The Grand Bear Golf Course

4.6577000000 4.7 stars from 5 (149)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7204 yards
  • Slope: 143
  • Rating: 75.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes - 100 tees
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper Golf Attire Required: Collared Shirt (No Denim)
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Grizzly Bear 72 7204 yards 75.5 143
Golden Bear 72 6733 yards 73.0 139
Brown Bear 72 6221 yards 70.5 134
Black Bear 72 5638 yards 67.9 130
Teddy Bear 72 4802 yards 68.4 120

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 149 Reviews
5 stars:
105
4 stars:
39
3 stars:
4
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

146 out of 149 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs near local attractions   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Track"


mdebuck289's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2016
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in excellent shape and the layout is wonderful. There are no tricked up holes but the course will test your skills. For less than $50, no better deal in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Jack wouldn't be happy"


ToddyTrout1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

We played this course 2 years ago and it was an incredible course in great shape. When we played it this past Monday, the overall shape of the course was fair. The traps were washed out as can be expected with all of the rain they've had in the past month. But the fairways were not in great shape, the greens were slow, and there was NO grass on the tee boxes. The staff was excellent as they were the first time we played there.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



richhoff's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a gorgeous course. They had aerated the greens 13 days prior, but I knew that. They were still very bumpy and you could not get a putt to hold it's line. Another few weeks, and they should be great once again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


scottlsu's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great golf course. Fairways and tees in perfect shape. Greens had just been punched so they were bad but I am sure in a few weeks they will be great. Layout is unreal. No houses.....never see another hole when on the hole you are playing. Can't recommend this course enough. Will be going back SOON! Oh also saw about a 12 foot alligator....pretty cool!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



"Exceptional experience"


Manuel8277669's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This day at the course was amazing. The drive to the club house adds to its unique experience. Wish I could go there more often.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Danny7661312's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Course Conditions: Average


I recommend this course



u000007366628's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A must play golf course"


uQRVY6483QR's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful golf course, some challenging holes, great practice putting greens, friendly staff at the pro shop named, Toby, service was great. The starter Bailey was very knowledgeable about the course, very courteous, polite and professional. I would play this golf course again when I visit Biloxi MS, although it's about 40 minutes drive from my hotel it was worth the drive.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Pick your misses carefully"


4MyGolf2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The day was perfect, no clouds, slight breeze and dry conditions. Unfortunately, we were placed behind a tournament with 28 golfers. Pace was agonizingly slow and we wouldn't have booked knowing this. Front nine bunkers were damp and recovery was affected. Fairways and greens very good. Always a fun and challenging course with a wonderful layout.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u6438197's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


u000004224985's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent greens; fair but challenging course; scenic, too.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great day on the Course"


MarkusBear's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Good round of golf preceded by a wonderful reception from the Staff; Cart Attendent, Starter/Marshall and Pro Shop. One of the best Driving Ranges (on the way to the 1st Tee) you'll ever encounter. Course was in top condition and the tranquility of the natural surroundings enhanced the experience. You need to play this one . . .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


James4461470's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is an upscale type golf course- nice greens - pricy - a couple spots in need of repair but overall in very good condition


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Grand Bear"


MarcelGonzalez's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had an awesome day. Doyle in the front was very friendly and knowledgeable as Marshall. Driving range in great shape. Course was beautiful!!!! Great fairways and greens. Greens were very slick and fast. Clubhouse staff was great. Excellent way to watch the end of the Masters.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Biloxi golf"


u000004990495's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, great layout. Challenging but fair. Friendly staff. Can't wait to play this course again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great hidden gem"


uSTXH7350ST's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

We travel to Florida each winter,found this in Jan. And stopped again in April. Staff is so helpful.course is in great shape both times we were there. Love it

Thanks


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



LesFarmer's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Tame Nicklaus course"


RavensGolfer's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Jack's design normally give me fits, but I can recognize the challenge. Grand Bear was more of an average resort course. Front 9 made little impression other than the benign nature of the greens. Back 9 was more interesting (particularly the short par 4 10th & 17th) and the greens were considerably more intriguing.

Pro was very nice and helpful. Restaurant staff was great as was the food.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Very good - greens blemished a bit with sand."


jimvitale69's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is very fair off the tee, with some wide-ish fairways, or they give you some room in the rough.

Became a little monotonous with all the dogleg-right holes between 2 and like 12, but hey, it IS in fact a Nicklaus course, so that's what you'd expect. They did give you a couple dogleg lefts on the last 6 or 7 holes. Greens were probably good, but really hard to tell since they had a moderate amount of sand on them, which usually would speed them up to 10 or 11.

Unfortunately they were running about 8.5 or maybe 9.0 if I'm being generous, though they were fairly smooth. The greens were firm, but did hold shots from the fairway pretty well. Tees, fairway, bunkers in pretty good shape, though the sand is not very consistent throughout with some different kinds of sand.

i played the "Golden Bear" and my wife played the "Teddy Bear" tee boxes. Golden Bear was about 6750, but the fairways rolled out so it played shorter than that. Saw some baby alligators on 13 or 14 while crossing the bridge on the par3 - they were about 24-30 inches long. No other wildlife seen!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




tym2tup's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A must play if you're in the area."


u678138257's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well kept, picturesque course with an interesting layout. I was surprised it wasn't busier. Layout provided some challenges without being "tricked-up". Lots of sand, or it seemed so since i found so much of it. If I'm ever in the area again, I'm definitely playing here again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed