Shiskine Golf & Tennis Club

4.3781764706 4.4 stars from 5 (10)
  • Holes: 12
  • Par: 42
  • Length: 2996 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Smart casual golf attire. Caps and golf shoes must be removed before entering the Clubhouse.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 42 2996 yards 0.0 0
Red 44 2816 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 42 2787 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 10 Reviews
5 stars:
4
4 stars:
5
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

9 out of 10 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u077075250's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Shiskine is a 12 hole course"


ballylangley's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

The. Course is only a 12 hole course, even though it says 18 hole course they only allowed us to play 12. It is picturesque but very short in comparison to most courses.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Shiskine golf club."


u328123281's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Thanks to golf now , green fee was reasonable value as we thought full price of £25 for 12 holes a bit expensive. Bit tricky finding your way round for first visit. Course condition was outstanding as were the surrounding views. Some holes crossed others and you had to be very wary of stray balls


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Shiskine doesn't disappoint"


u783853346's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great weather, course condition and views. Scoring not too bad either with 44 for twelve holes


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Brilliant views and in good condition"


u000003483966's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Although the course is quite short there are a few long-ish holes, some blind tee shots and tricky greens.

The views, especially around the far side of the course, are stunning.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A real favourite"


t1299075025's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was a very welcome return for my wife and I to play Shiskine. My in-laws live on the island so I visit regularly but don't get the chance to play as much as I would like.

The assistant was extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful ( my wife went back in to the pro shop to buy a towel purely because of his friendliness).

The weather was sunny but blowing an absolute hooly. I am a former member of Gullane and am used to an east coast wind but this was a bit more challenging. However - the course was quiet!

As always it was in great condition and a pleasure to play.

If you visit Arran you must visit Blackwaterfoot. If you play golf you must play Shiskine.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Best Course on Arran"


u701941727's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A superb links course with views to die for! Greens are fast and true. I could play this course every day and never tire of it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course"


AL63's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Finally made the trip to Arran for a few days golf. Shiskine is a great test of golf . Lots of blind shots so the first time should be a scouting mission to find out where to go. If you play the par 3's well then you are onto a good score. A must play..


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Only in Scotland..."


JeffArenson's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Denver Advisor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2015
First time playing Paired up at course Walked Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

If you are low handicapper who wants extreme challenge, then stay away. If you want to experience something unique, then play Shiskine. Located on the beautiful isle of Arran, Shiskine is 12 holes of golf. There is one par 5, 5 holes with blind shots and many par 3s. You will be finished quickly and probably want to just go back out again. Links golf that is unique; the uphill par 3 that is blind followed by the downhill par 3 is a highlight. The 5th hole par 4 is a nice short par 4; other par 4s play into dells and are great links golf.<br/> This course is unique and I can't picture a 12 hole course with an abundance of blindness opening anywhere else. I was happy to see all of the junior golfers on the course. Great place to learn the game. Also a lot of fun if you are on the island of Arran. Can't say you should travel the pond to come here, but if you are on Arran, you should go around....you just might want to go around immediately thereafter.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



"Kev"


Kevin3049340's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/06/2014
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good fun course, easily to get thru 12 holes in 2 hours. £27 for 12 holes is rather expensive at the weekend.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed