Coyote Lakes Golf Club

3.8374000000 3.8 stars from 5 (486)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6213 yards
  • Slope: 120
  • Rating: 69.1
  • Layout

  • 18800 N Coyote Lakes Pkwy , Surprise, Arizona 85374
  • (623) 566-2323
  • coyotelakesgolfclub.com
Write a review

Year built: 1993
Type: Public
Style: Desert/Traditional
Greens: TiffDwarf Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt and bermuda shorts required. No denim.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Green 71 6213 yards 69.1 120
Gold 71 5742 yards 67.3 117
Black 71 5286 yards 65.1 112
Silver (W) 71 4708 yards 66.8 110

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 486 Reviews
5 stars:
118
4 stars:
233
3 stars:
89
2 stars:
30
1 stars:
16

recommend this course

401 out of 483 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include narrow fairways water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Fantastic conditions"


u000008227579's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course conditions were fantastic! Good length to the course. Pace was slow but staff were exceptionally friendly.

Overall, great value and a good challenge for most golfers.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u00000852673's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/21/2017:

Thank you "u00000852673"!

"Poor staff"


Ronmccracken's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Bag drop-off and return personal were great. However we were on 15th 3hrs 20min in and they came told us to speed up we did then 16 they told us to skip it there was no one behind us we said no played on and ended our round 15 min under 4 hours. The behavior of the course staff made what could of been a nice day of golf with friends we have not seen in 2 years feel very disappointing. Would not recommend this course to anyone wanting to enjoy Thier golf round.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Cant stay open"


polly11's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Arrived 1/2 hour early, and they had just finished a tournament and had to wait 15 minutes for a cart. They then sent us out to start on 18 saying that by the time we got to the first tee it would be clear. It was a cluster from then on, slow play, lost balls, hitting only 100 yards, just awful. Then went we got to the clubhouse after 9 it was closed. We went to the proshop say they had drinks in there and continued on. At 12 it was even slower so we gave up and drove past the next group to find a hole. Played 17 and 18 went to the proshop for a beer nut it was closed at 5:10. Never again


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/20/2017:

Hey "polly11" we are so sorry about your experience at the course.Unfortunately, our Ladies-member tournament ran late. We would love the opportunity to make this up to you so if you can please reach out to gm@coyotelakesgolfclub.com.

"Great shape"


deadeye1948's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape. Better than when we played last year. Greens ran perfectly.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/15/2017:

Hey "deadeye1948" thank you for the kind words! We hope to see you again soon.

"Slow play"


Do34sss's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff friendly and helpful. Driving range poor since you are hitting plastic balls since the range is short. Tee boxes uneven. Fairways ok but had a lot of bare spots,/rough areas. Greens ok but slow. Course layout was ok. Biggest issue was slow play. Waited on EVERY Shot. 5 hours to get around and never saw a Marshall.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/15/2017:

Hey "Do34sss" thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We apologize that the pace was not up to your standards but we appreciate you coming out and still hope you had a good time.

"Too slow"


Corey4652891's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairly nice course. It's relatively short, but apparently too tight for high handicap players. The back nine has significant water hazards, and it took us almost 3 hours to play the back. Front nine has no hazards and play was much faster. Still too slow with what appeared to be more than 1 person per foursome needing to look for their ball. Need much better marshaling.

My friend and I agreed never again.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/15/2017:

Hey "Corey4652891" thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We apologize that the pace of play was not as fast as you would of liked but still hope that you had a nice time out on the course.


lotieandrews's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wow---beautiful course but you have to be a mountain goat to play---even with a cart. Of course, I am 81 years old. lol


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



Fritz9517521's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/15/2017:

Thank you "Fritz9517521"!

"Golfing in march"


glencowski's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is in very nice shape,even better than previous years.Im sure above average amounts of rain helped but they did a great job of overseeding this season as well.I will definitely play here again.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/13/2017:

Hey "glencowski" thank you so much for the kind words about the course! We look forward to having you back again soon!


dwkotak4gndc's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape. The pace was quite good. We managed to complete the round in less than 4 hours. We were enjoying it so much we finished the game in the dark rather than quitting. The staff were very friendly, fun and great to chat with. The staff handling the golf bags and carts were very attentive.

The whole experience was great


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/13/2017:

Hey "dwkotak4gndc" thank you so much for the positive review! We are so glad to hear your group had such a great experience at the course. Come back and see us again soon.

"Challenging Coyote!"


akdan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is always challenging being a somewhat target course, but the pin placements made it even more frustrating than normal. For several holes it was nearly impossible to 2 putt the green, pins were located in the most "awkward position" on a slope or on the edge of a slope. Not sure I will play this again for a while.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/13/2017:

Hey "Coyote Lakes Golf Club" we apologize that you struggled out there on the course. We intend to challenge our golfers but never frustrate them. Hopefully next time they won't be in as difficult spots!

"Decent for the price"


u000005208128's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were inconsistent but rolled ok. Wide fairways lined with houses. Not a scenic course, but very playable


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/13/2017:

Hey "u000005208128" thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Come back again soon!

"Fun times at the lakes"


Bryan4066830's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is just a fun course to play and always in fair to good shape. It's not high end but they take pride in their course and charge a very fair price for it. A hand full of holes are very interesting and quite challenging. Last few times I've played they have seemed to space out the tee times to enable the pace to be at or under 4 hours which is great. I will play again and would always recommend.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/13/2017:

Hey "Bryan4066830" we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the layout of the course. We do our best to make sure all of our golfers have an enjoyable pace of play so we are happy to hear you got in in under 4 hours. We appreciate you coming out and look forward to having you back again soon.

"solo golfer at Coyote Lakes"


u000004489603's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I got to the course about an hour early and the desk was organized and so was the cart barn. I had time to hit the range and it featured those soft golf balls. the short flight of those balls seemed weird at first but they seemed fine. I was a single paired with a threesome, and it was a good matchup.

It was my first visit to the course so having someone with local knowledge was important. The course had several interesting holes and the condition was fine. Greens were in great shape, but the undulation makes some holes difficult to read.

We started in the back nine and it took the four of us two hours, while the the front nine took us about 2:45. Not as bad as I expected.

My only real problem was the bunkers. Can somebody in Arizona please buy some real sand? These are not bunkers, they are rock quarrys. It's impossible to take a legitimate shot out of them.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/13/2017:

Hey "u000004489603" thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We sincerely appreciate all of the kind words about our course and staff. Thank you for coming out and we look forward to having you back soon.

"Challenging But Fair"


Rossref's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great front 9 but back 9 a little dicey. Play should not begin on 10 unless no alternative.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/13/2017:

Hey "Rossref" thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We apologize that you didn't prefer to start on the back 9, the reason we would do something like that is to ensure you have an enjoyable pace of play.


u000001729820's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/13/2017:

Thank you "u000001729820"!


Rudybrandt's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a year

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/28/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/13/2017:

Thank you "Rudybrandt"!

"Over priced"


u000002774114's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

" driving range is a joke" no longer that 125-150 yards. "Range balls" are plastic limited distance balls, like hitting wifflle balls. Course in average condition, layout easy, greens average. Not worth the $


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/13/2017:

Hey "u000002774114" we apologize that you did not enjoy your time at the course. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon.

"Average round of golf"


DRRolli's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course itself was in pretty good condition. The only exception being the bunkers. They were nothing but hardened dirt. I've played this course previously and was disappointed by the traps and the GPS in the carts locking up continuously. It was very frustrating.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Coyote Lakes Golf Club on 03/13/2017:

Hey "DRRolli" thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize that you were having some issues with the cart GPS. We do appreciate you coming out and hope to see you soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed