Boulder Creek Golf & Country Club

3.4239470588 3.4 stars from 5 (157)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 65
  • Length: 4396 yards
  • Slope: 105
  • Rating: 60.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Putting green: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 65 4396 yards 60.9 105
Red (W) 67 4027 yards 60.6 105

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.0 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 157 Reviews
5 stars:
28
4 stars:
84
3 stars:
20
2 stars:
9
1 stars:
16

recommend this course

130 out of 156 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views locals walkers   Challenges include narrow fairways elevation changes undulating greens   Great for drinks watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"A lovely September round"


heidbill's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course has several interesting holes and the surrounding landscape is the best.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Fun Day!"


timgrolle's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played with my wife, daughter and my daughter's work colleague. We had a great weekday afternoon round of golf: no one in front or behind us...nice course layout...extremely friendly staff and Marshal...overall excellent value and experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



sapodilla's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Awesome course surrounded by red woods"


u988491943's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Loved the trees and the course layout. The houses and surrounding neighborhood make it feel so tucked away by itself (which it is). Although it's a tough drive to get to (from San Jose) it was well worth the drive especially with the golf now discount. Will definitely be back and will be spreading the word about this hidden gem of a course


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Course plays great"


timjudy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape. BUT the cart path is downright dangerous. Rides like a scary Disney

Ride even going slow

Management needs to spend serious money and have them redone. Sad


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course



Zorrodog's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Value...Fun Course"


timgrolle's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens and fairways are all being worked on and so were disappointing at times. However, the discounted price, course layout, friendly staff and few other players mid-week made for an excellent experience! My wife really likes the par 65 / shorter holes, which gave her numerous par putt opportunities. We are going to come back regularly and bring friends.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"6 club golf course in the boonies"


filamgolfaddict's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tucked inside a heavily wooded and house lined area this gc is a neat little gc in the boonies. Nice to walk and take the fresh air in. sandals preferred. small greens makes it challenging. forget keeping score and just enjoy the great outdoors! bring 6 clubs 12 beers!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Boulder Creek Golf Club on 09/05/2017:

Hello Manny, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Boulder Creek Golf Club, in the San Francisco area. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed playing our golf course and that you had a good time walking the layout. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for playing our course and we hope to see you again soon.

"Staff"


kpbait's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff seemed flustered with just 2 people to check in and a foursome ready to tee off.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Boulder Creek Golf Club on 08/22/2017:

Hello Kenneth, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Boulder Creek Golf Club, in the San Francisco area. We are sorry to hear that you may not have had a great customer experience with our staff, but we hope that you enjoyed playing our golf course. Thank you for the 3-star review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Cbrumbaugh's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Like golfing on cement"


u064368877's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairways were lacking consistency. Some areas grass, other areas nothing but mud or hard dirt. Was frustrating trying to find a rhythm with your swing because you'd think you were in a soft ground but turned out to be hard or vica versa. The greens were just as bad. Some of the greens had hard dirt and no grass. So it was near impossible to read your putt properly. It's a nice get away into the mountains, but definitely not a great or even good quality course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Creek Golf Club on 07/28/2017:

Hello Justin, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Creek Golf Club in the San Francisco area. We are sorry to hear that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is greatly appreciated. It looks like you had a good experience with our staff and that you had a smooth round, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to see you again soon.

"disappointed"


miketschida's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

unannounced water project @ hole#10 - instead of the challenging 180 par 3, including shot over creek(170-yd.carry), was set up as 100-yd.pitch to temp.green.

some water issues on other holes as well; 7th green was part cracked dirt, part weeds, part grass; 12th green - not much better.

13th fairway - so little turf - almost like playing as a hazard

hit the 17th"fairway", but ball came to rest on bare dirt, with clumpy grass behind & ahead of ball - no choice but to hit a choppy, defensive iron punch shot

- still & all - beautiful setting; when on 2nd 9, holes 12,13,14 - you can breathe in the beauty of Big Basin -


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Boulder Creek Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Hi Michael, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Boulder Creek Golf Club. We regret to hear that the course conditions were not ideal. Your feedback is helpful to us as we continue to make improvements. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the staff, layout, and pace of play. We hope to see you back soon in the San Francisco area.



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Disappoiting Conditions"


MikeTuft's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were nice, tee boxes were average, fairways were very dry. Very disappointing after all of the rain this year. The course looked better during the drought.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Boulder Creek Golf Club on 08/07/2017:

Hi Mike, thank you for reviewing our course, Boulder Creek Golf Club. We are happy that you enjoyed the pace of play and staff. We are going through a rough transition period, so we apologize if the conditions were not up to our usual standard during your visit. We hope that you will give us the chance to earn your business again in the San Francisco area.

"Course on the mend"


u000002404486's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

The course has been through a rough winter . The restorations and repairs are starting and are looking great. The staff at the course are great and want you to come back . The bar area and staff are wonderful .

I would highly recommend this course ,a jewel in the redwoods and getting better .


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



victoriajb's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Elegant Setting in the Redwoods"


u000004653984's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The setting for the golf course was magnificent. However, the greens were poor condition. Would NOT play at Boulder Creek again unless greens are improved substantially. I don't know the reason for the decline in the playability of the greens. The extra wet winter should have made it easier maintain the condition of the greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course




1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



jeanne7386100's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course has nice lay out"


minhnguyenhung's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Like the lay out but need to maintain the fair way better.

Grass too high.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed