Boulder Creek Golf & Country Club

3.4000823529 3.4 stars from 5 (167)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 65
  • Length: 4396 yards
  • Slope: 105
  • Rating: 60.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Putting green: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 65 4396 yards 60.9 105
Red (W) 67 4027 yards 60.6 105

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.0 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 167 Reviews
5 stars:
31
4 stars:
85
3 stars:
24
2 stars:
11
1 stars:
16

recommend this course

138 out of 166 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views locals walkers   Challenges include narrow fairways elevation changes undulating greens   Great for drinks watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Gem of a course!"


u663705184's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun, laid back and super good deal. Best value in the area. Narrow and challenging course, a little short but very fun.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"I would not play course again"


u3339373's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Went to play boulder creek for first time with two friends and I was disappointed in the fact that I booked tee time for 730 showed up at 7 and clubhouse was closed couldn't check in the guy showed up around 730 to open clubhouse was very slow and unprepared , for it being a golf course I would call that being unprofessional second of all greens were not maintained well at all except for one good green .... if possible I would love to get a refund for my round of golf Had Higher Expectations for Boulder Creek sadly it wasn't what we expected .


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Boulder Creek Golf & Country Club on 11/28/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Boulder Creek Golf & Country Club in the San Francisco area. We are very sorry to hear you had a poor customer experience with us recently, and that the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round. We greatly appreciate your feedback so we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Played in the Rain"


rufjvnm's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is cut out of the trees and some housing. Mostly short narrow fairways but a few longer holes. Not a good place to be hitting long balls that don't go where you want them to go. Short and straight makes for a low score - leave you driver in the bag.. Beautiful redwoods in hilly surroundings but not a hard walk. Often wet. I enjoyed the day but I would not like to play it more than a few times a year and then more for the experience of being in the redwoods.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Boulder Creek Golf & Country Club on 11/13/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Boulder Creek Golf & Country Club, and for the 3 stars. We appreciate your feedback in regards to the course layout and conditions so we may work towards any necessary improvements. We're very glad you enjoyed the surrounding scenery, had a friendly experience with our staff, and received a good value for your round. Thank you for golfing with us in the San Francisco area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


treepass's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Boulder Creek Golf & Country Club on 11/03/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Boulder Creek Golf & Country Club, and for the 3 stars. We're glad to see you received a great value for your round and enjoyed our course layout. Any additional feedback on how we can improve your future experience with us is appreciated. Thank you for golfing with us in the San Francisco area, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Heaven on Earth..."


marlenesells's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great time on my day off yesterday playing Boulder Creek Country Club! The course and weather were perfect and the staff was awesome!! Thanks for such a positive memorable day in my life!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Sunny Day in the mountains"


Don2389945's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pretty good conditions. Nice here on the summer. Too muddy in the winter. Not that good for food but still a fun golf course. Reportedly new golf carts are coming and new upgrades too.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Needs maintenance"


kpbait's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We usually enjoy this course, however yesterday’s round left a lot to be desired! The fairways were in need of water and or maintenance. The pace of play was good because people have chosen to stay away. Hopefully things will turn around soon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Boulder Creek Golf Club on 10/13/2017:

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Boulder Creek Golf Club. We are sorry to hear that our fairways were not up to their best that day, but do like to see that you had an enjoyable time with our pace of play and course layout. Thank you for playing with us and we hope to earn your business back soon.

"Fun course, awful greens"


u9057456's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great little course nestled in the redwoods. Amazing views, challenging narrow fairways, and overall great place to work on several aspects of your game. But putting is not one of them. The greens were simply unacceptable. Most had several bare dirt spots. Others were semi flooded. None were even close to playable. This is a really nice course, but it clear that the maintenance is absolutely nonexistent. I will go back, use not as often as I would if it were better taken care of.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Boulder Creek Golf Club on 10/18/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Boulder Creek Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to hear that the greens may have been in poor conditions when you played and your feedback is appreciated. I sounds like you enjoyed the course layout and the scenic views, so we hope that improved your experience with us. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the San Francisco area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"This course is definitely improving"


ian1522247's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

After playing here for about 4 years now and seeing the ups and downs of the course and the conditions, i can safely say that the improvements being done over the last 3 plus months are being seen and the course is looking a lot better. I would recommend this to anyone and I think it will only get better from here on out. The pro shop said that there is a new GM and it seems like he has this place straitened out from 7 or more months prior. Play here if you want to play a unique course in the Santa Cruz Mountains surrounded by redwoods.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



treepass's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Boulder Creek Golf Club on 10/03/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Boulder Creek Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and your round was a great value for you, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for choosing our course, in the San Francisco area, and hope to see you again soon.

"A lovely September round"


heidbill's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course has several interesting holes and the surrounding landscape is the best.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Fun Day!"


timgrolle's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played with my wife, daughter and my daughter's work colleague. We had a great weekday afternoon round of golf: no one in front or behind us...nice course layout...extremely friendly staff and Marshal...overall excellent value and experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



sapodilla's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Awesome course surrounded by red woods"


u988491943's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Loved the trees and the course layout. The houses and surrounding neighborhood make it feel so tucked away by itself (which it is). Although it's a tough drive to get to (from San Jose) it was well worth the drive especially with the golf now discount. Will definitely be back and will be spreading the word about this hidden gem of a course


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Course plays great"


timjudy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape. BUT the cart path is downright dangerous. Rides like a scary Disney

Ride even going slow

Management needs to spend serious money and have them redone. Sad


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course



Zorrodog's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Value...Fun Course"


timgrolle's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens and fairways are all being worked on and so were disappointing at times. However, the discounted price, course layout, friendly staff and few other players mid-week made for an excellent experience! My wife really likes the par 65 / shorter holes, which gave her numerous par putt opportunities. We are going to come back regularly and bring friends.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"6 club golf course in the boonies"


filamgolfaddict's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tucked inside a heavily wooded and house lined area this gc is a neat little gc in the boonies. Nice to walk and take the fresh air in. sandals preferred. small greens makes it challenging. forget keeping score and just enjoy the great outdoors! bring 6 clubs 12 beers!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Boulder Creek Golf Club on 09/05/2017:

Hello Manny, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Boulder Creek Golf Club, in the San Francisco area. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed playing our golf course and that you had a good time walking the layout. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for playing our course and we hope to see you again soon.

"Staff"


kpbait's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff seemed flustered with just 2 people to check in and a foursome ready to tee off.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Boulder Creek Golf Club on 08/22/2017:

Hello Kenneth, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Boulder Creek Golf Club, in the San Francisco area. We are sorry to hear that you may not have had a great customer experience with our staff, but we hope that you enjoyed playing our golf course. Thank you for the 3-star review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Cbrumbaugh's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed