Chardonnay/Zinfandel at Poppy Ridge Golf Course

4.3720000000 4.4 stars from 5 (164)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7048 yards
  • Slope: 136
  • Rating: 74.3
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Poppy Ridge Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: All players are required to wear shirts with sleeves and collars. Shorts must have an inseam of at least 4 inches. Tee shirts, cut-offs, jeans and gym attire are prohibited
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7048 yards 74.3 136
Blue 72 6613 yards 72.4 132
White 72 6134 yards 70.2 128
White (W) 72 6134 yards 75.3 135
Gold 72 5267 yards 66.0 120
Gold (W) 72 5267 yards 70.9 126

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 164 Reviews
5 stars:
79
4 stars:
72
3 stars:
9
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

154 out of 163 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views locals   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes undulating greens   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"great time out"


tom4880's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

staff very friendly at check in. played on a Saturday and everything went real well. pace was good and course was in great shape.looking forward to returning soon


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 06/12/2017:

Thank you Tom! We're glad to see you back again for another round at Poppy Ridge, and can't wait to see you again!


u000002457256's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 06/05/2017:

Thank you for rating Poppy Ridge!

"Great course but avoid prime time"


pimike's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is awesome but you will have a 5.5 hour round if you golf prime time on a weekend. Best value is the twilight , much less crowded.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 06/05/2017:

Thank you for reviewing us, pimike! We appreciate your feedback, and are glad you've enjoyed playing Poppy Ridge. Once the summer starts heating up, those twilight times are going to be a great option for play!


jbra's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 06/05/2017:

Thank you for rating us, jbra!

"Great course"


Alex4658914's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall great experience. Practice facility is in great shape. Pace of play on the front was a little slow. Had to wait on the last 3 holes but it opened up on the back 9. Wind makes the course crazy long but still can score. Definitely will come back


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 06/02/2017:

Thank you for playing Poppy Ridge and leaving such a great review, Alex! Glad you enjoyed your overall experience, and we look forward to having you back!

"Challenging, slow pace of play, and crowded, 5:30 hour round!!!"


u058331775's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is pretty, but the pace of play is awful, 2 of my colleagues quit after 9 holes. Better courses out there for the price. If your drive is 40 min, better off somewhere else. Too bad!!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 05/30/2017:

Thank you for coming out to play Poppy Ridge Golf Course. We apologize that the pace of play was not up to par during this particular round, but ensure that this is not standard at our course. We hope it will not deter you from coming back because we would love to have you back out here if you are in the area!

"Poppy Ridge"


joeskee68's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of my favorite courses in the Bay Area! We had a Super Twilight tee time and there wasn't a Marshal to be found...normally not a problem, just that my friend & I knew we had 4 hrs until sunset to get our round in. Unfortunately, we ran into a 4-some that was neither good nor fast! After 3 holes of waiting on slow play, we decided to pass them...and it was a good thing we did, they were in our rear view and never to be seen again! We putted out on our 18th hole just after the sun had set. Slow golf isn't fun golf!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 05/30/2017:

Thank you, Joe! We are glad to be considered one of your favorites, and were glad you were able to work with your fellow golfers to make the best of the situation and finish your round before sunset!


u920876692's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 05/22/2017:

Thank you for your five stars!


gdickens's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 05/02/2017:

Thank you for your five stars gdickens!

"Fair price"


hrlyride's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was checking golf now and saw a good price for this course. Although it was windy and cold, I decided to head out. Staff was friendly and the course was in ok shape. I thought with all the rains, the course would be in beautiful shape. Other than the location, it was like playing a muni course. A lot of weeds and very high rough. I would play here again, but, not at their high prices. $40 is fair for this course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 05/02/2017:

Hi hrlyride, Thank you for playing Poppy Ridge. We appreciate you coming out, even if the weather wasn't that great on the day you booked.


pjmiller60's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Poppy Ridge Golf Course on 05/02/2017:

Thank you for rating Poppy Ridge, pjmiller60!

"Potential"


u7533256's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course had potential but isn't maintained very well. Lots of mixed and patchy scrub grasses in fairways, greens very bumpy yes they were recently aerated but rolling them would help. Course us huge problem w ground squirrels - there are huge holes everywhere and would be easy to twist and ankle or lose a ball. They are rampant. Cart didn't have any tees or towel supplied. Those are common basics for a course that wants to be considered a players or destination course. Clubhouse was closed for a private event to only the snack bar available on a Sunday afternoon. Staff OK but not great. Pace of play was horrible - 2:45 for first 9 on Zinfandel tee off at 10:40. Gave up and went home after 15 holes.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Great course but punched and sanded greens"


55madman's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great course but greens were very difficult to gage speed and break. Greens were recently punched and sanded. Short puts would break unpredictably and lag puts were very tough.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best layout with view course"


u000001926016's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Twice a year
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Many time I was there poppy ridge best layout course that course remind of Scotland look alike view and windy too

Also the service guy work are friendly and inside pro shop friendly too. Plus. Food best


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



BrettFrench's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000006508820's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautiful golf course and challenging!"


filamgolfaddict's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You drive into this place and notice right away that its a well maintained establishment. Ample clean parking, Nice practice range and greens. Nice clubhouse and restaurant. The course is hilly and challenging yet offers a few birdie opportunities. Water, sand traps, narrow fairways, thick rough and fast greens will keep you on your toes. Beginners stay in the range.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"After the rain"


Paulgolfsnow's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was impossible to believe how playable the golf course was after all that rain , greens were firm and no plug balls. Seems as though you can always find a teatime at a very good rate , not a bad hole on the 27th whole layout


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Michelle4442335's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in excellent condition despite heavy rains prior week! Love playing this course pace of play is normally excellent on weekends.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautiful Track"


7rob771's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/27/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

- great golf course all around

- looks nicer every time I play here

- fast, undulating greens, huge elevation changes off tee

- very professional staff

- Wish this was my home course, but it's an hour drive from where I live.

- Challenging but fair track, with all three 9's

Equally nice.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed