Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run

3.8506000000 3.9 stars from 5 (616)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7014 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 73.7
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 100 Indigo Run Dr, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina 29926
  • (843) 689-2200
  • (843) 681-6799
  • goldenbear-indigorun.com
Write a review

Year built: 1993
Architect(s): Jack Nicklaus (1993)
Type: Semi-Private
Style: Woodland
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: ParView GPS Full Color System on

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirts are required. Shorts must be Bermuda-length. Tennis shoes are allowed.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7014 yards 73.7 132
Blue 72 6643 yards 72.0 128
Gold 72 6184 yards 70.1 122
White 72 5259 yards 66.4 115
Red 72 4974 yards 68.9 115

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 3.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 617 Reviews
5 stars:
147
4 stars:
307
3 stars:
105
2 stars:
41
1 stars:
17

recommend this course

515 out of 614 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions at a resort   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards narrow fairways   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Glad I played it"


u00000843126's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This course is closing in the summer for renovations.but don't let that stop you from playing. Fairway a little sparse in places but still great. The greed were in great condition and held nicely. Make sure you run up and take a look at your shots around the greens because water and or sand comes out further then you think. Had a great time.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Jacks course"


tommyboyz28's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

All in all a great challenging course for all levels of skill. Beautiful holes just difficult in the morning on front 9 with sun in your eyes. Really enjoyed it.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great course"


uEJNT2276EJ's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in great condition, it's fairways are clean of debris, and grass is growing. As all coursss here in Hilton Head it's tight but lots of fun.

I recommend it to everyone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/20/2017:

Outstanding! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience a Golden Bear and that you found our course in good condition. Can't wait to have you back again soon!

"Fun to play"


u000004190933's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good condition with no evidence of the hurricane. I expected from other reviews to be hitting anything but driver off tees. In fact from the yellow tees ~6000 yds, the course presented a good test of tee shots where driver was an option and was rewarded if struck well.

The greens putted very true.

There was no starter or refreshment cart on the day we played but neither was an issue for us. Could be when course is busy and pace of play isn't as quick as our time of 3 hrs 20 mins.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/20/2017:

Great! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your round with us at Golden Bear. We're pleased that you found our course in good condition and that you were able to use a variety of your clubs. We look forward to having you back again soon!

"Poor conditions"


u000006194299's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was looking forward to this round but was really disappointed with the overall condition of the course. Great layout and like most of the courses in HH was beautiful but the fairways and round were very poor and in some spots outright awful. I wouldn't go back with all the other options available


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/20/2017:

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed our layout but we apologize that our course conditions did not meet your expectations. We are working at improving conditions everyday and we appreciate your feedback. We hope you will give us another try in the future!


cookie0049's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/20/2017:

Awesome! Come back soon!

"Not in the best condition"


ypd703's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played there a bunch of times. Never saw that course in such bad shape. Fairways we're not good, dry and lots of bald spots. The bunkers were filled with debris and like hard pack dirt. Not Happy!!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/20/2017:

Thanks for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your round with us. We apologize that our course conditions did not meet your expectations. We are improving our conditions everyday and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you again and we hope you will give us another try in the future!

"A lovely course on Hilton Head Island"


vilnis's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful course in the woods with lots of water. Fairways are still green inspite of the view that many other courses' "brown" fairways.

Greens are Fast!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/12/2017:

Outstanding! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at Golden Bear. We're glad that you enjoyed our course conditions and the scenery of our course. We can't wait to have you back again soon!

"Jack's fair -ways"


u000005584445's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This Nicklaus design is a fair mix of water and strategically placed fairways and greens. Demanding driver placement and short iron play were key on day of play. Overall the course was in good shape and the greens ran true and firm. Completely enjoyed the experience and would recommend a round at this great facility.....truly a good value. Thanks again to the friendly staff! Thumbs up!


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/10/2017:

Great! We're pleased that you enjoyed your round with us. We're glad that you enjoyed our course conditions as well as the customer service our staff provided to you. Can't wait to have you back!

"Spring Break round #1"


svanderw's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Teed off early, so pace was good. Fairways and greens were in good shape, tee boxes and rough could use some work. Would play it again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/10/2017:

Awesome! We're glad that you enjoyed our course conditions and we appreciate your feedback on our tee boxes and rough. We hope to have you back soon!

"Mr. Nicklaus would be upset"


u000005173050's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course conditions were unacceptable. Little to no grass. Tee boxes were torn up. Just in poor shape. Mr. Nicklaus would be embarrassed and upset about the conditions of this course. I have played plenty of Jack Nicklaus courses, this was disappointing to say the least. Jack Nicklaus course near my home in the mid west is in better shape!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/10/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We're sorry that our course conditions did not meet your expectations. Once we get more into season course conditions will improve. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will give us another try in the future!


MissFun's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/05/2017:

Outstanding! Glad you enjoyed your experience with us at Golden Bear!

"Was Jack Involved?"


u000005211152's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This course was like so many in the area, winding through homes and a development. My understanding of Jack's principals of design, he wants the player to see what is in front of him and be rewarded for good shots. I don't think there was a single straight hole out there, and if they could make the par 3s doglegs I think they would have. Much of the course felt like target golf, and course knowledge would have gone a long way. I hit several straight drives that ended up in bunkers at the dogleg bend, not what I would have expected from a Jack course, but typical of the Hilton Head Island courses.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/06/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoy you experience with us. We're sorry that the course did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll give us another try in the future!


kpaulson1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/05/2017:

Awesome! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We're pleased that you enjoyed our staff as well. Come back soon!


uQJIA6501QJ's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/05/2017:

Awesome! Come back soon!


mcknightrf's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/05/2017:

Thanks for your review! Glad you enjoyed your experience with us!

"PERFECT!"


jamesjb4's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

First make sure you use correct address to get to course or you may be late for your tee time. Your GPS will send you to the wrong gate. From the pro to the starter and ranger everyone was very nice here.

I played Dolphin Head the day before and the greens there were much faster. I will say that the condition of this course is much better. I had a 7:50 tt and the pace of play was supurb! It was like playing at a country club the whole round. We finished in 3 1/2 hours. Fairways bunkers and rough only thing preventing a straight 5 stars here. I would recommend this course. Jack has put lots of bunkers everywhere specially around the greens. Your approach shots have to be accurate. Lastly, lots of tee options here. Select the appropriate one for your group and you'll have a great time


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/05/2017:

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed your experience with us at Golden Bear. We're glad that you enjoyed our staff and that you played at a good pace. We appreciate your feedback on our course conditions and we hope to have you back soon!

"Good/Bad/Ugly"


HasenohrP's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Good was the staff friendly and professional . The bad was the time of play over 5 hours plus, Yes, very busy day. The ugly where the Tee box's, fairways, and chipping area's around greens. Typical H H I course nice greens and nothing else to brag about. Could it just be lack of rain water to the area of H H I or short man power of the grounds crew. I was told Matthew back in October placed a dent in the budget for many course.....and it sure does show. T/U Mark Jay and neighbor friend Paul for there company..


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/05/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not fully enjoy your round with us. We're glad that our staff left a great impression on you, but we apologize for the slow pace of play and that our course conditions did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use your review to help us improve moving forward. Thank you and we hope you will give us another try in the future!

"Great time"


JimD69's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Had a great round. Weather was Beautiful!! Greens were in good shape. Finished 18 in exactly 4 hrs. Was told that during off season they will be closing and building brand new amenities. Definitely coming back next time.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/05/2017:

Awesome! We're glad that you enjoyed your round with us. We're pleased that you enjoyed our course conditions and that the pace of play was good. Can't wait to have you back soon!

"Can't Believe It Is A Nicklaus Course"


johnneville2's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nicklaus would have a fit if he knew what was going on at this course. Conditioning was below average with the exception of the greens which were excellent. Place looked scrappy with very little attention to detail. No cart girl and poor service in clubhouse. Round was over 5 hours and when the marshal came around and we asked him why it was so slow his response was there is no one ahead of you. There were 2 foursomes waiting on the next tee. The guy had no clue.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/05/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We're sorry that our course conditions were not up to your expectations and that you did not receive the customer service that we strive to provide to all of our guests. We appreciate all of your feedback and we will make sure to use your review to help us improve moving forward. Thank you again and we hope to have you back in the future!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed