The Senator Course at Shula's Golf Club

3.7803411765 3.8 stars from 5 (362)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6982 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 73.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6982 yards 73.9 132
White 72 6447 yards 71.2 125
Silver 72 5954 yards 69.4 118
Silver (W) 72 5954 yards 74.7 129
Red (W) 72 5259 yards 70.6 123

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 362 Reviews
5 stars:
68
4 stars:
195
3 stars:
67
2 stars:
22
1 stars:
10

recommend this course

314 out of 360 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near the airport worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers entertaining clients   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks amazing food brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

quirionc's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Value!"


Paul7405564's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were excellent! Course overall was good ... but great for $40! The front 9 much easier than the back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



Saulgross5800's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape. Back 9 is challenging with a lot of water in play off the drive. Front 9 is relatively easier. Great value


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great value"


Jlamb15's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great value for the money! Booked on golf now for 35. And well worth the money. Greens were in great shape, that rolled true.Fairways could have been cleaner, but still a great value. I did get behind 2 slower groups and caught them on 9, the pro shop sent someone out to me and told me to skip to 12 and play the others after. What great service! In its time this was a premiere club. Worth playing and heard the steak is fantastic!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


JeanLouis4187722's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens are fast, the back nine is challenging but fun to play. Overall a very enjoyable afternoon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"fun course"


Jerry1289604's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the golf course was a lot of fun to play,greens were in very good shape.fairways were good, staff was very helpful.all an all it was a very enjoyable day.would definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice Layout"


larry51gonz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in great shape. Nice layout on back nine with all the water features. Front nine pretty vanilla but we'll kept. Did not use pro shop or restaurant/bar so I can't make any comments. Nice greens and consistent. I would definitively come back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Paul5511640's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Too Much Water"


cduggan's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Usually enjoy this course but the back nine was so wet it was not enjoyable. There is a lot of water on the back nine as part of the design but on some of the fairways there was nowhere to hit the ball.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/05/2017

cduggan,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We have received record amounts of rainfall this fall. We hope to see you again now that the dry season has arrived.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Great experience"


chris7722193's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A bit wet after all the rain but layout is great ,greens excellent Loved it


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/05/2017

chris7722193,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We hope to see you soon now that the course has dried up from the fall rains.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Very nice layou"


cmdrtkm1952's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played Shulas this past Saturday and was pleasantly surprised. The course was in better shape than I remembered from playing here previously. The back nine was very wet but Thanksgiving Day it poured so it was to be expected. I will play here again in the not to distant future.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/28/2017

cmbrtkm1952,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Shula's Golf Club. More course improvements have been scheduled before the end of the year which should help with drainage. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Pace Of Play!!!"


Lazaro1888783's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you want to play 18 in 5.5 hours by all means you’re this is the place to be!!! I have never complained about pace of play but this was unbelievable... they had a “starter” that was useless... Price was great, greens were great... Tee boxes were hideous! Fairways were fair!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/28/2017

Lazaro1888783,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are sorry to hear that your pace of play was that slow. We were receiving reports from golfers who started after 12pm. that is was taking 4.5 hours to complete 18 holes. We had ranger staff on the course to assist in pace of play. We will revisit pace of play guidelines with our ranger/starter staff so that this doesn't happen again. Golfers have been able to complete their round in 4 hours when starting earlier in the day. We are scheduled to apply our first winter fertilizer application this week, which should help the tee boxes. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



LLefebvreCPA's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/28/2017

LLefebvreCPA,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. Please let us know how we can improve upon your most recent visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Best value in Miami"


msuman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is always in great condition. You play the front nine, think you have a good round going, then get to the watery back. I call it "Shula's Red Zone".

Holes 11-14 will test you!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/14/2017

msuman,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad that you enjoyed the golf course. Many of our members have come up with some unique descriptions from holes 11-14. I like the red zone. Very clever. We look forward to seeing you again in the red zone.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Value for money"


Helmersson's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played Shulas few years ago and loved it then. Got a chance to play it again. Good speed on the greens and fairway and tees were really good.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/14/2017

Helmersson,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at Shula's. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/14/2017

claudejoannie.

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Great Value"


mmcfjones's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I am playing all the Miami Golf Courses right now, and through Golfnow this is the best value. Recently discovered the course and have added it to my rotation. Pretty good condition and testing for a single handicap golfer off the back tees. Lots of water to add numbers to your scorecard. Had a good experience with staff, who make you feel welcome. Would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of playing a selection of the best Miami courses.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/14/2017

mmcfjones,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad that you found the course to be challenging from the back tees. We host a few college tournaments throughout the year and find that they are challenged from the back tees as well. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Good value."


Ramtoo's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good value for South Florida. Course was in good condition except back 9 was still a little wet from hard rain a few days before.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/14/2017

Ramtoo,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We hope that you come back soon now that everything has dried out from the record amounts of rainfall from October.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Weather"


cesar3469831's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played this course before I enjoy playing this course was disappointed when we got to the course and were told because of water damage on the the back nine,we had too play the front 9 twice .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/14/2017

cesar3469831,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. Like much of South Florida this past October, we received record amounts of rainfall forcing us to close 9 holes on some days. We hope that you return soon to enjoy the full 18.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club


"Still playable after rain"


smokifl's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We got to play in the afternoon after heavy rain the night before and in the morning. Could only play the front nine twice but it drained well and was able to play 90 degree without a problem. Enjoyed the round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/14/2017

smokifl,

Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We received record amounts of rainfall this past October. We hope that you come back soon now that all 18 holes are playable.

Sincerely,

Shula's Golf Club



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed