Mission Inn Resort & Club - El Campeon Course

4.6433058824 4.6 stars from 5 (560)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7015 yards
  • Slope: 136
  • Rating: 73.8
  • Layout

  • 10400 County Rd 48, Howey in the Hills, Florida 34737, Lake County
  • (352) 324-3885
  • (352) 324-4199
  • www.missioninnresort.com
Write a review

Year built: 1917
Architect(s): C. E. Clarke (1926), George O'Neil (1917)
Type: Resort
Greens: Ultra Dwarf Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No t-shirts or tank tops. Shorts are allowed but must be proper style and length. No tennis shorts or athletic shorts.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7015 yards 73.8 136
Blue 72 6601 yards 72.0 135
Historic 72 6242 yards 70.3 131
Challenger 73 6073 yards 69.6 130
Gold 72 5624 yards 67.4 121
Gold (W) 73 5624 yards 72.9 133
Red (W) 73 4811 yards 68.6 125

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 560 Reviews
5 stars:
413
4 stars:
118
3 stars:
19
2 stars:
7
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

539 out of 558 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive at a resort in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include elevation changes water hazards bunkers   Great for drinks dinner brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Absolutely The BEST!"


CaptainDave13's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/21/2016
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

El Campeon at Mission Inn is absolutely the best place you can play in Florida. I have played here foe many years and have never not found the course in perfect condition. It is challenging and fun. It has the best scenic holes anywhere. You have uphill shots, downhill shots, peninsula greens, elevated greens, doglegs. The designer was genius. It is my favorite course in Florida.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Slow play"


rjbarabas's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great condition however the pace of play was extremely slow. There was a rain storm and we had to wait. We were nice and let the group behind us play throughout. That was a big mistake because they were drunk and throwing beer cans all over the course. They wanted to start a fight with us because we were waiting 5 minutes on them between shots. This could have all been avoided if there was a ranger. It's a shame because it's such a nice course.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Mission inn"


uJAKO4089JA's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Two of the best courses in the area, mission inn is absolutely a beautiful resort, if you want a true test to your game take on el campeon


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Well worth the wait!!"


Rafascott's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

This is an excellent course - great layout with some memorable holes but very tough. The course was in excellent shape considering hurricane Irma had recently passed through. Fairways and greens in great shape though off the fairway was challenging with fallen tree limbs etc after the hurricane. Par 3's excellent with good shots needed over water. Elevation changes make this a bit different to most 'Orlando area' courses.

Will certainly look to visit again!!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



u972268531's avatar
Skill:  Beginner

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"El Campeon es el campeon de Golf Now"


u000006141168's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Best experience ever on Golf Now.

Great layout and course is in great shape. Centenial year of operation and it is all first class to help celebrate. Hope Irma leaves it alone and we can go back soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Very challenging"


timk18's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

The course is very different from most Florida courses. Quite hilly and a lot of slope on the greens. Excellent layout. Fun to play, although it got the best of me!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great layout but doesn't drain well"


rwmichaelis's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Three are hills and more hills at El Campeon but all they do is make the bottom on the hill soggy and muddy. The 100 year old course could stand some upgrades with never design to improve drainage but that doesn't detract from the exception design of the overall course. The course has always been an exceptional value and "must play" while in Central Florida. It needs some tweaks to bring it into the 20th century.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great 36 Holes of golf & great practice green."


tjake53's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The past years since first playing both El Campeon & Las Colinas, I love playing here along with bringing my friends to play. One of my very golf clubs to play in Central FL.

Terry Jacobson


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



kb1212's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
Previously played Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Not Informed"


Bayonne17's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Booked course last week and no mention on Golfnow greens had bee punched earlier in the week. Got to the course and pro shop was very apologetic that information was not made public. As a VIP member it would be nice if Golfnow would make sure important alerts are put on their website so we as painting customers can make informed decisions.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Experience"


u000006806030's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Very great experience. Went for my 24th birthday. Arrived and the staff notified us of el campeon (supposed to play) just was aerified a few days ago. They moved us to Las Colinas at no charge and gave us range balls to warm up. Played the first 9 in a little over a hour. The last 9 took 3 hours but it was the weekend. Greens tee boxes fairways staff everything excellent. Thank you


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"El Campeón"


Melvin6833124's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Amazing course. One of the best courses in Florida. Staff is great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fantastic, beautiful and hilly course outside of Orlando"


jwalla129's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

This course was in great condition. Greens, fairways, and tee boxes are all very well maintained. I saw several groundskeepers upkeeping the course so you know they take great pride in the conditions of the golf resort. This is worth the 30 minute drive outside of Orlando to play here.

I saw the cart girl plenty of times and there were a few nice bathrooms along the course that had water fountains. I flew through the first 8 holes as a single with nobody in front but then it bottelnecked with a few groups of 4 that slowed us down. \

I would come back to play here as I had a great time.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great value"


whartley's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is an awesome course for a flatlander like myself. The elevation was a blast. Course was in good shape. Greens were in GREAT shape. Overall a great track for the money.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"1st timer"


guitar622's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

First time playing this course...very nice staff and starter. Course in fine shape, although several bunkers had standing water. Greens roll true. I shall return.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Golf as it was meant to be"


Pags821's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Stayed 2 days at the Mission inn and played el campeon twice. Course is one of the most scenic I've played. Played different tees on each day which really didn't make a difference. Course plays extra long with all the up and down terrain, not to mention the various lies (up/down/side hill) and elevated greens. Greens were in great shape, but way to slow. Take away all the screaming kids and ground crews trimming trees, and it was golf at it's purest. Btw, #17 has its own name (devil ?) hit a wedge to within 6 ft and made the bird. Great Staff and Superior resort!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"One of the best in Central FL"


thejam70's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Great course that will test you, with multiple greens across water, and nice hill features. Greens were soft, but fast. 3 some ahead of me was a bit slow, but allowed me to play through. For $40, this is one of the best values in central fl. Any price below $50 is worth it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



tmyers31552's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the best courses I have ever played. Worth a drive from Atlanta just to play. Can't say enough good things about the layout, challenge, the entire experience. I've recommended this course to anyone with a golf club since first playing the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


airboss1013's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in excellent condition and challenging. Definitely will return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course and terrific value!"


pfarach's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The layout of this course made it feel like I was playing on a mountain course instead of in Florida.

The only thing I was not too pleased about was the slow conditions of the greens. However, overall, it was a great experience for my first time on this course. I will definitely return.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed