The Legacy Golf Club

4.3295882353 4.3 stars from 5 (694)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6908 yards
  • Slope: 128
  • Rating: 72.1
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared Shirt required

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 71 6908 yards 72.1 128
Black 71 6359 yards 69.7 123
White 71 5958 yards 67.3 115
Red (W) 71 5471 yards 70.5 118

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 694 Reviews
5 stars:
370
4 stars:
255
3 stars:
50
2 stars:
14
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

644 out of 688 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near the airport at a resort   Great for advanced golfers locals entertaining clients   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

dispatcheral's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Legacy 0815"


Fred7028126's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in rough condition due to recent aeration of the greens and recent heavy storms. Greens were rough and bouncy. Many of the traps were totally unplayable.

Would still recommend if they get the storm damage cleaned up.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"greens"


martyk's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

greens were bumpy because of work done a week earlier. otherwise the course was fine. bunkers need more sand


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/11/2017:

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course despite our recent aerification. We appreciate your feedback regarding our bunkers and hope to have you back soon!


u000006904799's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had a 6:28 tee time two groups when out ahead off us, After our group there was shotgun event that made wait 5 min.on every hole.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/11/2017:

Thanks for your review! We apologize that you were not able to play at the pace you wanted. We appreciate your review and will use it to help us improve moving forward. Thanks again and we hope to have you back soon!

"GREAT"


hootie19's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This coarse is probably one of the best I've played in Phoenix, and I've played quite a few of the so called best in the valley. Everything about it from the clubhouse to the 18th was great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/14/2017:

Outstanding! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your round with us at The Legacy!. We're honored that you consider us one of the best in Phoenix. We appreciate your kind word and can't wait to have you back for your next round!

"One of my favorite courses"


kjohnston4950's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played at 7:52 on a GN "Hot deal" for $25.What a bargain!! Course was in good shape,except back 9 greens.Looked like they were recently punched.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/04/2017:

Outstanding! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course conditions and that you got a good rate. We hope to have you back more in the future!

"The Legacy"


deniseboland's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

a hidden gem of a course. do yourself a favor and play here. tee, fairways and greens in great condition and friendly staff. highly recommend.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/04/2017:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that our course conditions met your expectations and that our staff left a great impression on you. Can't wait to have you back at The Legacy!


uOEBX5988OE's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your experience at The Legacy!

"Poor job of maintenance on the greens."


mleod48's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

I played there just before they did maintenance on the greens and the course was great. On this day, about two weeks after they worked on the greens the greens were in the worst condition I've seen. I don't know now long it will take for them to come back, but don't play here until they do. What a shame. A great course and the greens were worse than any course in the area.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your round with us. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will give us another try once our greens are completely healed!

"Greens"


Marcus3664323's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Greens were absolutely horrible compared to the rest of the course. The sand needs to be sand and not hard in some bunkers.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoy our greens. We have recently aerified so they are still in the process of healing. We'd love to have you back once they are back to normal!

"Very Arriated Greens, I buyknew it."


MarkyVoftheCOP's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well aware of greens condition & it didn't matter to Me. Still quite a value since I could use the "practice" off of tees & approach shots for sure. Of the 9 holes I played (Da'Back) I was able to "schmackie" a couple of shots a few times (practice remember) as I saw NOBODY on that side of the course. Was able 2hit My remaining "warm-up"/practice balls after which I like to do.

Those conditions were IDEAL as fairways were impressive/consistent through out ! Their staff were also impressive as a SLOW day didn't stop either Jake or cart Gal Sam from delivering a strong example of a customer service attitude !

The Legacy drivers a fine product of the PLENTY of choices available to Central PHX Residents, Big THANKS !


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 07/26/2017:

Thanks for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your time with us despite our recent aerification. We're pleased that our staff was able to provide you with great customer service and we can't wait to have you back at The Legacy!

"Legacy Golf Club was very exciting!!"


Hirohisa3353418's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Legacy Golf Club was very exciting!! But the car navigation didn't take me to the front of this course, they had leaded at the back gate of this course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed your first time at The Legacy. We apologize for the confusion with the navigation to our address though. Hope to have you back soon for your next round!


gerardotorres's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Fantastic! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course and that our staff left a great impression on you. Can't wait to have you back at The Legacy!

"Easy but challenging."


u4814998's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I'm not the best golfer, so I found this course a lot of fun! Pretty straight holes, with some large sand bunkers that create a bit of a challenge. I would reccomend to anyone looking to get in 18 holes!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Awesome! We're glad that you enjoyed the challenge our course presented. Hope to have you back again soon!


katsuya512's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Excellent! We're glad that you enjoyed your round at The Legacy. We look forward to having you back again soon!

"Course was good shape"


bmniners24's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played the course many times before and I've always enjoyed the course, took my grandson out for a little lesson and get familiar with golf, he really liked the course and starting to like the game more, he has asked to bring him again. We just went on a very hot day, we had to stop after the 14th hole, it started to back up for some reason, we didn't to wait any longer, but we enjoyed the day...


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Outstanding! We're thrilled that you and your grandson enjoyed your round with us. We're pleased that he is liking the game more now after playing on our course. Hope to have you both back once the weather cools down a bit!


dispatcheral's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course. Hope to have you back at The Legacy soon!

"Unexpected charges"


rjschaab's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Booked 2 tee times and had a few people back out at the last maybe because it was one of the hottest days and for health issues I don't know for sure. Found out today over a week and a half later they are going to charge me 110.00 in additional uncollected greens fees. Not worth the 200.00 I paid to play there that's for sure and will not return. To many options.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 07/05/2017:

Thanks for your review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Our cancellation policy is located on all of our tee times as well as on all tee time email reservations. It states that if you do not cancel 24 hours prior to your tee time, your credit card may be charged the full amount. It also states that you are responsible for payment of green fees unless the course is closed due to weather. We appreciate your feedback and if you have any questions please give our management team at call at 602.305.5550!

"Old"


second50's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Course was probably special in its day, now it is an old design with slow greens

Fairways are wide and the greens are large. Lot of deep bunkers which they do not maintain and the customers do not rake after using. Wanted to like this place just did not. It reminds me of the Hotel in Dirty Dancing, its time has past.

They allow resort guests to drive on the cart paths, never seen this before


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 06/20/2017:

Thanks for your review! We apologize that our course conditions did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback on our bunkers and will use your review to help us improve moving forward. Thank you again and we hope you will give us another try in the future!

"Nice sand in the traps, but no one is raking them"


Roger5423486's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

No ice in the golf cart drink cooler-no cart girl until after playing 9 holes-left 2 drinks in the golf cart after playing 18 holes and walked 30-40 yards toward my car before turning back to get our drinks left in the cart drink cooler but the drinks had already disappeared and no one knew anything. I expected more professionalism from this staff and course


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 06/14/2017:

Thanks for your review! We apologize that you did not fully enjoyed your experience with us. We're sorry that you felt our staff was not professional, but we do our best to give all of our guests the best customer service possible. We apologize that we were not able to help you locate your drinks. We hope you will come back and give us another try in the future!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed