The Senator Course at Shula's Golf Club

3.7670529412 3.8 stars from 5 (341)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6982 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 73.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6982 yards 73.9 132
White 72 6447 yards 71.2 125
Silver 72 5954 yards 69.4 118
Silver (W) 72 5954 yards 74.7 129
Red (W) 72 5259 yards 70.6 123

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 341 Reviews
5 stars:
64
4 stars:
183
3 stars:
63
2 stars:
21
1 stars:
10

recommend this course

293 out of 339 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near the airport worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers entertaining clients   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks amazing food brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Best value in MIA"


u4138986's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played different courses in dade and broward county . Shula's is the best value of golf, course layout and quite honestly it's got a quaint feeling in a big city . We play different courses but always end up going back to shulas . You won't be disappointed .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/22/2017

u4138986,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad that you had a great time while playing at Shula's. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/22/2017

meduza28,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



rey1golf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/22/2017

rey1golf,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. Please let us know what we could have done better to improve your experience.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



Carlos3930765's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/22/2017

Carlos3930765,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Great course"


Wxg172's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing this course and I would recommend it fairways were in great shape and the greens were getting good nice course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/22/2017

Wxg172,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the conditions of the course. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



u925262211's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/01/2017

u925262211,

Thank you for reviewing Shula's Golf Club. Please let us know how we can improve upon your experience while playing at Shula's Golf Club.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Very Fun Course to play at"


marioesierra's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed my time playing at Shula's, it's a very fun place to play at. Everyone is friendly and the food is amazing.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/01/2017

mariosierra,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience while playing at Shula's.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Poor value and poor practice facility"


u000005003447's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Range matts and balls were disgustingly dirty. So bad, I could only hit about a dozen balls because rest had cakes on mud... no attempt to clean them.

-starter super nice, rest were lacking in service. Starter was first person to tell me it was cart path only.

-very disappointing round... I left the course


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 08/01/2017

u000005003447,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We apologize for the condition of the range when you arrived. This is not the experience we want our customers to receive. Your feedback will be used to help re-train outside staff. It is imperative that these conditions improve for our guests. We hope you see an improvement on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



slubills1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice golf course. Lot of water on the back 9. The starter was friendly and helpful with some tips before we went out. However, no water on the course and the snack bar was closed when we turned so no chance to get anything to drink. Unacceptable in Florida in July.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 08/01/2017

slubills1,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. There is drinking water located in the shelter that can be accessed by 4 green and 8 tee box. In addition there is drinking water located at 12 green and in the shelter by 16 green. Water and Gatorade are also available in the pro-shop until 6pm. The Bull Pen snack bar closes at 4pm on weekdays or earlier if the course is quiet. We apologize that you were unable to locate refreshments. We hope that you return soon to enjoy these amenities.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Has Lost it's touch"


Enarvaez14's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played at this course for several years, but it wasn't until my last visit that I realized how bad it had gotten. 1. The service isn't nearly the same; there was at least 4 guys working the area between the parking lot and the golf cart area and none of them offer to help with you bag. They simply point you to your cart and off you go. 2. The driving range is in extremely poor condition as there is no one working there, the cooler has no water, and the ball distributor gives you half the amount you pay for. Lastly, the course itself seems to be declining in quality as a lot of the grass is drying out. Pros: tees are provided and it's inexpensive.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/01/2017

Enarvaez14,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help in re-training our afternoon staff. I apologize that you did not receive excellent service that many of our members and repeat customers receive.

During the months of June and July, we received record amounts of rainfall. Our maintenance staff is working very hard at trying to get caught up with the mowing of the rough and fairways, especially on the back 9 and driving range.

Your comments will be used to improve service and overall guest experiences. We hope you return and notice improvements.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



u3383168's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/01/2017

u3383168,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. Please let us know how we can improve upon your most recent experience.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


Commented on 08/01/2017

u3383168,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. Could you elaborate more so that we can find ways to improve your experience?

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



carlos112949's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/05/2017

carlos 112949,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Update please"


winningsouls2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The carts were in bad shape. The one I was given had a lot of play in the steering wheel and felt like it was going to die any minute. The cart was not cleaned very well before using. There were quite a few attendees around but they were not very attentive. The greens were in great shape and a couple of the fairways could use some grass. This is not a complaint since I only paid $15 for the round but I just expected a little more for what is considered a signature course for the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/05/2017

u577540449,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. Your comments will allow us to re-train our outside staff to ensure that carts are presented properly and that damaged carts are not issued to golfers. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the greens. Now that we have received more rain, the weak areas are beginning to look healthier. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"The course is in great condition"


kelvinalston's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The only downside is that the greens speed is inconsistent. Made for disappointing putting.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/05/2017

kelvinalston,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find the speed of the greens to be consistent. We have Champion Bermuda grass on our greens. Down-grain putts will be much faster than putts into the grain. This can de difficult to read if one has not had a lot of experience on Bermuda greens. Our greens are mowed every day at the same height to ensure consistency. We hope that your next visit you will find more consistent green speeds.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Don Shula golf"


Colmenares's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very good shape the corse, people very friendly, no amenities after 2pm.

General, very good course to play


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/16/2017

Colmenares,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad to hear that you found the course in good condition. The Bull Pen restaurant is open weekdays from 7am - 4:30pm. It appears that you played after a tournament. We did not have a beverage cart scheduled that afternoon since we were expecting a quiet afternoon. We hope that you return very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



u289860047's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/16/2017

u289860047,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We hope you enjoyed your experience and will return very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



topgoon's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/09/2017

topgoon,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We hope that you enjoyed your experience with us and come back very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



u00003739862's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/09/2017

u000003739862,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We hope that you enjoyed your experience with us and come back very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



uVKUJ8099VK's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/04/2017

uVKUJJ8099VK,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We hope that you enjoyed the course and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed