The Grand Bear Golf Course

4.6278411765 4.6 stars from 5 (158)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7204 yards
  • Slope: 143
  • Rating: 75.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes - 100 tees
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper Golf Attire Required: Collared Shirt (No Denim)
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Grizzly Bear 72 7204 yards 75.5 143
Golden Bear 72 6733 yards 73.0 139
Brown Bear 72 6221 yards 70.5 134
Black Bear 72 5638 yards 67.9 130
Teddy Bear 72 4802 yards 68.4 120

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 158 Reviews
5 stars:
112
4 stars:
40
3 stars:
4
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

154 out of 158 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs near local attractions   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Track"


mdebuck289's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2016
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in excellent shape and the layout is wonderful. There are no tricked up holes but the course will test your skills. For less than $50, no better deal in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best Shape Ever"


ricardo1946's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wet from last evening’s heavy rain but greens were perfect, fairways good. Cart path only because of the water but worth it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Wet but still in amazing shape"


blucky64's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I called on Wednesday they said it was no cart restrictions got there Thursday morning it was cart path only kind of disappointing but at no fault of the golf course they had two inches of rain and this course was still in amazing shape greens ran beautiful yes there were some wet spots but nothing you can do about human nature.. Tommy in the Pro Shop was very friendly and Bailey running the whole cart thing was exceptional.. fantastic Clubhouse also can't wait to come back and play at the Grand bear


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


poppiegolf5's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, layout is perfect, also very challenging.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Running from Irma"


Ktsc's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was a nice change from other courses I have played. Greens almost completely grown in from aeration.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Grand Bear"


uEYUV2505EY's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always a nice experience, wish it was a little easier to get to, wolf play it more often. They had just recently punched the greens and sanded them. Probably wouldn't have played them until they healed a little. But still a nice round of golf at a great Golf Now price. Would recommend this Course anytime.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice design"


u3019577's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens had just been plugged and sanded so I would not recommend playing this course anytime soon.

Very disappointing


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Jack wouldn't be happy"


ToddyTrout1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

We played this course 2 years ago and it was an incredible course in great shape. When we played it this past Monday, the overall shape of the course was fair. The traps were washed out as can be expected with all of the rain they've had in the past month. But the fairways were not in great shape, the greens were slow, and there was NO grass on the tee boxes. The staff was excellent as they were the first time we played there.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Amazing course!"


u497099181's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As soon as you enter the grounds you are treated like royalty! Staff is absolutely amazing and will assist you with anything you need. The course itself is one of a kind, extremely challenging, yet rewarding! Hands down the best overall experience from our trip to Mississippi, would definitely make time for a round or two there in a heart beat!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Absolutely beautiful"


u607719267's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was a treat for my son (10yrs old) and the rest of my team, the wild life deer , rabbits right in the fairways. Would recommend to everyone to go play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent"


Howard1899936's avatar
Gender:  Male

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very Playable in great condition with a friendly staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



richhoff's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a gorgeous course. They had aerated the greens 13 days prior, but I knew that. They were still very bumpy and you could not get a putt to hold it's line. Another few weeks, and they should be great once again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


scottlsu's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great golf course. Fairways and tees in perfect shape. Greens had just been punched so they were bad but I am sure in a few weeks they will be great. Layout is unreal. No houses.....never see another hole when on the hole you are playing. Can't recommend this course enough. Will be going back SOON! Oh also saw about a 12 foot alligator....pretty cool!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



"Exceptional experience"


Manuel8277669's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This day at the course was amazing. The drive to the club house adds to its unique experience. Wish I could go there more often.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Danny7661312's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Course Conditions: Average


I recommend this course



u000007366628's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A must play golf course"


uQRVY6483QR's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful golf course, some challenging holes, great practice putting greens, friendly staff at the pro shop named, Toby, service was great. The starter Bailey was very knowledgeable about the course, very courteous, polite and professional. I would play this golf course again when I visit Biloxi MS, although it's about 40 minutes drive from my hotel it was worth the drive.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Pick your misses carefully"


4MyGolf2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The day was perfect, no clouds, slight breeze and dry conditions. Unfortunately, we were placed behind a tournament with 28 golfers. Pace was agonizingly slow and we wouldn't have booked knowing this. Front nine bunkers were damp and recovery was affected. Fairways and greens very good. Always a fun and challenging course with a wonderful layout.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u6438197's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


u000004224985's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent greens; fair but challenging course; scenic, too.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great day on the Course"


MarkusBear's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Good round of golf preceded by a wonderful reception from the Staff; Cart Attendent, Starter/Marshall and Pro Shop. One of the best Driving Ranges (on the way to the 1st Tee) you'll ever encounter. Course was in top condition and the tranquility of the natural surroundings enhanced the experience. You need to play this one . . .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed