Merlot/Chardonnay at Poppy Ridge Golf Course

4.3545705882 4.4 stars from 5 (174)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7106 yards
  • Slope: 135
  • Rating: 74.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Poppy Ridge Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: All players are required to wear shirts with sleeves and collars. Shorts must have an inseam of at least 4 inches. Tee shirts, cut-offs, jeans and gym attire are prohibited
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7106 yards 74.8 135
Blue 72 6686 yards 72.9 130
White 72 6259 yards 70.9 126
White (W) 72 6259 yards 75.3 133
Gold 72 5240 yards 65.8 118
Gold (W) 72 5240 yards 69.5 121

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 174 Reviews
5 stars:
85
4 stars:
74
3 stars:
10
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

163 out of 173 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views locals   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes undulating greens   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Solid Course"


keck84's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/14/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Poppy Ridge is always a great place to play. Good course and its been in good condition all year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 08/17/2017:

Thank you, keck84! We're glad you enjoy playing Poppy Ridge and look forward to your next trip out!

"Poppy Ridge"


gwalters870's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

WE loved the course and would definitely recommend it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent layout, a challenge but fair as well"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/07/2017
Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens in very good condition. Only negative comment would be the fairways could use a little work but want to emphasize they were not in poor condition either. Highly recommend playing the course. Livermore gets very hot in the summer but fortunately today was perfect weather wise.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 08/11/2017:

Thank you for your review, Bzeid! We're glad you enjoyed a great day at Poppy Ridge!

"Fun Course"


billjeffdavis's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was fun and different from the flat valley courses which my group is used to playing. We started on Merlot and ended on Chardonnay on a Friday afternoon.

Speed - 4.5 hour round but we had 10 minute delays per hole on back nine.

Course Layout - Elevation changes and several blind shots made it a challenging course but was scoreable when hitting the targets. High handicaps should bring extra sleeve of balls. Course knowledge would be very useful on this course.

Course condition- Greens were average speed with a few bumps but rolled true most of the time. Fairways were ok but several areas with sparse grass. We had to play winter rules. Bunkers were excellent with deep sand.

I would play this course again but not at full morning price.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 08/08/2017:

Thank you for your review and feedback, billjeffdavis! We appreciate you sharing your experience and enjoyed the course! We are rolling out some great golf specials, so be sure to check us out on Facebook to stay up to date on course news!

"World Class Golf Course"


u000003068778's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played on a Monday. Weather was hot, windy but comfortable. Met a couple of guys and we had a jolly time. Pace was excellent and we played good golf. It's a challenging course where the wind and hilly lies test your golf skills. The greens are excellent. I enjoyed myself immensely!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 08/01/2017:

We're glad you enjoyed a great round at Poppy Ridge! Thank you for sharing your experience, and for your five stars!

"I like the course, but...."


u000004274799's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/27/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

... the fairway conditions on certain holes were very thin/hardpan, and the greens were inconsistent/need rolling.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 08/01/2017:

We're glad you liked our course, and appreciate your feedback.

"Great course"


Ravi6940639's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Poppy Ridge is great course. Great layout. Pace of play is also great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 08/01/2017:

Thank you Ravi! We're glad you have enjoyed coming out to play Poppy Ridge Golf Course, and look forward to having you back!

"Slowest round in the east bay"



2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Should it take 6 hours to play 18 holes? If you think so, poppy ridge is the course for you.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 08/01/2017:

Hi mattylein, thank you for your feedback on your round. We typically do not have rounds that exceed our pace of play standards, and hope the experience you had early this July will not deter you from coming back to play our course.



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 08/01/2017:

Thank you for rating Poppy Ridge Golf Course five stars!

"Awesome course and freindly staff"


Rohit5783350's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/02/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course Conditions is great! true pleasure playing at Poppy Ridge- except it was very hot - triple digits!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 08/01/2017:

Thank you for your review and five stars! Summers are hot, and we commend you on standing up to the heat!

"great time out"


tom4880's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

staff very friendly at check in. played on a Saturday and everything went real well. pace was good and course was in great shape.looking forward to returning soon


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 06/12/2017:

Thank you Tom! We're glad to see you back again for another round at Poppy Ridge, and can't wait to see you again!


u000002457256's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 06/05/2017:

Thank you for rating Poppy Ridge!

"Great course but avoid prime time"


pimike's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is awesome but you will have a 5.5 hour round if you golf prime time on a weekend. Best value is the twilight , much less crowded.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 06/05/2017:

Thank you for reviewing us, pimike! We appreciate your feedback, and are glad you've enjoyed playing Poppy Ridge. Once the summer starts heating up, those twilight times are going to be a great option for play!


jbra's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 06/05/2017:

Thank you for rating us, jbra!

"Great course"


Alex4658914's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall great experience. Practice facility is in great shape. Pace of play on the front was a little slow. Had to wait on the last 3 holes but it opened up on the back 9. Wind makes the course crazy long but still can score. Definitely will come back


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 06/02/2017:

Thank you for playing Poppy Ridge and leaving such a great review, Alex! Glad you enjoyed your overall experience, and we look forward to having you back!

"Challenging, slow pace of play, and crowded, 5:30 hour round!!!"


u058331775's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is pretty, but the pace of play is awful, 2 of my colleagues quit after 9 holes. Better courses out there for the price. If your drive is 40 min, better off somewhere else. Too bad!!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 05/30/2017:

Thank you for coming out to play Poppy Ridge Golf Course. We apologize that the pace of play was not up to par during this particular round, but ensure that this is not standard at our course. We hope it will not deter you from coming back because we would love to have you back out here if you are in the area!

"Poppy Ridge"


joeskee68's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of my favorite courses in the Bay Area! We had a Super Twilight tee time and there wasn't a Marshal to be found...normally not a problem, just that my friend & I knew we had 4 hrs until sunset to get our round in. Unfortunately, we ran into a 4-some that was neither good nor fast! After 3 holes of waiting on slow play, we decided to pass them...and it was a good thing we did, they were in our rear view and never to be seen again! We putted out on our 18th hole just after the sun had set. Slow golf isn't fun golf!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 05/30/2017:

Thank you, Joe! We are glad to be considered one of your favorites, and were glad you were able to work with your fellow golfers to make the best of the situation and finish your round before sunset!


u920876692's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 05/22/2017:

Thank you for your five stars!


gdickens's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 05/02/2017:

Thank you for your five stars gdickens!

"Fair price"


hrlyride's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was checking golf now and saw a good price for this course. Although it was windy and cold, I decided to head out. Staff was friendly and the course was in ok shape. I thought with all the rains, the course would be in beautiful shape. Other than the location, it was like playing a muni course. A lot of weeds and very high rough. I would play here again, but, not at their high prices. $40 is fair for this course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 05/02/2017:

Hi hrlyride, Thank you for playing Poppy Ridge. We appreciate you coming out, even if the weather wasn't that great on the day you booked.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed