Ventana Canyon - Canyon Course

4.5356000000 4.5 stars from 5 (519)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6819 yards
  • Slope: 140
  • Rating: 72.6
  • Layout

  • 6200 N Clubhouse Dr, Tucson, Arizona 85750, Pima County
  • (520) 577-4006, (520) 577-4061
  • thelodgeatventanacanyon.com
Write a review

Year built: 1984
Architect(s): Tom Fazio (1984), Andy Banfield
Type: Resort
Style: Desert
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Ventana Canyon Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: No
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt required, no denim
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6819 yards 72.6 140
Gold 72 6281 yards 70.2 137
Silver 72 5778 yards 67.6 133
Silver (W) 72 5778 yards 74.5 140
Turquoise (W) 72 5442 yards 73.0 131
Copper (W) 72 4939 yards 70.2 119

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 519 Reviews
5 stars:
349
4 stars:
128
3 stars:
23
2 stars:
9
1 stars:
10

recommend this course

478 out of 516 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Customer satisfaction?"


laschock's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a surprise to book the Mountain course through Golf Now only to find out it was closed for maintenance. Instead we were placed on Canyon where we were told we had no time to warm up, yet we're waiting on every hole. Staff refused to address a group who proceeded to the woman's tee (while we were on the men's tee). Our concern was safety. Staff indicated they were members and would not move even if asked. Despite that we were paying customers and felt uncomfortable with 4 women sitting within our hitting range. The final lack of customer focus was when they delivered it clubs to the parking lot but neglected to replace our head covers after cleaning it clubs. When we walked back down to retrieve the missing covers the staff asked us what we forgot? We forgot nothing and will not forget how the staff at this course exhibited a total lack of customer appreciation. Satisfaction? Not here!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



MCFallon's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Pace of play"


par4orr's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a 5 hr and 45 minute round. Only saw a marshal once and he didn't seem concerned. We even called the club house on number 8 but no improvement. On one par five we had 3 groups in the fairway and two waiting on the tee.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Spectacular views"


u000001515181's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great area high above the valley the elevation changes make it very challenging on club selection.

If you are going there for the first time the

Entrance to the the pro shop is a little tricky to find.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Golfnow issue"


u000001933865's avatar
Age:  55-64

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2017

Reviewed on

My son and me flew in to Tucson to play some golf in the sun. We had plans to finish up with the Canyon course at Ventana, as we had heard it was stunning. We prepaid at golfnow for the Sunday round on the 7th. I unfortunately suffered a back and knee injury the day before and was unable to play on Sunday. I prepaid over $200, but was told that I could not get a refund on my money even for an injury. We could not play the Canyon course and I will never again book with Golfnow. Cmon, an injury doesn't warrant refund?


I recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 05/12/2017:

We are sincerely sorry to hear you were injured and hope you are recovering well. Unfortunately we are unable to give refunds on the hot deal tee times. In order to get a refund for this tee time given the situation, we would kindly ask you to ask you to reach out to GolfNow.com golfer support at 1-800-767-3574, 8AM - 8PM ET or please see https://www.golfnow.com/support so that a refund can be issued. We hope you make a swift recovery and see you back at Ventana Canyon once you're all healed up!

"ask if it is a shotgun start"


u139269918's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

When I made the tee time, no one said it was a shotgun start. It was awful. 5 and a half hour round. Bad news. Course was great, but they should say if it is a shotgun start. I would not have played


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 05/09/2017:

We're sorry to hear you got stuck in an unexpected shotgun round. We do hope you return for a regular tee time on our course. We're sure once you have a regular round you'll love it. Come back soon!


j3wolf's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 05/01/2017:

Thanks for this great rating!


u2489123's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Only issue we had were the plastic cup liners, Several putts were bounced adversely after contact. Would like to know the purpose they serve, when painting the top of the cup has become standard.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 05/01/2017:

We thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will have our staff take a look to ensure this is addressed. We still use plastic cup liners but they should be flush with the greens. Come back and see us, glad you loved your overall experience!

"Canyon Course at Ventana in Tucson"


Tdubp's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

challenging course with amazing contast between lush green fairways and arid desert vegetation. Plenty of wildlife for entertainment - rabbits, praire dogs and road runners. Long distances between holes give players time in a cart with the cooling breeze of movement - nice relief from desert heat.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 04/25/2017:

Great! We're so glad you loved the challenge and the scenery here, including some of the wildlife you saw, how cool! Come back and see us again soon.

"Awful"


Zzsmash's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Pulling up the resort looks great seems like a nice stay! Drove a mile to the driving range which isn't bad and it looks like they haven't moved the stations in a month! No grass to hit off of! Went to go buy a Gatorade and a sandwich $15 later and I got a Gatorade and a decent sandwich. The tee box's are nice but that's about it the fairways were rough and the greens were awful. It's almost like they had a disease that they tried to fill in with sand! Completely impossible. The course layout was horrible. The only great thing about that course was the view of the mountains and I found myself looking at them a lot asking the same question. Why did I spend so much money to play this course!!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 04/25/2017:

We're sorry to hear you did not see the value in playing here and it did not meet your expectations for you round. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the scenery and the staff were firendly, know that we are working diligently to make the conditions here exceptional for your next visit. Come back and see us!

"Ridiculous layout"


neb1tjs's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Stay away! The drive from green to tee box is crazy! who ever played this course out needs to be... Conditions were good, but this is a $45 dollar course AT MOST.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Great golf - poor ending"


toneyp's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played here before. Challenging holes, fast greens, deep bunkers, collars won't bail you out. Great day of golf until tried to leave.

The clubs to cart to play area system is a bit awkward here to say the least anyway, but today was a fiasco. When we get off course, cart attendant starts cleaning clubs, asks if we need clubs stored or??? Told him no, we are leaving. he said Ok, I'll meet you at cart stand. We go get in truck, pull to cart stand. nothing. 20 minutes later, nothing. So my wife leaves to go in pro shop (3:30 PM) to see what the deal is to find it closed up for the day. She then goes down to cart staging area, no one obvious there. Finally finds the guy, he said he put them in storage. Says he'll get them, doesn't offer to let her ride up with the clubs or take them herself, but tells her to walk back up to cart stand. She walks back, still 5 more minutes here he finally comes. No I'm sorry, no nothing. You'd have sworn he got tot eh truck before we did.

Great challenging course - just don't make my mistake and tip before you have your clubs in your vehicle.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Lodge At Ventana Canyon on 04/20/2017:

Hey Terrie, thank you for the feedback. We regret to hear about the confusion regarding your clubs at the end of your round. We aim to please here at The Lodge At Ventana Canyon and give golfers the best possible experience. We will make improvements moving forward to ensure this does not happen to any future golfers and relay to the rest of our staff. Thank you for stopping by and we hope to have you back again soon. Have a great day!


reeddds's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 04/07/2017:

Thanks for this excellent rating!

"Great Golf Course"


Prenzi626's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played the Mountain Course. The fairways and greens are in excellent shape. Pace of play was great, nothing bad to say, we will be back! Staff was very helpful and friendly. We have played all the courses in Tucson and this one is one of the best.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 04/03/2017:

We love our fans! Thank you for being one and for enjoying your overall experience with us. We can't wait to see you back again!

"Not worth the trouble"


u000005819479's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My biggest complaint was the difficulty with finding the course and the clubhouse. It is located at an aging resort and you park by the spa and walk to a clubhouse that closes at 3:00 which was our tee time. You then walk forever in the general direction of the golf course and if you are lucky you find someone who puts you on a cart and then ride forever to the other clubhouse and then try to play golf. By the time you actually play golf 40 minutes has gone by and you miss your tee time and have to skip several holes. I would recommend playing any course instead of this one even if I was staying at that resort


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 04/10/2017:

We're sorry to hear you had some trouble finding your way to the clubhouse which effected your round with us. We do hope you come out again and try another round. We want to give you the best experience possible.

"Wonderful mountain course"


5062's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent staff ,Lovely course ,great views , excellent course conditions ,


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 03/28/2017:

So glad you loved everything about your round! Thanks for this great rating!


u177052463's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 03/28/2017:

We thank you for this excellent rating!

"No GPS"


u216321769's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course and facilities are top notch. The only area they fall short is their carts. No GPS. There are municipal courses with $50 greens fees that have GPS in their carts.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 03/28/2017:

Thanks so much for this awesome rating, we're glad you loved the course and your round. We will notify management about the possibility of getting GPS in our carts, for your convenience. We thank you for this suggestion, your feedback means a lot to us.

"high dollar golf"


4wildlife's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

first time at this course. would not go back. Hard to find the club house for registration. No GPS on carts. Nice course but not worth the money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 03/24/2017:

We're sorry to hear that you did not see the best value playing here due to some of the missing features at the course. We appreciate the 4-star rating though, hoping you give us another shot and come back to see us again!

"Great course in many ways"


Dan7Che's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The unique layout and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff are what make this course really nice!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Ventana Canyon on 03/23/2017:

So glad the staff and the layout made your round memorable!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed