The Classic Club

4.5531000000 4.6 stars from 5 (320)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7322 yards
  • Slope: 144
  • Rating: 75.8
  • Layout

  • 75200 Classic Club Blvd., Palm Desert, CA 92211
  • (760) 601-3601, (760) 601-3600
  • (760) 601-3682
  • www.classicclubgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 2006
Architect(s): Arnold Palmer (2006)
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirts are required. Shorts must be 'bermuda'-length. Inappropriate Attire: Tank tops, T-shirts, Denim Jeans, Cargo shorts and Cut-offs.
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Master Card, American Express

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7322 yards 75.8 144
Blue 72 6711 yards 72.9 135
White (W) 72 6229 yards 77.0 142
White 72 6229 yards 71.0 129
Gold 72 5782 yards 68.7 125
Gold (W) 72 5782 yards 74.6 138
Purple 72 5279 yards 66.2 118
Purple (W) 72 5279 yards 71.9 132
Orange 72 4219 yards 60.7 105
Orange (W) 72 4219 yards 65.7 116

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 320 Reviews
5 stars:
223
4 stars:
69
3 stars:
15
2 stars:
8
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

293 out of 317 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick a weekend splurge   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"A great course!"


Leland2367830's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/30/2016
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Classic Club is a beautiful course and demands good course management. If the wind blows, the course is much tougher to play. We played in calm winds on a beautiful day. The course was just beautiful. The greens are mostly large and aren't too fast (yet). There are plenty of traps around the greens and water throughout the course. It's a very good test of one's skills and a joy to play. Well worth the green fees and humility.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Exceptional Course and Value"


u155698257's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We did not know what to expect when we booked the Classic Club on Golf Now. We were extremely pleased with he whole experience from start to finish. The course was in absolutely incredible condition and was not busy, so it was like we were playing it ourselves. I would highly recommend this course to anyone!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fun when not windy"


hacksalot03's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

On a positive note, the service and off course amenities are top notch. There were only a few people on the course when I played, but appreciate that beverage cart stayed to accommodate us. Also nice that I got a $15 voucher for restaurant or beverage cart. Ate in restaurant after and was pretty good. As for the course, is in good shape from tee to green. Putting surfaces rolled true and were fairly quick. Course has more water on it than any other track in the area. The course overall is a fair challenge of golf skills. The knock I have is most holes tend to be similar in character. Nothing really stands out from one to the next. Also, if you play here, have to be careful when you schedule. It can get extremely windy. When I arrived at noon, was a slight breeze. Toward the end of the round, the course was barely playable. Paid $74 for afternoon weekday round, which I think is a very fair for this track. Hope I can play again when there is little wind.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course in Great Shape"


Allen2343344's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

High winds and tough pin placement made scoring diffficutl, but the course was in great condition


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Randy123's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



trowelt's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great experience except for grill personnel"


bobsazerac's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Would give amenities a four star but the female grill manager was very rude and demeaning!!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice track"


u780398853's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My second favourite course in Palm Springs, a bit windy but in great shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Awesome golf course"


u4864166's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the most challenging golf course I have ever played, beautiful views, bumker, lake, slope are at perfect position, very well thought out.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"very scenic"


bell64's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

this course rates up there with the nicest courses I have ever played.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



u000005758861's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Classic time"


catherinee's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pick your day, cause you don't want it windy at the Classic Club! Was stupendous when I was there. The greens/fairways are lovely and fast.

Only complaint, (first world problem) the sand traps had very little sand. Like concrete trying to exit. BUt if I was a better player, I shouldn't be in them in the first place. DIfficlut not to be on a lot of holes as there are an abundance of traps.

Can't wait to go back.

PS. Great selection of women's clothing in the pro shop.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fantastic course and facilities"


Susancan's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This place is great from start to finish! Cost a little more but includes free towel and food voucher for 15$. Course is in incredible condition although there was a tournament on the same day so we were held up on the back 9 when we caught them up. Cartpaths are wide, tees and greens are immaculate and clubhouse food and service was one of the best we've experienced...


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course ruined by pace of play"


peebgolf's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Beautiful course -- a little out of character for Palm Springs, but great nonetheless. Almost a Carolina-course kind of feel to it. Course was in immaculate condition. Greens were slightly slow, but true. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.

Downside is that our round took 5+ hours! For this price, completely unacceptable to pack players on -- and even more unacceptable for the rangers not to keep things moving. Rangers were nice when we complained, but didn't seem to do much. They made excuses about having several bachelor parties earlier in the day. I get it, but letting bachelor parties degrade the experience for your other paying customers is not good business.

By comparison, we played Desert Willow the next day (on a busy Saturday at the resort). Got the round done in a little over 4 hours. Had much more fun! We will go back to Desert Willow, very unlikely to return to Classic Club given all the other great options in Palm Springs...


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Great Experience"


mccauls's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is unusual for the desert, with pine trees everywhere. Looks more like Colorado in some ways than Palm Springs. The 360 views are terrific, the course is in great shape, everyone treats you very well. All in all one our best experiences in the desert.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful Course"


19172510021483626109's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Although the course was extremely challenging for our ability, we thought it was outstanding. The conditions of the greens and fairways were suberb. It was a special circumstance to afford to play on this course otherwise it is too expensive for us. Most enjoyable experience.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



nmd1953's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



MorttheMonster's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful course. Course conditions pretty good. Views and layout make it worth it. Staff a bit rude to my wife when she arrived to pick me up....said it was closed and she was not allowed in...said she could not get a drink...but the drink had already been ordered and I was waiting to enjoy a few moments with her.

Will consider other course choices in the future.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Amazing"


scottrich20's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We booked this course same day. Conditions were phenomenal. The fairways were like carpet, greens rolled true, and I thought it was one of the better courses I have ever played. Golf towel was included for free as well as a food and average voucher for $15.. Teed off before 3. Seemed like we had the course to ourselves and the slight breeze kept us cool. We will be back for sure. The only negative we're the bunkers were very hard packed below the top inch or so. It took me a bit to get used to. Pretty forgiving tee shots but they did seem to lead your shots to fairway bunkers.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



DanielHo's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u062825352's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the top courses in the Palm Springs area will defiantly go back


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed