Mission Inn Resort & Club - El Campeon Course

4.6802000000 4.7 stars from 5 (519)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7015 yards
  • Slope: 136
  • Rating: 73.8
  • Layout

  • 10400 County Rd 48, Howey in the Hills, Florida 34737, Lake County
  • (800) 874-9053, 352-324-3885
  • (352) 324-4199
  • www.missioninnresort.com
Write a review

Year built: 1917
Architect(s): C. E. Clarke (1926), George O'Neil (1917)
Type: Resort
Greens: Ultra Dwarf Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No t-shirts or tank tops. Shorts are allowed but must be proper style and length. No tennis shorts or athletic shorts.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7015 yards 73.8 136
Blue 72 6601 yards 72.0 135
Historic 72 6242 yards 70.3 131
Challenger 73 6073 yards 69.6 130
Gold 72 5624 yards 67.4 121
Gold (W) 73 5624 yards 72.9 133
Red (W) 73 4811 yards 68.6 125

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 519 Reviews
5 stars:
387
4 stars:
108
3 stars:
17
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

501 out of 517 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive at a resort in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views a weekend splurge   Challenges include elevation changes water hazards bunkers   Great for drinks dinner brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Absolutely The BEST!"


CaptainDave13's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/21/2016
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

El Campeon at Mission Inn is absolutely the best place you can play in Florida. I have played here foe many years and have never not found the course in perfect condition. It is challenging and fun. It has the best scenic holes anywhere. You have uphill shots, downhill shots, peninsula greens, elevated greens, doglegs. The designer was genius. It is my favorite course in Florida.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Pretty Amazing"


smgeo62's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played the course with a good friend, we also picked up a third and his wife (spectator/caddie/pin tender/bunker raker), she was awesome. Upon arrival the staff was very timely and attentive. We had an 11:08 tee time so I arrived at about 9:30 or so to warm up and grab a bite to eat. Well not so fast, the restaurant was not open so there was no breakfast available except perhaps something from the cart girl who I did not see until about #7. So I started feeling a little famished, (if you have an early tee time get breakfast on the way). Range balls were not included in the $85.00 price which I found a little odd I guess. Typically when I pay that much to play golf pre-round range balls are included(not the case here). Nor do they provide for any type of Military Discount while I do not always expect it I always ask. The golf course was absolutely amazing tee boxes, fairways, and greens were in great condition. We noticed that they had removed the Black Tee Markers from play probably not a bad thing for first time visitors. No issues with pace of play. I have played golf in lots of places, this does not feel like a Florida course lots of elevation changes and just a beautiful course. Sand in the bunkers seemed to be very heavy and thick. I was able to card a 92 while my good friend scored 90, it was a great challenge and we will go again. If you live in the state of Florida this one is worth a visit, you will not be disappointed. Well except for that breakfast thing....I'm Just Saying......Cheers,


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


JeanSloan's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course, condition & layout

We played as a two as did the 3 groups behind us. We followed 4 members playing in THEIR course at THEIR pace so we were backing up & waited at numerous holes


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Who knew New England could be found in Florida"


u180083355's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We booked this course never having played or heard anything about it. What a great surprise and treat to find such a great course that in some ways resembles our golf courses New England, tree lined with water features and real elevation changes. Greens that had breaks in them and had great pace. The layout is great and conditions were pure

We will be back in the future


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful layout"


Paul1509478's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was my first time playing this course and it reminded me a little of playing back in Wisconsin . A lot of adulation on this course instead of maple and oak trees there is palm trees. The next time I play this course I'll be better a couple of holes have blind shots where I thought I hit great shots only to find out I was in hazards or tree obstruction such as hole #17 I have played at least 20 courses in the Orlando area and this course is by far the best and in great shape!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Mission Inn"


Joe3929020's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Absolutely outstanding day. Book a Hot Deal tee time and we were the first ones out. Golf course was fantastic. Playing a course with hills in Florida is something different. Quickly became one of my favorites.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"El Campeon shines, but thirstily"


Pete5646216's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played twice yesterday. One of the nicest courses in the area. Course conditions are 5 stars across the board and nicest greens with truest roll we played all week. Super friendly staff. Awesome layout with surprising elevation changes. Only thing knocking it down a star is lack of fresh drinking water on the course and rarely saw cart girl. 85 degree day made that critical. Wife who is a 17 hcp loved the red tees and felt they were fair to her.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u646624025's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great golf course. Varied elevation, great hole layout and beautiful 100+ year trees and shrubs. Good osprey nest about hole 14. Hole 17 is a super challenge.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Central Florida Gem"


u8579675's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My son and I had a great time at Mission Inn. A short drive from Orlando, yet El Campeon felt like you were in another state with its rolling hills. Definitely a refreshing change from the flat courses of Central Florida. We finished in just under 4 hours on a Saturday, so pace of play was great. The course was in really great shape too. I would describe the course as challenging but not ridiculously difficult. The fairways are spacious and at times forgiving. Greens were fantastic. The value for the price makes it worth the drive. Well done Mission Inn!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent experience"


burgalah's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

played 3/11 w/ 716am tee time. Got out early with another single. Course conditions were overall fantastic. Greens were immaculate. Fairways were excellent. Tee boxes were great. pace of play for two people a little over 3 hours. Great deal on golfnow for almost half off. Great wandering layout. No two holes alike. Elevation changes unlike most FL courses. priority on shot placement. cant spray it off the tee. overall great experience. Mosdef come back again. Worth the extra $. Didn't go to the driving range or restaurant inside but they had a beverage cart riding around.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Best course around"


Jamesandcatrin's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is the best course around the Orlando area and in great condition this year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"All I can say is "WOW!!!""


Billbuzzie's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Ontario Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played this course with 6 of my buddies. Yes, it was a drive from Kissimmee, but well worth it!! It was in such good shape and such a great layout, I would honestly say that I could play this course every day, every time I'm in Florida. Lots of challenge and elevation changes.... great change from other Florida courses. All my buddies said it was the best course they ever played and probably would EVER play! We played early and saved $36 each. Played behind one other group and pace was great. Island greens are a treat. Lunch was good, but a little overpriced. Don't miss this course when you're within a couple hours drive!!! It IS that good!! Well done Superintendent and staff!!! Much appreciated!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



David2162891's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u674111115's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Play this course."


golfnickohio's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wonderful, classic course. Cannot imagine that it is 100 years old ! It even actually has elevation changes ! in Florida... .. It ia a little tricky getting to the pro-shop if you are not staying at the resort. Not marked all that well. Look closely for the signs.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"worth the money"


Ceasar3427158's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Both courses are in great shape, greens are within the top 5 of the area! The course was way better than the company. Paired with 2 strangers, one was a-okay, the other one thought he was the best ;) He had more gadgets than clubs and he used them all, all the time. He even used his rangefinder on the green all the time, even within 10 feet distance, lol. Anyhow, besides that, we had a good time and played like, you know what!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best course in Florida!"


Robthebirdie's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Simply the best course we played so far in Florida. A1 conditions from tee to green; thumbs up to the ground keepers. Excellent service with friendly staff. We (me and my wife) were the first one out in the morning at 7am and finished the round in about 3.5 hours. Two uphill holes were fairly challenge. We enjoyed the round and scenery very much. Excellent value in particular with GN hot deal. Will definitely back for more.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"AN OLD CLASSIC!"


jvwedgemobil's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Mission Inn is a total golf experience. The golf courses, the pro shop, the practice facility, The dinning and the accommodating staff.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Doody7339's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This coarse was recommended to us. It was a one hour drive. We were very impressed with our first impression. The coarse was in need of maintenance. Mud in the fairways. The greens were very interesting. The set up of holes were extremely unfair in length and configureation...especially THE number one handicap hole. Named el deablo... I would not recommend it for these reasons, plus the cost is $109.00 per, which is to much for the condition and drive time.... I hate giving bad reviews, but I use them before booking a new coarse.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 03/14/2017

The course was in GREAT shape! The hardest hole on the course shouldn't be a cake walk. Give your head a shake!


Commented on 02/22/2017

Mission Inn Resort & Club would first like to thank you for coming out to our facilities and we do appreciate your review! We do apologize if there was any lack of clarity on our course configuration, please feel free to contact the Pro Shop so we can ensure a future visit that ensures you a great experience! You may contact us at 352-324-3101



Nols21's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course and highly recommend"


LScarlett's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape with challenging holes and fair greens. One of the best courses in Orlando and played for the first time this trip. Pace of play was exact 4 hours 15 mins and teed off early as a foursome but moved through each hole

Most greens are elevated with some tight holes for shot making

A pleasurable experience and will play again.

Had lunch at the main inn overlooking 17th fairway and enjoyed the ambience

Looking forward to playing the sister course as well


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed