Kiva Dunes Golf Course

4.5952058824 4.6 stars from 5 (63)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7092 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 73.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Accepted

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7092 yards 73.9 132
Blue 72 6464 yards 70.8 129
White 72 5849 yards 67.8 119
Red (W) 72 5006 yards 68.5 115

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 63 Reviews
5 stars:
45
4 stars:
15
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

61 out of 63 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Great for a weekend splurge advanced golfers group getaways   Challenges include bunkers  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Best on The Gulf"


imissimissimake's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course was in perfect condition. Lush fairways and perfect greens. Renovation in 2015 created playability for all levels of golfers. We felt welcomed and the staff made sure we had everything we needed and were enjoying our day. Generous fairways and big greens help accommodate the breeze off the gulf. KIVA DUNES is a must play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u6182928's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



u6182928's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"As good as advertised"


jathames22's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Beautiful course! Greens rolled fast and true! Layout is great! Makes you think your way around!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Pin Placement"


u641967332's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great golf course, but today greens were lighting fast and all pins were nearly impossible to put!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Kiva"


gcrews's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice track. One of the best in the area. Steelwood in Loxley and this course on my two favorites.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course, great location, great layout!!"


ikeandarb's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

In town for work and I currently live in Hawaii so I play some very nice courses. Was looking forward to playing with a great friend of mine who lives in Irvington. I drove over 2 hours from Destin where I was staying to play the course so I was hoping it was all it was cracked up to be; it was. Needless to say, we both had an awesome time even though we both didn't play too well.

The young men who took our bags were attentive and courteous. The pro shop attendant was very nice and the starter was awesome. He gave us some pointers on some holes and even drove around later and asked us how we liked the course.

This particular day, the weather was extremely windy which made the course exponentially harder. The greens are super fast and very firm...but fair.

I'm a 6 handicap and my short game is my strength and I finished with 33 putts and shot an 89. In fairness, I didn't strike my irons as well as I normally do but I didn't get the speed of the greens down until maybe the 5th hole or so.

Nevertheless, the course is excellent and if I lived in the area I'd play it quite often. It's a must play!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great greens, average layout, not worth the price"


bvinard's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

The greens were great - read true with nice pace.

However, the course was nothing special and I'm certainly glad I didn't pay the full rate. $76 was still way too much. Gulf Shores Golf Club is a much nicer course - better layout and in better condition for less than half the cost of the full rate.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Course is nice, staff is not."


Craig5630898's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Let me begin by saying the course was in great shape and the grounds were very well-kept. However 2 bad experiences with staff leads me to believe it wasn’t just one bad egg. Donny the starter insisted I go out 45 min prior to my tee time bc he said ‘you do not want to get behind the elderly couple!’ He also told me which tees I’d be playing that day! Lol

I was looking forward to taking advantage of the ‘complimentary’ range balls, and assumed I could hit the range after the round (2.75 hrs since no one was ahead of me) since ‘Donny the starter’ sent me out so early. When I pulled back up to hit balls after the round I was directed to the pro shop where the kid says I can pay $20 to use the range after a round.

1. If range balls are complimentary, they are complimentary. Period. Either offer the service, or don’t.

2. Donny and the kid in the pro shop left a terrible taste to a good round of golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Fun course"


James4715354's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course play well even though the greens were recently sanded


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


Bob3362317's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Kiva is a great place to play. It's a great layout and was in great shape even though the greens were punched recently. Play it if you get the chance.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Resort Course"


pbftchicken's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/17/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Wide open fairways with trees and hazards on the sides. Some carry over shots needed over shrubs, etc.

Fun course to play, not to mention the course was healing nicely after aerficiation


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"More Thoughtful Than Your Average Resort Beach Course"


CaptWillard's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Mississippi Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

My experience with resort courses near the beach is that they're usually well maintained but rarely thoughtful (think your average Arnold Palmer Course). Kiva Dunes is the exception: it's always in tremendous shape, and it requires a lot more strategy to get around. The par 5's are especially well designed: they're not long, but anyone going for a green in two will face very tight windows on their approach shots. The course is in particularly good shape right now. I don't think I noticed a single fungal outbreak, which is tough to avoid this time of year in the Deep South. Kiva Dunes is head-and-shoulders above its Gulf Shores neighbors.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course. Held up very well to rain over previous several days."


u769228737's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed course. Challenging. Lots of trouble. Great condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Wally1353648's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/29/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Encountered heavy storm and 30 minutes after it stopped could barely tell it had rained. Drains really well. Fun course to play!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000008103613's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good time"


u7256466's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff were excellent from the moment our 4-some drove up. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. Free range balls are a plus. The course was well kept, greens hard and fast. Not too challenging of a course but there is plenty of trouble if you miss a shot. I've heard from the locals that there are cheaper courses around but for my money this is not a bad option. Enjoy!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Kiva worth the drive"


dzepp's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Kiva Dunes is a bit of a drive down Ft Morgan road. But I think that is what makes it a great place to play. It's a neat location on the peninsula, the train is a little different than most, and there always seems to be a nice warm golf breeze. Very well manicured course and definitely one you should play if you're in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"This course is a great layout."


Bamascott7's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice practice facilities, greens were really good. You can make the course as hard as you want with the different sets of tees. Really enjoyed the round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Gary5623496's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed