Kiva Dunes Golf Course

4.6305882353 4.6 stars from 5 (83)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7092 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 73.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Accepted

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7092 yards 73.9 132
Blue 72 6464 yards 70.8 129
White 72 5849 yards 67.8 119
Red (W) 72 5006 yards 68.5 115

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 83 Reviews
5 stars:
61
4 stars:
19
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

81 out of 83 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Great for a weekend splurge advanced golfers group getaways   Challenges include bunkers  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Best on The Gulf"


imissimissimake's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course was in perfect condition. Lush fairways and perfect greens. Renovation in 2015 created playability for all levels of golfers. We felt welcomed and the staff made sure we had everything we needed and were enjoying our day. Generous fairways and big greens help accommodate the breeze off the gulf. KIVA DUNES is a must play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great golf course"


dannyshockley's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

From tees to greens a great golfing experience. Fairways and greens are excellent. This course is not for a bogey golfer. Difficult but rewarding for shot makers. Greens roll super smooth.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Greens were super"


dannyshockley's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course to play winter or summer. Fairways and greens we’re excellent. I would recommend this course to players with handicap not over 18. This is s shot making course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"January golf is always iffy."


twodaydr's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The weather was great on the day we played, but would have sucked the day before or after.

Course is difficult, some of the greens are ridiculous. Obviously it would help to know the course.

Staff was very pleasant.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice layout"


Pipeline2's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape. Greens were awesome. I will play it again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great golf course"


Richard9971974's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I found this course to be in excellent condition for this time of year. Greens were firm and fast and rolled true. Fairways were cut to a good height. Bunkers were playable and plentiful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"First time@this Course... I WILL RETURN !!"


u129524441's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great condition! Top notch service.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Day after Christmas"


Jim4178757's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course, played easier than expected. I suspect if there was a cross wind our results would not be so good. Greens were in excellent condition for this time year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Kiva demands accuracy, strategy"


BrandonWebb's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Birmingham Advisor
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

This Jerry Pate design is always among the rankings of top public and best courses in Alabama lists. Though not situated on the ocean, its proximity to it is close enough for the wind to wreak havoc. This was my first visit to Kiva Dunes, and I thought it was blowing pretty good. The starter said the wind was actually down today. I can't imagine the teeth this track bears on "windy" days.

The first thing you should consider is which tees to play. The tips (gold) play 7,122 yards (73.6/134). The Blues play 6,505 yards (70.8/128); Whites play 5,878yards (68.7/119); Greens play 5,495 yards (67.1/115); and Reds play 5,006 yards (69.5/115). I was torn between the blues and whites. I generally prefer to play between 6,200 and 6,500 yards so I asked the starter if the course plays to the yardage, longer or shorter. He advised that the course plays longer due to the wind. I chose the whites and enjoyed it very much. I found that half the holes played into the wind and half played downwind. I didn't encounter any cross winds so I think although the sub 6,000-yard tees appeared short, it probably payed more like 6,200.

Pate did a nice job varying the tee shots required. From the whites I was able to use a variety of clubs off the tee, including several long irons. There are some very generous landing zones on several holes, while the scrub trees choke the fairways on others. Placement is more important than length, which leads me to my first piece of constructive criticism: the pro shop does not sell a yardage guide and the carts are not equipped with GPS, so as an unaccompanied single getting his first look at the golf course it was rather challenging. They do provide a diagram of the holes in the cart, but it would be helpful to know how far it is to carry fairway bunkers or avoid hazards off the tee.

The TifEagle Bermuda greens were very smooth, but were not as fast as I would've expected. The starter said they were a bit slower this time of year in an effort to keep them healthy. I was also surprised to find that there was no grain in them. They are some dramatic slopes in many of the greens. Lag putting will be another premium here, since it can take a few holes or nine to realize that the greens are extremely firm and roll out immensely, particularly downwind. I would suggest using a club less. Approaches into the wind held pretty well on the target.

Bunkers were in excellent shape and were extremely consistent.

My other constructive criticism is that although I know the starter meant well, he informed myself and others on the range that he didn't adhere to tee times and he sent players off as they were ready. I hesitate to be too critical of this A) because I really liked him and he was very helpful in preparing me on what to expect and B) because It could be advantageous if you are in a hurry and want to slip out a little early. However, I felt rushed. I was supposed to go off with a twosome, but instead was sent off as a single 20 minutes early and ahead of a twosome that was waiting on the tee for their scheduled tee time, which was a bit uncomfortable. Once on the course, I played through a twosome and encountered a single who was playing behind a threesome and another foursome. Two-thirds of the round was extremely slow, with extended wait times between shots, so maybe adhering to proper tee times and not sending singles out amidst threesomes and foursomes would improve pace of play.

In summary, this is a tough play the first time around unless you have someone playing with you to guide you. However, provided you play the right tees it is a very enjoyable, yet demanding course. Clubbing in the wind and crafty lag putting will lend you an advantage. I look forward to playing it again to utilize what I learned.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




doosang8813's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent condition"


ronkay's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were fast and smooth and very fun to putt on. The course is pretty flat but with plenty of water, sand and hazards. The fairways were also cut real short but in great shape especially for this time of year.

Very friendly and helpful staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



tincup334's avatar
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course is in great shape!"


eleblanc78's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Entire course is in great shape. Friendly staff. A must play


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



u9410327's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Top Notch"


jlberkowitz's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent condition. The greens were running fast and true. Very impressed!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u993543901's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


"Kiva"


u7870499's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways and greens were in great shape, greens do run fast, quite a challenge! Good job to green keepers


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Tom4466012's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course has a good layout. The greens are in great shape. I had a very enjoyable day. I highly recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"It a must"


LanceGilliland's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Luv this course. Great layout. Always challenging. Sand in bunkers is top notch and you will play out of One or Two or Several. If it’s windy don’t expect to go low. Greens were in great shape.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Must play"


u00000113607's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is a must play if you are in the Gulf Shores area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Keep it in the fairway, because it is tough out of the trees. :)


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Darrel2632217's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging course keep it in the fairway to do good. Greens are tricky.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed