 mins late due to over crowding and then could keep a 5 hour pace due to the back up. Ending up bailing on 15 due to darkness. Tee off before 1 I suggest to all. But what a lovely track. Highly recommend you play.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/15/2017:

Thank you for playing #CrookedCat and recommending the course!


Goslpad's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/09/2017:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat!

"Possibly as good as it gets!"


u907211102's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very helpful and friendly staff make this a special place to visit and it should be on everyone's itinerary if you're playing golf in Orlando.

The course was in a great condition, with the greens about as good as I've played on anywhere. The pace and roll on the greens was fantastic, but they also had subtlety about them.

There are a few holes that are a bit blind, so would recommend a course guide to make sure that you're hitting the right lines and distances.

Our 4 ball was completed in just under 4 hours with no pressure from behind or being held up in front. What a joy!

I can't recommend highly enough!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/09/2017:

We're happy to hear about excellent course conditions, good pace of play and friendly customer service. Thank you for the 5-star review!

"A 'destination' course in the Orlando area"


uXYBD8809XY's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

While I shouldn't call it a 'destination' course, as it will influence my ability to play often, I want to say that it is a wonderful course, with 5 sets of tee boxes for all levels of capability.

The PGA qualifier (I believe) is played there yearly, so that by itself will let you know the level this course is.

The course for early November was in perfect condition. The Tees, fairways, and greens were manicured perfectly. The greens rolled very true, and were in excellent shape, playing a speed of about 11 to 11+.

Would love to live close to this course, as the practice facility and driving range is nothing but first class all the way.

Definitely recommend this course, and specifically Orange County National Golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/09/2017:

Thank you for playing #OCN and sharing your 5-star experience! The recommendation of the course is greatly appreciated.

"Slow play great course"


baysball's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First need gps to find the course. It is a premier track just disappointed the noon on time was so slow, 5 hrs is too long to play. Beverage staff was great, did not see a ranger the entire 18 holes. Had a couple of holes with four groups on hole. Speeding up play would make the course much more enjoyable.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/09/2017:

Thank you for playing Crooked Cat and sharing your experience! Our staff monitors play to ensure a consistent pace during your round.We're sorry to hear about four groups on one hole. Next time, let the pro shop know and we will do everything we can to accommodate your round!


mtepedino's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/09/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us! We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course due to the pace of play.

"third time player"


irish8860's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout in pretty good shape. Lots of water post hurricanes. Friendly staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/15/2017:

Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation!


gwitter's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/07/2017:

Thank you for the 5-star review and recommendation!


roofer41's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/03/2017:

Thank you for the review and recommendation!

"Painfully slow"


barnet's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

5:10 round is never acceptable. Was told by starter that pace of play was 4:10. Called shop to send out ranger who eventually showed up. He indicated that there were 200 players and that's what happens. Apparently business as usual. Completely destroyed any enjoyment of the round


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/01/2017:

We're sorry to hear about the slow pace of play during your round. On a day with 200 players, it is the goal of our staff to especially accommodate everybody on the course to ensure an enjoyable round. We hope you can return to give us another try, perhaps on Panther Lake!

"Great course. It don't stay for lunch"


HoosierDaddy1966's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really enjoyed playing the course the greens were quick and. Halle hung. Staff were very accommodating g. My only complaint was the grill. Very poor food service. Food was cold and took 45 minutes for a simple burger and never got my fries. I would return to play the other course but wouldn't stay for lunch.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/01/2017:

We look forward to seeing you again for a round on Panther Lake! Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation.

"Great day at Crooked Cat"


u000008047871's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Thanks to the starter for taking 2 singles and allowing us to play as a 2 some instead of making us play with 2- 3 some's that did not want an unknown 4th added to their groups. Day started out cold but the course was in fantastic shape even with the greens having a light sand covering. Greens held well and fast but read true. Will play this course again when I return to Orlando next fall.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/01/2017:

We look forward to seeing you again next Fall. Thank you for golfing with us and recommending the course!



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/01/2017:

Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation!

"Slow due to poor shotgun plan"


hockeyhuss's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were told when we arrived that there would be a shotgun start in front of us but staggered by a few holes. This was not the case. After several calls for a Marshall to come out we were told they straightened it out.

They moved us to the Panther for the second nine and everything was great after that.

The kitchen was slow. The course seemed understaffed that day.

Enjoyed the range and the second nine on the Panther.

I will recommend to others but warn them to call ahead to ensure that it won't be busy.

The other issue was the shotgun group had many carts cruising around the course with non golfers using no edicate


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 11/01/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us and bringing these concerns to our attention! We're happy to hear our staff straightened out your round and directed your group to Panther Lake. See you soon!

"Great course"


Arthur5125423's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging course, played on a windy day but loved it. Had lunch after the round and restaurant and wait staff were top notch. Will definitely play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from OCN Management on 10/27/2017:

We're happy to hear you enjoyed lunch after your day playing Crooked Cat! Thank you for the 5-star review and recommendation.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed