Coldwater Golf Club

4.0168705882 4.0 stars from 5 (555)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6758 yards
  • Slope: 120
  • Rating: 71.5
  • Layout

  • 100 N Clubhouse Dr, Avondale, Arizona 85323, Maricopa County
  • (623) 932-9000
  • (623) 932-9004
  • coldwatergolfclub.com
Write a review

Year built: 2000
Architect(s): Forrest Richardson
Type: Public
Style: Desert/Traditional
Greens: TiffEagle Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt required

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Deep End 72 6758 yards 71.5 120
Coldwater 72 6305 yards 69.7 113
Vintage 72 5798 yards 67.0 108
Vintage (W) 72 5798 yards 72.8 118
Upstream 72 5147 yards 68.6 111

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 555 Reviews
5 stars:
122
4 stars:
276
3 stars:
99
2 stars:
41
1 stars:
17

recommend this course

483 out of 552 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals seniors advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

KipBoetel's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Lynnergolf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/19/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Collateral G.C."


Rocky653's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course and a great price. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the starter to pro shop attendant and backshop staff. The fairways are in good shape. The greens are well manicured and fast. The course is nicely layed out and is a pleasure to play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Divots and bunkers"


EdwinPing's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a difficult task, but it would enhance the quality of the round experience if you figure out a way to have golfers fix at least their divots on the fairways and rake the bunkers after they use them. Perhaps a reminder of this at checking in, a small bag of driving range balls if the divot mix containers are returned empty at the turn (and refilled) or at the end?. Maybe signs by the bunkers?


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice little design"


gowybs's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really enjoyed this course. Especially the greens. Very fast and true. The fairways were in very good condition, the rough was dormant (brown) grass). The pace of play was really nice for a Tuesday afternoon. The staff was courteous and I saw the beverage cart 4 times during the round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Friendly staff"


rpangman's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We enjoy the friendly staff. The course is always in good shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Rubeni's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/06/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Coldwater was a complete course, all the hazard made it challenging enough for even a novice player like myself to enjoy


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000005137287's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A little far but worth it"


Rubeni's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

I came from Tempe to play, doing my golf buddy a favor since he has travelled to my side of town I thought I would hit up the west side. The pace of play was excellent and managed, I saw the starter on the front 9 and the back 9. My cart got a flat and it was quickly swapped out. The beverage cart was always nearby. I will return


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"very fast greens"


garryhill's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

staff was great except no ranger on the course...very slow round lots of standing and waiting. the group in front had a two hole difference from the group ahead of them. also no ice and very limited beverage cart. course is in good shape and greens are almost too fast


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Reasonable rates"


Joannestonge's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course has reasonable rates in the afternoon. The tee block need some work and so do the washrooms. The fairways are in good shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



Patrick2590's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Twilight play"


u2086458's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was a great playing experience everyone was friendly. The only reason it’s not getting a perfect score is that I got stuck behind a foursome who played way to slow. I’m sure it was just a one off though. Great course highly recommend!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"always good"


Butch2678176's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

greens are great be sure to play this course from the black tees fun fun


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great staff and fun playable golf course"


HERB68's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The staff at Coldwater is always accommodating and friendly. I would say the friendliest golf course staff in the valley. The golf course is very playable and great for high handicappers to keep the ball in play. Greens are in good condition and roll the ball well. I have never had a bad time playing golf at this facility.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"pleasantly surprised"


steta's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

First time playing and was quite surprised. I have heard about the course, but never made it there. Nice layout, forgiving fairways , but you can still find trouble on some holes. Greens rolled much faster than the practice greens.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



donny18's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u2233284's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"great conditions"


garryhill's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

excellent shape greens are rolling, fairways are green, and weather was perfect


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


u5745569's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairway and Greens were in great shape, the greens were tough but challenging. We had a great time.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



petriemark's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed