Cowglen Golf Club

4.8666666667 4.9 stars from 5 (21)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6105 yards
  • Layout

  • 301 Barrhead Road, Glasgow, G43 1EU
  • +44 (0) 1505 503000, +44 (0) 141 6320556
  • +44 (0) 1505 503000
  • www.cowglengolfclub.co.uk
Write a review

Year built: 1906
Architect(s): James Braid
Style: Parkland

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Dress code must be adhered to.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 70 6105 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 70 5867 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 71 5184 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 5.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 5.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 21 Reviews
5 stars:
19
4 stars:
1
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

20 out of 21 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great location and value"


63wagon's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really nice parkland with lots of interesting holes and elevation changes.

Everyone was super friendly and the head pro was very accommodating,

If your staying / going to Glasgow put it on your list.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



rhannay's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/06/2017
First time playing Walked Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"This course was awesome!"


t1987220965's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

The course was in great condition. I wasn't expecting a great course or one that would be that challenging so close to the city. But I was wrong. The greens were superb. Challenging subtle breaks that really tested your skills. A few blind shots where you aren't exactly sure how your shot ended up until you walk up to the green. The staff working that morning were all super friendly as well. The man working in the pro shop was extremely nice and helpful. If I ever come back to Glasgow, I will certainly be returning!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Stevie1888's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My title speaks for itself I stay not far from cowglen and I know the course quite well the course was in great condition the only thing that was wrong was that there was a four ball in front of us and never once did they let us through them bad etiquette I asked if we could play through them and they abruptly said no and reminded us that they were members other than that wee had a great day out thank you


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Highly Recommend Course For A Round Or Membership"


petehutch1's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Great club all round.

The course is fair but challenging with a lot of interesting holes. The course is very well maintained and the greens are kept in great condition. Unlike some other courses in the area, you are often playing from elevated tees or to plateau greens. It's hard to say which would be the signature hole, but the 4th, 8th, 12th and 14th would all be contenders.

Aside the course, the practice facilities are second to none with 6 covered bays, practice tees (grass), putting and pitching greens and a separate short practice hole.

The pro and his assistants are very helpful and friendly. A couple of lessons with Simon Payne are well worth the money, you'll definitely knock more shots off your round than you would buying new clubs at a fraction of the price!!

The club is very welcoming for members and guests alike. The food on offer is of a high standard and is very reasonably priced.

I have played most courses in the area many times and chose to take out membership at Cowglen as I felt it offered the best all round benefits and value for money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Good course no drainage"


cowglen1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

The course layout is good some nice holes, there are severe drainage issues with this course, take today the course is closed due to flooding, in the summer it's really nice and from September onwards it's not very nice.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"the course is in very good condition"


alanglen's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Walked Windy weather

Reviewed on

i am a member here and have played golf just about all year round, this is testament to how hard the green staff have worked on the course all year round and i would recommend anyone to come and play as the course will suit all standard of golfers and also enjoy or academy facilities here , driving range and short game practice areas, also enjoy or club house facilities with a wide range of beverages and food, you will receive a warm welcome by staff and members alike who will be only to happy to help you to ensure you whole day goes smoothly, to hopefully guarantee you will return in the future.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




cmcskeane's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"COWGLEN FOR ME"


frababy's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

after playing this course a few times, I cancelled my membership at another course, and have loved playing here for the last 2 years / and a few friends agree with me and joined also / in my opinion 1 of the best courses around.

driving range, practice areas, chipping area, putting area all excellent condition and a £1 for 25 balls

greens and all of course excellently maintained.

locker room and shower facilities , modern and again well maintained.

bar £3 a pint , kitchen good food and reasonable prices ;- £2.20 doubler roll , snack menu, £5-£7 meals

and plenty of parking facilities, easy transport edge of m77 , bus stop number 3 mcgills right at gate entrance


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Best in area"


fmcam1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Cowglen is in great condition in particular the greens. It is a very fair test requiring accuracy more than power. The facilities are good especially the practice areas with the covered range,two short game areas and putting area which is maintained to match the actual greens. The staff are friendly and approachable. I play a lot of golf and I enjoy playing lots of other courses but they rarely tick as many boxes for me.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Gem of a course"


rafeagle's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Great well laid out course which is immaculate, greenstaff must work 24/7 to keep it that way. The view from the 8th is simply stunning. Some very challenging holes here, would recommend a round here to try it.

From arriving you are made welcome in the Pro shop who are very friendly and will do all they can to help you. There is a driving academy so you can warm up and they have two short game areas to practice on. Must admit I think these are the best practice facilities for miles.

Also found that the members were very welcoming something you don't see at many courses.

Great course, great greens staff and great members, what more could you ask.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fantastic course"


Mac291256's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

i have played this course several times and it never ceases to impress me. Every hole is completely different and it is a great test of golf. The greens are superb all year round, I even played them in December and they were great. The views from some parts of the course are just stunning, wait till you tee off from the 8th tee. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Looking forward to my next round there.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Wee Gem"


tonyra's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Great course in really good condition. The course is challenging but would suit all levels and I am proposing it for our golf society rota, as it is really handy for Glasgow city centre. The greens were as good as you will play anywhere and the practice facility is brilliant.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Recent round at Cowglen Glasgow"


murraymill's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
First time playing Walked Cold weather

Reviewed on

From the moment we arrived at Cowglen we were made to feel welcome by the staff and members.

The club has good practice facilities including driving range and short game practice area.

The course is undulating parkland with a good mix of holes and challenges, it was also in very good condition. After we played the caterers looked after us with great club sandwiches. Would be happy to recommend and play again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Cowglen GC"


Allofthem's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played many times, always a pleasure, greens always

in great condition. Tremendous views form the 8th tee.

Weather was great. Course was very dry.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Fantastic!!"


RCZCarbon's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Tricky, but fair course, which is maintained in immaculate condition. Friendly pro-shop and clubhouse staff. A must if you are ever in the Glasgow area!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A must play course"


u696204786's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Right from the moment we entered the pro shop the impression was first class. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great course design with great character. Greens were good and in a few more weeks I can imagine they will be perfect. Can't wait to return and already advising my friends


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Can't wait to play it again!"


u464431129's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lived near this course my whole life and have played most courses in the area but had never played here. Got a deal on golf now and thought I would give it a go. Found the staff very friendly and informative and felt right at home before even getting to the first tee. The course itself was in fantastic condition and the greens were just superb. The course layout is excellent with some really well designed holes. I left very angry with myself that I had not played the course sooner. I also left with a membership application form! If you have not played Cowglen I would definitely recommend you give it a try.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



t537690211's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great golf course"


u149175913's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/09/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course today,although we are into December the was in great condition.the course was very quiet due to the time of the year which meant there was no slow play which is always a plus.when I arrived the professional in the shop was very welcoming and helpful in every way possible.if you are looking for a great day day of golf give cowglen a try you won't be disappointed.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed