Arrowhead Pointe At Lake Richard B. Russell

4.7347117647 4.7 stars from 5 (93)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6788 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 72.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: No walking on Friday, Saturday, Sunday/Holidays until after 1:00 p.m.
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6788 yards 72.5 134
Blue 72 6458 yards 70.7 129
White 72 5971 yards 68.9 119
Red 72 5220 yards 70.4 122

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 93 Reviews
5 stars:
70
4 stars:
20
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

93 out of 93 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include undulating greens bunkers water hazards   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Course"


u000001432801's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course! You won't find one nicer. Beautiful lake views, greens, and moderate elevation changes, peaceful,only surrounded by woods and lake, great staff,pro shop,and food to order, make this course a very worthwhile destination.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great game"


u2775501's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed my round of golf. Great course and greens and fairway were in great condition


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hcm"


u922067291's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoy playing Russell. Ranks up there with more expensive courses very friendly staff


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Angeldog90's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u000005035367's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Arrowhead Point"


tman92336's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/28/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

WOW, I just played this course for the first time, this is truly what a golf course should be like. Beautiful scenery, rolling green fairways, and green that are GREEN and open to receiving a good shot! I really can’t say enough good things about this course without sounding like I work there. The price we received on the Golf Now Hot DEAL was an unbelievable, $12.00!!!!!!!! Upon our arrival the staff was open and warm, and very welcoming, even the practice area was very nice and well groomed. The course is challenging and more of a placement type of course, but still very friendly when you hit a stray shot, long hitters be wear getting off the fairway is tuff here!!!! Some of the hole over look a beautiful lake and there are ponds all around the course. Over all a great day of play on a challenging course that I will surely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Everybody loves this course"


u000003544936's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I play at Arrowhead regularly. The course is beautiful, challenging, and always in excellent shape. Rates are very reasonable. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. It takes a little driving to get here, but it's well worth the trip. I bring friends in from out of town to golf, and they always want to go back to Arrowhead. The course is built on Lake Russell, which comes into play on several holes. Views of the lake from the course are spectacular, especially on the back 9. The only knock on the course in my book would be that the ladies' tees might be a little far back for the average woman golfer. I wouldn't let that keep me from coming, however. You'll love it anyway!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent Course and Very Friendly Staff"


Bryantjoeb1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is really a must play course. The course was in excellent shape (except bunkers) and the pace of play was approximately 4 hours. The staff was extremely friendly and they add a touch of class by putting wet hand towels in a ice chest for use on hot days.

I would have rated everything 5 stars, except the bunkers hadn't been raked from the previous day and they charge of .50 for a cup of ice water, although I purchased other items.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fun course with beautiful lake views in great condition"


RettJ's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course several times and each time I play, I am reminded how much I really like the course. It is a 90 minute drive from my home to the course, but well worth the drive. I love the back nine because there are so many holes along the lake with beautiful views. The course is always in great condition and the greens have very few ball marks (ball marks all over the greens drive me crazy at other courses). I highly recommend this course and to boot it is a GREAT value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Lovely views"


jonespar15's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Since I have played here before, I was looking forward to all the holes along the lake. Unfortunately Golfnow didn't let us know that the back nine was closed the day we played. They were punching the greens. So we had to play the front twice and it isn't very exciting. Course was in good shape, even the greens, which had been punched the day before. Lots of evaluation changes and carries. At least I did see the lake once! Hope to play it again someday.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Superb"


nobignumbers's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

The Georgia State Parks maintain a number of excellent golf courses of which Arrowhead Pointe is their show piece. The eye candy enhanced by a number of holes along Lake Russell simply adds to the overall first rate evaluation of the course. The layout is interesting and challenging. All aspects of the course-tees, fairways, bunkers, greens- are well maintained. The staff is courteous and professional. Even the hot dogs are good.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Track"


DG1's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I have played some top 10 public courses and this is absolutely one of the best municipal courses in the U.S. On a value basis, Arrowhead Pointe may be the best municipal in the U.S. The undulating tifeagle Bermuda greens are receptive yet roll great. Most fairways provide adequate landing areas, but some care is needed to find a preferred position. Hole lengths are well balanced and provide good variety. The elevation changes add to the challenge without being drastic. Avoiding the rough is critical. While not overly deep, the Bermuda rough is quite thick. The bunkers (sand traps) needed some grooming, but otherwise seemed to be in good condition.

The State of Georgia operates Arrowhead Point. The service level is average for the price range. While the on-course experience was near 5 stars, the overall golf club and experience is not consistent with a five-star facility. Very highly recommended. Note: I rate golf courses on an absolute scale using the following guidelines:

5 stars - Top tier golf course, all amenities, outstanding service/management and excellent course maintenance.

4 stars - Good to great course layout, complete club experience (full practice facilities, locker room, grill, etc...), efficient service/management, very good course maintenance.

3 stars - Good course layout, average practice facilities, average service/management, average course maintenance. No pace of play problems.

2 stars - Nothing special, but an enjoyable course to play. Only minor issues with pace of play.

1 star - Not worth the effort or serious pace of play issues. I take pace of play very seriously.

A 5-hour round is a minimum two-star reduction.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Little slice of golf paradise."


u000007415688's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I am a low 90 handicaper who mostly plays local corses around the Anderson SC area. Nothing i have played in the upstate of SC compares to the sheer beauty and golfing purity that i experienced at Arrowhead point. Playing golf with no houses or roads with vehicles racing by is so different. The course is a challege especially if you get off the fairway but id gladly shoot 100 (shot 97) to play this course daily. It is the only course ive given a 5 star too.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A wonderful layout with fantastic views."


Pauld122356's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Great course that is always in fantastic conditions. A relaxing round of golf. Treat yourself!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Awesome course"


ManfredLeidenberger's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For me this is one of my 3 Top courses and I played 30-40 different courses. Electric carts, no houses on the course, lake view holes, some challanging holes. Tee boxes, Fairways and Bunkers are well maintained. The greens are on the slower side. The course is usually not packed. The only downside is the 1 1/2 h drive I have but it is worth it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u236723017's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, beautiful and appealing. A real challenge as well.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Stunningly beautiful course"


SJCaballero's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Beautiful scenery. Quiet surroundings. Well maintained. Excellent food. Cold beer. Friendly staff. You wont be disappointed.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


Joshua6158548's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played this course several times. Everytime it in prestige condition. Yesterday I took to buddies that have never played their and they were very impressed. I told them it's a hidden gem. Only thing I don't like about the course is your not allowed a personal cooler. I believe for the price you should be allowed to bring your own refreshments.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Hidden Gem of a Golf Course"


moocow31's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you haven't been here, make the drive! This course has some of the best scenery of any in the area and is well worth it. Only complaint was that the greens were just aerated but I could have asked about that in advance but didn't. The Back 9 is easily in the top 10 public courses I have ever played.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



kprince44's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Best kept secret in GA!! My favorite place to play. Always in good shape. Greens are tricky. And the views from #12 in are hard to beat.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



uMYKC4995MY's avatar
Skill:  Advanced

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed