River Club, The

3.5311588235 3.5 stars from 5 (426)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7026 yards
  • Slope: 144
  • Rating: 74.4
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees (with GPS)
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: No
Practice hole: No
Simulator: No
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7026 yards 74.4 144
Blue 72 6614 yards 72.1 137
White 72 6102 yards 69.6 128
Green 71 5495 yards 66.7 117
Red (W) 72 5056 yards 69.0 120

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.4 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 426 Reviews
5 stars:
58
4 stars:
206
3 stars:
90
2 stars:
45
1 stars:
27

recommend this course

337 out of 423 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good Course"


richiebgoo's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice layout for us is excellent great staff will go back soon


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 08/04/2017:

Thanks, richiebgoo for the review of our golf course. Please let us know if you ever need anything and come back and see us again very soon!


peterman30's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Frustrated"



2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A great deal and a good course. They needed an attentive marshall as we waited on numerous holes and at one point had 4 groups on 1 par 5, with another waiting for us, to tee off behind us,, and they all were foursomes. Thought I was in a rookie charity tournament. To bad spoiled a potentionally fantastic day. Played so slow we could not finish the 18th because of darkness.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Poor greens"


Nick06's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall I enjoyed the layout and the pace of play was good. The staff were friendly and the price was reasonable. The one thing that made the round very poor was the condition of the greens. They had recently been over seeded and were horrendous to putt on. We were not made aware of this at the time of booking or when we checked in. When courses do this or aerate their greens, I feel they owe it to their customers to note that ahead of time. I would have no problem with the course under normal conditions but this ruined the round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 11/15/2017:

Thanks Nick06 for your review and feedback. We love seeing you had a good time on the course and our staff took great care of you. Come back and see us again very soon!

"Hopefully our timing was bad"


Hayesbryan's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

We played on a Monday AM. Our greeter at the bag drop told us that the club had just planted their rye grass for the winter season the week before and course conditions were good. Unfortunately the greens were extremely slow, bumpy and wet which ruined the round. Tee boxes were shaggy as well. Not worth the money. I've played the River Club several times before and have usually enjoyed the layout and course conditions. I should of asked for a refund but we had to scoot afterwards due to slow play. All in all not a good day.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 11/14/2017:

Thanks Hayesbryan for your review and feedback on The River Club. We appreciate you taking the time and apologize for the pace of play and conditions as we are getting ready for the season. Please come back and see us again very soon!

"Easily the worst golf course I have ever played in Florida"


u397731184's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

There are ant hills on every "tee box". The course is not well kept at all. The greens were cut longer than most fairways you will find. It was essentially all fringe (I wish I was exaggerating). Our group played 9 holes and then packed it in and went home. Didn't even go in for a rain check because I will never play there again. I wouldn't play out there if it were free. Please, save your money because they clearly don't put what they make into the course. Complete garbage.


Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


"Tough course"


TessaMae's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lost at least 6 balls. The greens were pretty slow, not sure if they had not been aerated in a while but the grass was a little long on the greens.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 11/14/2017:

Thanks TessaMae for your 5-star review and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time and back again very soon!

"Time has taken this course"


emiliocan's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You cannot help but to feel that this course is headed for a sale or closure.

Which is really too bad because with a little TLC this course could be great.

I do not appreciate ant colonies all over the greens.

Tee boxes farmers fields.

Enough said.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 11/08/2017:

Thanks for your review of our golf course. We apologize for the conditions as our staff is working hard on getting everything back up to par. Please come back and see us again soon once all the new changes have settled in.


jirimo2001's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great round of golf... great course...friendly people...will be back!!!


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 11/06/2017:

Thanks jirimo2001 for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon here at The River Club in Bradenton, Florida.<br/>


peckhad's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 11/02/2017:

Thank you peckhad for your 5-star review and feedback of The River Club here in Bradenton, Florida. We appreciate you taking the time and hope to see you back again very soon for more of the best golf in SWFL.

"Getting better"


Larrywacko's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

There getting this course back in shape.. Greens better , traps and fairways need help , but all in all nice and fun round..


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 10/25/2017:

Thanks Larrywacko for your 4-star review and feedback of our golf course. It is great to see you enjoyed your round. Please come back and see us again very soon!

"nice coarse condition"


rondipal's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

fairways and greens both very nice. Rough was tough but fair. Very nice golf course overall. will definitely play here again.Golf now provided the great value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 10/16/2017:

Thanks rondipal for the great 5-star review of The River Club here in Bradenton, Florida. We love seeing you will be back and we look forward to it!

"River Club"


u000004804948's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A pleasant testing course with some great holes.

In good condition considering the hurricane that went through not long ago.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 10/16/2017:

Thank you so much for your 4-star review and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again very soon here in Bradenton for more of the best golf in the area.


CJHICKMAN's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 10/16/2017:

Thanks CJHICKMAN for the review of our golf course. Please let us know if you ever need anything and we hope to see you back again soon!

"Great condition"


Jim7364027's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Playing after hurricane Irma the course was in great shape. Had not played the course in a couple years. The condition is greatly improved. Very nice greens and challenging fairways. Clubhouse bar and grill is under new management and the staff is very friendly. Enjoyed nice lunch after the round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



Papad2000's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 09/07/2017:

Thanks Papad for the review and feedback. Come back and see us again very soon!

"Challenging course worth playing"


Larrywacko's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is priced right and is in good shape not great but good.. This course is fun to play and will test you both front and back nine...Play this course, people are nice here..Stay for food and drink both good..


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 09/05/2017:

Thanks Larrywacko for the 4-star review of The River Club here in Bradenton, Florida. Please let us know if you ever need anything and come back and see us again very soon!

"Vacation 2017"


Paul9001172's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I give it a C- overall. For the same money I played Highlands which I rate an A-


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 09/05/2017:

Thanks Paul for coming out to The River Club. We appreciate you taking the time and we hope you will let us know if you ever need anything while you are here. Check back often for more great deals online and we hope to see you back again soon!



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 08/24/2017:

Thanks for the fantastic 4-star review of The River Club. Please come back and see us again very soon!


u094141087's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 08/24/2017:

Thank you for the fantastic 4-star review of The River Club. Please come back and see us again very soon!


Irishrover3's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 08/23/2017:

Hello Lawrence, we're happy you enjoyed a quick pace of play and our good course conditions. Thank you for playing The River Club!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed