Foothills Golf Club, The

3.6054705882 3.6 stars from 5 (668)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6968 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 73.2
  • Layout

  • 2201 E Clubhouse Dr, Phoenix, Arizona 85048, Maricopa County
  • (480) 460-4653
  • thefoothillsgc.com

Year built: 1988
Architect(s): Tom Weiskopf, Jay Morrish
Type: Public
Style: Links
Greens: Bermuda 328
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 6968 yards 73.2 132
Back 72 6410 yards 70.3 124
Middle 72 6030 yards 68.4 119
Forward (W) 72 5441 yards 70.5 117

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 3.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 668 Reviews
5 stars:
61
4 stars:
224
3 stars:
157
2 stars:
122
1 stars:
104

recommend this course

410 out of 664 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals seniors wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great day"


lizardluvs27's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Weather was perfect. Had a early t time so it was even a little chilly. Started out a slow because we got behind a 4 some and eventually that 4 some broke up and then it was just a 2 some, They were a little slow but we just practiced putting after each hole. No one was pushing us, so that was great. There's no cart girl and the club house is closed that early. So snacks or drink come from the starter shack. So it's limited. Also it was just scalped getting ready for over seeding. I didn't mind that. Arnold the gentleman who helps load the bags is always super friendly and helpful.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 10/16/2017:

Thank you lizardluvs27 for your 4-star review of The Foothills Golf Club. Please let us know if you ever need anything and come back and see us again very soon!


u000001337094's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 10/16/2017:

Thank you for your review and please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here. We hope to see you back again soon!


Sean2451's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 10/16/2017:

Thanks Sean for the fantastic 5-star review of The Foothills Golf Club. We love seeing you had an enjoyable round on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon for more of the best golf in the area.

"Just prior to overseed"


u138726176's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

We played just prior to overseeding. And they kept the greens good. The fairways were brown but moist and we'll maintained. Great layout and with a little love this place could be back on my rotation. Staff is friendly I am looking forward to a round after overseeding to give it a real test.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 10/11/2017:

Thank you so much for your review and feedback of The Foothills Golf Club. We appreciate you taking the time and the kind words about our staff. Come back and see us again very soon!

"Reseeding"


u000005885443's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Due to resend they cut the fairway grass down low so clumps of grass were on several fairways. Greens were good.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 10/11/2017:

Thanks so much for your review and feedback. We hope you will come back and see us again once the course has a chance to heal.

"Summer Rates always good"


CairoDave's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

End of summer and the course is in pretty good shape. Staff are friendly. Rough grass was not too long. Nicely laid out course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 10/02/2017:

Thank you CairoDave so much for your review and feedback of our golf course. We appreciate the kind words about our staff and we hope to see you back again very soon for more of the best golf in Phoenix, AZ.


dennyyard's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 10/02/2017:

Thank you dennyyard so much for your review and feedback of our golf course. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments and we hope to see you back again very soon!

"Foothills"


Fred7028126's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed the course, in good condition. Greens held and rolled well.

One down side, some traps were mud bogs.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 09/29/2017:

Thank you Fred for your review and feedback of The Foothills Golf Club. Please come back and see us again very soon!


u2127238's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 10/02/2017:

Thank you so much for your review and feedback of our golf course. We appreciate you taking the time and we hope to see you back again very soon for more of the best golf in the area.


dennyyard's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was very disappointed to find out when I got to the course that they had no water since Wednesday. I have played the course several times and like it but with no bathrooms or restaurant service it took away from the experience. I just wish someone had reached out to me prior to Sunday letting me know the issues they where having so I could have cancelled or at least been prepared


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 09/25/2017:

Thank you dennyyard for your review and feedback of our golf course. We appreciate you taking the time and we are disappointed you did not have a good time on the course. Please let us know if you ever need anything and come back and see us again very soon!


dennyyard's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 09/13/2017:

Thanks, dennyyard for the great 4-star review of our golf course. Please come back and see us again very soon!

"No clubhouse"


Rubeni's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had to check-in at the starter shack. So that was the "worst thing" of the entire day, and it wasn't bad at all or inconvenient. The course was well manicured, tee boxes are in immaculate condition, and greens are challenging. I would consider myself an intermediate player and found the course challenging, many holes I had to get creative with club choices, and how aggressive I wanted to play due to the many course hazards.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 09/12/2017:

Thanks so much Rubeni for the fantastic 5-star review of The Foothills Golf Club. We are thrilled you had an overall great day on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon!

"So so sad!!!!"


u00000905306's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The conversion to goat pasture is almost complete. The only thing missing are the goats.

The Foothills used to be awesome, now it's not.

I will say the staff was very friendly and pleasant.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 09/12/2017:

Thank you for the review. We apologize for the course conditions as we are working hard on getting everything back up to par. Please come back and see us again once all the new changes are in place.

"In very good shape this year!"


sy1961's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is very good shape this year. Good value for the money. Challenging course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 09/12/2017:

Thanks so much sy1961 for the fantastic 4-star review of our golf course. We are thrilled you enjoyed your round on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon!


u264677139's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 09/12/2017:

Thanks so much for the 4-star review of The Foothills Golf Club. We are thrilled you had a good day and we hope to see you back again!!


u409915455's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 09/09/2017:

Thanks for the great 4-star review of The Foothills Golf Club. We are thrilled you had such good time on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon!

"Desert golf"


u7027691's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was my first time in Phoenix, and this course was a local favorite of a dear friend's father. He recently passed away and I went to play a round in his honour; Mr. Tommy Nixon. I can see why he enjoyed it so much. The course was difficult, but so much fun. I loved the layout and the scenery. The staff was so friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this course, and I will play this course again, anytime I'm back in Phoenix. Thanks for the great service and overall wonderful golfing experience.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 09/07/2017:

Thanks for the fantastic 5-star review and we are thrilled you chose us to play a round in his honor. Please let us know if you ever need anything and come back and see us again anytime!

"A bit of a disappointment"


russlefler's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

We have played here several times and looked forward to a comfortable first game for our vacation. The greens were a bit frustrating due to their length and dry condition. There were some very slow golfers in front of us and it was pretty hot which didn't help. Don't like 5 hour rounds anywhere and especially when the temperature is over 100 degrees. We have a 2nd game booked this weekend so hope the situation is better.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 09/07/2017:

Thanks russlefler for the review of The Foothills Golf Club. We apologize for the greens as we are working very hard on the conditions right now. Please come back and see us again soon.


dennyyard's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 09/05/2017:

Thanks dennyyard for the 4-star review and feedback of our golf course and we appreciate you taking the time. Come back and see us again soon!

"Getting greener"


KipBoetel's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is always a great layout that gets brown & patchy in the summer. But the grass is getting thicker and greener. Enjoy this < $20 bargain before the snowbirds return.


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Foothills Golf Club on 09/01/2017:

Thanks KipBoetel for your 4-star review and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let other golfers know about the layout and great golf deals we have. Come back and see us again very soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed