The Eagles Golf Club - Forest

4.2738000000 4.3 stars from 5 (263)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6604 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 72.3
  • Layout

  • 11601 9 Eagles Dr, Odessa, FL 33556, Hillsborough County
  • (813) 920-6681, (813) 920-3351
  • (813) 852-1323
  • www.eaglesgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1995
Architect(s): Gary Koch (1995), Ron Garl
Type: Public
Greens: Champion Dwarf Bermuda
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: No
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper Dress Required
Credit cards accepted: Visa, MC, Discover

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6604 yards 72.3 134
Blue 72 6159 yards 70.2 129
White 72 5606 yards 67.8 117
Gold (W) 72 5112 yards 69.9 123
Gold 72 5112 yards 65.3 112
Red (W) 72 4762 yards 67.8 121

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 263 Reviews
5 stars:
112
4 stars:
122
3 stars:
20
2 stars:
7
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

245 out of 262 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for wildlife/ scenic views locals advanced golfers   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks brunch watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"A Little Honesty Goes Along Way"


jfiore's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

I run a weekly golf group and play all over the Tampa Bay Area. As I am driving in I see one of the green shut down and they are using a temp green. First no one ever told me they had a temp green when I booked my group. Secondly, giving my group only $5 off a already high green fee for the middle of summer is a slap in the face.

I could of played 20 courses between my house and this course, and to get there to find this out started my Saturday off on the wrong foot.

I can spend my golf $$ elsewhere. They won't be seeing me for a while.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/29/2017:

We're so sorry to hear that you weren't informed about the temporary green. Our intention is never to misinform or mislead our golfers. We understand your frustration and we do apologize for the miscommunication.

"Course is in great shape"


irishtimes3's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Eagles Forest is in great shape. The recent rains certainly helped. I've played this course numerous times, but this was one of the finest days to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/13/2017:

Thank you so much for the 5-star review and we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your round with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

"Fairways and Greens were in excellent condition"


Wildwood1871's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a must play course in the Tampa area, particularly for the cost. The staff was very accommodating and professional. Can't wait to play it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thank you for the kind words and 5 stars! We can't wait for your next round, as well!

"Good Value"


Elonennis's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in decent shape. Greens were a little slower than normal (probably due to the heat, needing to keep a little longer so they don't burn). Teed off @ 2, was done by 5, felt like we had the course to ourselves. Good deal for the $$. Love the layout, but could use just a little more conditioning.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thank you for the nuanced feedback! We appreciate the great advice and we're so happy that you enjoyed the layout. Hopefully you'll make it back out here soon!

"Nice course"


garrett7097538's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We love to play every time. Esp staff member s r very friendly. Keep up with good job


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Well we love having you! Thanks so much for the 5-stars!

"One of Tampa's Best Layouts"


jjfrenzy's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really great layout with nice conditions. Greens fees are a little steep but many other courses in the area to choose for day 2 of an outing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thank you for the kind words! And for the best price, you can always book onling at www.eaglesgolf.com/-reserve-a-starting-time.

"great lay out! pars 3 tough !"


Jimmyny's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

great course, has 39 holes.

fairways need some work


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review!



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"NOT THE USUAL SHAPE"


breault's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played here many times over past 10 years, most recent was several months ago when conditions were better. current greens have deteriorated with slow, bumpy conditions seen yesterday. A bit of a surprise and can only assume that current dry spell is having an effect. Last visit saw tee boxes updated and overseeded but currently a number are in tough shape, again probably the result of the drought. Love this course and expect it will be better in future.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thank you for the great feedback! Yes, we did experience drier than usual conditions and we appreciate your patience. The course is looking fantastic now after some steady rain and we hope you'll come back out soon!

"Nice Course Horrible Conditions"


u555885448's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The layout is interesting, but do not spend more than 20-25 dollars to play this course at the time of this post. The fairways were hard pan, my partner and I actually preferred playing from the rough because there was at least some dead grass to hit from. It has been dry here in Florida but the greens were lush and very slow. Also on the forest course there is no turn at the clubhouse which is incredibly odd. Had I only paid 20-25 dollars to play I would have probably not written this review. This was simply a value mismatch. The NorthDale municipal course is in better shape currently.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Yes, we did have an usually dry Spring. We hope you'll come back and play again to see the great improvement in conditions since the rain has come back.

"Slow play and poor tee box conditions"


parry4296's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in average condition due to the poor tees. Uneven stance and very dry. Play was slow all round and despite playing through 2 groups there was still 4 groups on one hole on a couple of occasions. Maybe a course ranger could have helped. Shame it ruined our experience as the course layout is very good


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thank you for the great feedback! Yes, we did have an unusually dry Spring for Florida and we apologize for the slow play. We understand that can be frustrating. Conditions are wonderful currently and we hope you'll come back and play soon!

"no hazard markings"


mich1golfer's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lots of water with a lot of blind shots due to no hazard stakes showing where the hazards started and ended. Fairways were very hard due to lack of rain balls rolled forever. Will probably not play again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thank you for providing great feedback. We did have a very dry Spring but conditions are fantastic now and we hope you'll play again in the future!


u00000346881's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

That's great to hear! Thank you and please visit us again!

"Nice course"


u000005623664's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the forest course twice, nice layout and good conditions for winter.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thank you so much for the 4-star review!

"Forest"


gbisme's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For a first time round on the course I found it challenging yet forgiving. We played the Forest course and truly thought it was the lakes course. A lot of water but not too intimidating. The greens were probably aerated a couple of weeks ago and didn't have any problem with the putting . Greens ran true. Would recommend if you get a chance.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

We so appreciate the 4-star review and the recommendation! We're happy to hear that you found your round fun and challenging without being overwhelming. Please come and see us again in the future!

"I liked it"


Benlorber's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well maintained, pretty lots of water and tight. Usually not my favorite elements, but this is a good golf course


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thank you so much for the kind words and we look forward to your next visit!


u981936835's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

And we enjoyed having you! Thank you!

"Nice Layout"


seanr007's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/28/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

First time on forest course so on some holes difficult as not knowing were to hit ! All said good course some nice hole well worth a visit!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thanks for the great review, Sean! We're thrilled that we were worth the visit and we hope to see much more of you!

"Forest course"


jfollman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall a good experience, cost was reasonable. The greens are slow as is expected this time of the year . Good pace of play


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your round with us and we hope you'll visit again soon!

"Nice Course, Good Value"


u000001065093's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Eagles Forest course is a nice layout in good shape that can be challenging, due to the water and trees on the course. We had fun and enjoyed playing with the twosome that the course paired us up with. I'll definitely return when I get back to Tampa in the future. You can't go wrong with either course at the Eagles.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/02/2017:

Thank you for leaving us a great review! We're glad that you enjoyed your round despite the inherent challenges and that you met some nice people! We look forward to your next visit!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed