Buchanan Castle Golf Club

4.2380833333 4.2 stars from 5 (16)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6131 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire at all times. No Denims, track suits, jogging suits, football shirts or T-shirts.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 70 6131 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 68 5728 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 71 5371 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 16 Reviews
5 stars:
9
4 stars:
4
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

15 out of 16 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u787300473's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lovely course but very wet and soggy by the looks of all the holes around course drainage seems to be a problem even greens were very soft would play again beautiful layout and nice countryside. Weather has been pretty poor and a lot of rain so this hasn’t helped


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"value for money"


roberthassan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

fairways were flooded,greens were good, we were told it was wet under foot,got told (when we finished round) that cows had broken onto course some fairways were a mess.Very wet ! If they gave us two for one that would have been a fair price.Do not go there if there has been a lot of rain .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Really nice course"


Sbt1971's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time visiting Buchanan Castle. This is probably the flattest golf course I've ever played. There is nothing even remotely resembling a hill anywhere on the course. Unfortunately this means when it rains (which it does quite a lot in the West of Scotland) there is nowhere for the rain water to run off to which meant the ground was very wet throughout the course. The greens were in excellent condition and the layout of the course is a fair test which we thoroughly enjoyed,.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Well kept secret"


t297128770's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

This little gem is such a wonderful visit from start to finish great layout great greens and the real friendliness of staff and members at Buchanan Castle made us feel very welcome

The weather was suitable for ducks and many holes had surface water but this did not put us off taking in the beautiful scenery and the great layout.

We will be back to play when much drier and can't wait


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hot deal on a hot day!"


u3320775's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is in fantastic condition, from tees to fairways to greens. An excellent golfing experience. Of course it helped that it was the hottest day of the year, and that we only saw about 8 other golfers during our round. An absolute must for the money!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent easy walking course"


t2124520996's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/18/2017
First time playing Walked Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed a great days golf on the flattest course I ever played. The course is in terrific condition and presents a fair challenge to any level of golfer. I would highly recommend this to anybody


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"flat parkland"


JBROWN562's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Flatish parkland course in excellent condition greens so fast the quickest I've encountered and in great condition. I have never broken handicap ever, some water features make this a good test of your ability, fairways generous but even second cut of rough hard to play from but a fair and enjoyable test.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Super round at lovely Buchanan Castle."


johnhorspool's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My Dad used to be a member at Buchanan Castle and I can see why. Very well laid out , mature parkland course. Many tricky holes set out in very picturesque surroundings. Thoroughly enjoyed our round on a beautifully maintained course. We have already been back twice now. Special mention for the Pro Shop team who could not be more welcoming.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



t1269512041's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Outstanding facilities"


1690ger's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great test of golf, course in immaculate condition, greens exceptional - beautiful scenery - if closer I would join in a heart beat


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"An experience to say the least"


t1556629346's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent layout but the course was completely waterlogged and should have been closed. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. The Fairways and greens were covered in puddles and I was disappointed that I was allowed out in such horrendous conditions. No doubt on a dry day this course would be a pleasure to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Lovely course"


u125287220's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Great golf course. Friendly people. Nice location. Good value if you can pick up one of the special deals.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Pauld1364's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u501521870's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Due to wet weather conditions, the course was not at its best. However, the pro made us very welcome and the pro shop is well stocked with competitively priced stock. The course is well laid out and is very picturesque with mountains as a back drop and a salmon river running by several of the greens. The course is typical parklands course, with hidden brooks and ware features to keep you on your toes. If you are in the are, give it a go...nice people and nice course. Also a nice club house.

Would recommend.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Enjoyable Course"


EDANDMD29's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/14/2015
First time playing Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is almost level throughout yet still provides a variety of holes with a mixture of features and hazards.<br/> Ideally suited to play by seniors or couples.<br/> Very pleasant welcome by the pro sop staff and lovely scones on offer in the clubhouse after the round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Lovely Setting"


georgecrawford950's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2014
Previously played Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Buchanan Castle is a nice course in a picturesque location near Drymen. Well worth a visit. Although a flat course (which would probably suit a lot of golfers) it's very enjoyable. Lovely features and a few water hazards which can be intimidating or penalising. Very good facilities. Staff and members were also very welcoming. Good day out at a competitive price. Will visit again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed