Kiva Dunes Golf Course

4.5312352941 4.5 stars from 5 (52)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7092 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 73.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Accepted

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7092 yards 73.9 132
Blue 72 6464 yards 70.8 129
White 72 5849 yards 67.8 119
Red (W) 72 5006 yards 68.5 115

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 52 Reviews
5 stars:
36
4 stars:
15
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

52 out of 52 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Great for a weekend splurge advanced golfers group getaways   Challenges include bunkers  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Best on The Gulf"


imissimissimake's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course was in perfect condition. Lush fairways and perfect greens. Renovation in 2015 created playability for all levels of golfers. We felt welcomed and the staff made sure we had everything we needed and were enjoying our day. Generous fairways and big greens help accommodate the breeze off the gulf. KIVA DUNES is a must play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fun course"


James4715354's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course play well even though the greens were recently sanded


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


Bob3362317's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Kiva is a great place to play. It's a great layout and was in great shape even though the greens were punched recently. Play it if you get the chance.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"More Thoughtful Than Your Average Resort Beach Course"


CaptWillard's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Mississippi Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

My experience with resort courses near the beach is that they're usually well maintained but rarely thoughtful (think your average Arnold Palmer Course). Kiva Dunes is the exception: it's always in tremendous shape, and it requires a lot more strategy to get around. The par 5's are especially well designed: they're not long, but anyone going for a green in two will face very tight windows on their approach shots. The course is in particularly good shape right now. I don't think I noticed a single fungal outbreak, which is tough to avoid this time of year in the Deep South. Kiva Dunes is head-and-shoulders above its Gulf Shores neighbors.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course. Held up very well to rain over previous several days."


u769228737's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed course. Challenging. Lots of trouble. Great condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000008103613's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good time"


u7256466's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff were excellent from the moment our 4-some drove up. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. Free range balls are a plus. The course was well kept, greens hard and fast. Not too challenging of a course but there is plenty of trouble if you miss a shot. I've heard from the locals that there are cheaper courses around but for my money this is not a bad option. Enjoy!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Kiva worth the drive"


dzepp's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Kiva Dunes is a bit of a drive down Ft Morgan road. But I think that is what makes it a great place to play. It's a neat location on the peninsula, the train is a little different than most, and there always seems to be a nice warm golf breeze. Very well manicured course and definitely one you should play if you're in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"This course is a great layout."


Bamascott7's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice practice facilities, greens were really good. You can make the course as hard as you want with the different sets of tees. Really enjoyed the round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Gary5623496's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Good day"


mfugejohn54's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great round with good friends. Love Kiva Dunes. Starter was very friendly and got us on the course in a manner where we never had to wait and no one waited on us. Very enjoyable day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



gyoung2409's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u000001091390's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u549352146's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u791359610's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Man"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was an excellent experience. The beer carts girl was on point and the starter guy was the best ever. Can't wait to play again


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Wonderful experience"


4MyGolf2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As first-timers playing the course, it was slightly difficult maneuvering around. No course map on the card. The staff were excellent and very helpful. Bunkers in great condition. Fairways were like carpet. Green very challenging, large with relentless slope and undulations. Overall, a wonderful experience. Not to be missed.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Very Nice!!"


David5354608's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in outstanding condition, though the greens were very fast and not always true, they were in great condition. You have to hit your targets on this course and if it is windy, which it definitely can be since it sits between the gulf and the bay, you really need to hit your targets. The course is not super long and a couple of the par 5's can be reached in 2 from the whites and if you hit long, a couple of the par 4's are drivable. Staff was outstanding and pace of play was unusually good for this area. All in all a very nice day out.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Pristine course"


Shoe41's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a top notch course. From the range to having bag drop person clean your clubs at the end of the round while at your car, this course has it all. The fairways were in immaculate condition. The greens were very fast and rolled true, although were very firm so the ball did not bite too well...even with high approach iron shots. The undulating greens and layout of course was a real treat. If you're looking for a 5 star course and willing to pay what it's worth, highly recommend Kiva Dunes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"fantastic course, great experience"


TeeSib18's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

There's a reason it was best in the state last year. Great course, in great shape, fun layout. The weather was perfect when I played and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. I will be back to play again!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Exemplary course"


bashmaster's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pristine golf course. I am amazed that it wasn't booked all day. The ter boxes and fairways were immaculate. The rough was even in great shape. The greens were hard but beautiful so make sure you plan it to roll out even with premium balls. Every hole is challenging. Water is in sneaky places so be careful. The starter was very friendly and even gave me a yardage book (a must have on this course.). Very fun course and even has a driveable par 4. A must play at any price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed