Legacy Golf Club

4.4168000000 4.4 stars from 5 (607)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6908 yards
  • Slope: 128
  • Rating: 72.1
  • Layout

  • 6808 South 32nd Street , Phoenix, AZ, 85042
  • (602) 305-5550
  • www.golflegacyresort.com
Write a review

Year built: 1999
Architect(s): Gary Panks (1999)
Type: Public/Resort
Style: Desert/Traditional
Greens: TiffEagle Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round, closed Oct.15 - 31

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared Shirt required

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 71 6908 yards 72.1 128
Black 71 6359 yards 69.7 123
White 71 5958 yards 67.3 115
Red (W) 71 5471 yards 70.5 118

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 607 Reviews
5 stars:
330
4 stars:
221
3 stars:
40
2 stars:
11
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

564 out of 601 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near the airport at a resort   Great for advanced golfers locals a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u231862445's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Fantastic Course"


bobdulong's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I have been playing Legacy Golf Course regularly for at least the last five years. Absolutely my favorite Phoenix course. The course gives you a fair amount of challenges and the grounds crew maintains the course in outstanding condition so you are not penalized in any way by them. The team working the Legacy is like a family and they make the customers feel like they belong to that family. The Performance Center (Golf Channel Academy) is staffed with insightful pros led by Scott Adland. I have been under Scott's watch for four years and he has helped me improve my on-course performance and enjoyment of golf. The food & beverage operation is among the best in the Valley. Highly recommend you make the Legacy Golf Resort your "go-to" golf course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Hinners's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/20/2017:

Thanks for the 4 star rating! We're glad that you enjoyed your experience with us!

"Excellent conditions"


tnlfeutz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course that I have played several times. One of the best courses for the money.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/20/2017:

Outstanding! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us at The Legacy. We're pleased that you continue to visit our course and that you consider us one of the best value courses that you have played. Can't wait to have you back soon!

"Bunker Sand"


u000003966200's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Bunker sand is not acceptable for average golfers. No need for extreme bunker on 180 par 3 (#8). It appears there are no Standards for cup setting.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/17/2017:

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your round with us but we apologize that you did not enjoy our bunkers. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure to address this point. We hope to see you again soon!

"Great sight lines off the tee"


u3338329's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

There had been a Q-school event earlier that day which had presented some tough pin placements as well as noticeable wear on the greens and around the hole locations. Although we teed off at 2:04 pm and sunset was around 6:15pm, we were only able to play 15 holes. As we drove back to the clubhouse we had noticed 3 groups in front of us with each group having the hole they were playing to themselves. Had a course Marshall been out pushing the pace, we probably would have finished. I am from Spokane Washington and playing your course that day was my first golf experience in Arizona. I appreciated the course conditions, the layout as well as the customer service. I work in the golf industry currently as an Assistant Golf Course Superintendent for the City of Spokane golf courses. We own and operate four golf courses. I have been a turfgrass professional for 15+ years and an avid golfer for 35 years. With that said, I enjoyed the experience at the Legacy.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Wouldn't go back"


lkzohn's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

5 hours and 5 minutes. On a Tuesday! Got sent off the back nine where there are 3 par 3's. there were 3 groups waiting on each tee box. There were rangers but they seemed to be spectators. No warning, no apology, just excruciatingly slow. Course was in good condition except for the bunkers which were hard as rock, not much sand. Service was not great as there was no one to greet us at the bag drop and they were out of carts and we had to wait for a cart to be cleaned. The course layout was just ok. Not a single dogleg, no desert washes to carry, no risk-reward decisions, all pretty basic. The greens were the highlight as they were fast and smooth with nice contouring. I'm definitely not rushing back to play there again.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/16/2017:

Thank you for your review! First of all, allow us to thank you for playing golf at The Legacy and for providing feedback regarding your experience. We continue to work on some of the challenges you faced during your round. We want to let you know that your experience is NOT being overlooked.

We strive to provide a great experience to each and every guest. We will use your feedback as a training tool for our associates. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope you come back for a better experience next round!

"Things are slipping a little"


YYCDuffer's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Compared with the last time I played 2 years ago, this course has slipped a little. Fairways are still well watered and the layout is great but the course itself was a lot dryer than before and not quite as lush. The worst part was the pace of play. We waited 5-10 minutes at every hole. The marhall said there was nothing he could do but we discovered that the problem group was only 2 ahead of us and there was a huge gap ahead of them. The marshall couldn't care less that people weren't enjoying themselves. He didn't even apologize for the delay. I'm talking about 5.5 hrs to play 18.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/14/2017:

Thank you for your review! First of all, allow us to thank you for playing golf at The Legacy and for providing feedback regarding your experience. We continue to work on some of the challenges you faced during your round. We want to let you know that your experience is NOT being overlooked.

We strive to provide a great experience to each and every guest. We will use your feedback as a training tool for our associates. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope you come back for a better experience next round!

"Awesome experience"


u000003748243's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I have played the course multiple times and it never disappoints. The staff from the cart guys, pro shop, marshalls and especially the beverage cart staff are awesome. Greens were rolling quick and true. Definitely in my top 5 courses to play here in the Valley of The Sun!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/14/2017:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that you had an awesome experience with us at The Legacy. We're glad that you enjoyed everything from our staff to our course conditions. We strive to make sure all of our guests have an all around great time with us, so thank you for your kind words. We can't wait to have you back soon!

"Conveniently close to airport, good value"


SteveIk's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We chose this course as our opening round of a 3 day trip due to its proximity to PHX. We teed off at 1:15 and finished easily. The course is fair and somewhat forgiving. It's a good value and a good course to start a golf trip.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/14/2017:

Awesome! We're glad that you enjoyed your first time with us at The Legacy. We're pleased that you enjoyed the challenge our course presented and we hope to see you again soon the next time you are in the area!

"Quick round"


Steven2699265's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. We played off in second group of the morning. Round finished in under three hours. Nice challenging course with hard undulating greens. Will test you!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/10/2017:

Fantastic! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your first experience with us. We're extremely pleased that you enjoyed our conditions as well as the challenge our course presented. We love that your round was so quick and smooth! Can't wait to have you back soon for another great round at The Legacy!


jaybuckley's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a very nice course. But this time I thought the course condition was not up to usual standards. Fairway grass was a little thin, greens were a little thin, and dirmant rough was very warm from cart traffic. Maybe with a few more weeks of warm weather course condition will improve.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/07/2017:

Thanks for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your round with us but we apologize that you did not enjoy our conditions. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure to relay this to our maintenance staff. We hope to have you back soon!

"We'll maintained"


u000001211343's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

2nd time playing. Came back because we enjoyed it so much last year. Well maintained, greens are excellent....this course will test your game no matter what level you play at.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/07/2017:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that you made it back to our course this year. We're glad that you enjoyed our conditions as well as the challenge that our course presented. Can't wait to have you back the next time you are in the area!

"Expected more from resort course"


jbboorman's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very busy resort. Great warm up facilities , although very crowded with Titleist ball fitting going on. Started 16 minutes late due to lack of carts and poor communication from Pro shop to Starter. No GPS or yardage cards, or towels on carts which is strange for a resort course. Greens were very receptive and rolling true. Good course for couples.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/14/2017:

Thanks for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed our conditions but we apologize that your round was delayed. We appreciate your feedback and we'll make sure to work on this so we don't have this issue in the future. We hope to see you back for another round with us!

"Poor bunkers"


Bruce8019716's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoy the round and the Pacer play but dirt and rocks in

the bunkers were a bummrr


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/07/2017:

Thanks for your feedback! We're glad that you enjoyed your round with us but we apologize that about the rocks in bunkers. Our staff works daily to make sure our course is in tip top shape, so we will make sure to address this point. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back soon!


Achuk's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/07/2017:

Thanks for your review! Hope to have you back again soon!

"Pristine course"


Kuzenko's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This golf course is in immaculate shape. The staff was very friendly but also extremely well organized. A tournament preceded our tee time and it ran late but the staff was very efficient at getting everyone started as quickly as possible. We would definitely return. Legacy is definitely a must play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/07/2017:

Awesome! We're extremely pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our course even with the slight delay due to that tournament. We strive to make sure all of our guests have a great experience, so we appreciate your kind words. We can't wait to have you back for another round soon!

"42 degree frost delay?"


josefe's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This course has been my stand by for years... while living on the property from 2000-2005, and currently on trips back to AZ for a round near the airport, but conditioning has slipped with overplay and overt over booking... delayed my most recent tee time by 45 minutes for "frost warning"... couldn't finish before our flight home, and many didn't finish before darkness due to overbooked slow play. I was disappointed to pay prime rates through golfnow and not have a chance to finish 18 holes... Space out those weekend tee times and maintain the course to previous standards. Play at a discounted rate, or skip for another day.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 02/14/2017:

Thanks for your review! First of all, allow us to thank you for playing golf at The Legacy and for providing feedback regarding your experience. We apologize that you were not able to finish your round before your flight. We work daily on pace of play and to make sure everyone is playing at a good speed.

We want to let you know that your experience is NOT being overlooked. We strive to provide a great experience to each and every guest. We will use your feedback as a training tool for our associates. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope you come back for a better experience next round!


u000008194386's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Legacy Golf Club on 01/31/2017:

Thanks for your review! Glad you enjoyed your round with us!


bhowey1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/25/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Legacy Golf Club on 01/30/2017:

Awesome! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your round with us at Legacy. We can't wait to have you back again soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed