Glasgow Gailes Golf Club

4.8948235294 4.9 stars from 5 (25)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6903 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 74.1
  • Layout

  • Glasgow Golf Club, Gailes, Irvine, Ayrshire, KA11 5AE
  • +44 (0) 1294 311561, +44 (0) 1294 311258
  • +44 (0) 1294 279366
  • www.gaileslinks.co.uk
Write a review

Year built: 1892
Architect(s): Willie Park, Jr. (1912)
Type: Private
Style: Links
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire: golf shoes required, collared or polo shirts, slacks or trousers, no denims, tailored shorts only at least knee length.
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 71 6903 yards 74.1 134
White 71 6535 yards 72.3 131
Yellow 71 6322 yards 71.4 129
Yellow (W) 71 6322 yards 0.0 0
Blue 71 5553 yards 67.9 122

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 25 Reviews
5 stars:
22
4 stars:
3
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

25 out of 25 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Excellent Links Experience"


t1556629346's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course in exceptional condition for this time of year. It was an absolute pleasure to play this Links course in very demanding conditions. A must for all serious golfers. The fairways and greens were immaculate. The rough was testing if you ventured into it and the traps were everywhere. A great overall test awaits.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Redirected"


t1298463773's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was initially supposed to play the Glen in north Berwick.But after a mix up with the tee sheet,ended up going down to play

Glasgow Gailes. And in my opinion one of the best I have played, every hole presented a new challenge.For November the course was in great condition I would love to return in the summer.Do yourself a favour and play this course you won't regret it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Willie Park subperb"


phhiltonhead's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Play a Willie Park course at home and the surprise when we pulled up and found he had also designed the course heightened the experience.

That staff was really interested in having guests who played a course by the same designer


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



"Stunning Course"


u283493349's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was looking forward to playing this course for a while now and did not disappoint. The course was in stunning condition and the best greens I've played on for quite a while and that includes the old course & Carnoustie.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u1740302's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent"


u170278042's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course and condition, difficult but fair, watch the greens tho, they can make u look silly but fantastic fun.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Stunning."


u611926586's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time at the club, we turned up to the most welcoming pro (nick) which was delightful. He showed us round, made us feel so welcome and gave us a little insight to the clubs history. The weather was glorious so we had a few putts on the putting green then decided to walk onto the first tee.. chancing our luck we went back to the clubhouse and asked nick if we could play from the blacks.. he had a wee chuckle and said of course we could so that's what we did. The course was I'm beautiful condition.. greens,tees and fairways were top top so a well done to the greens staff for the hard work that I know goes into maintaining such a beautiful course. By the sixth hole we had no one behind or in front of us which made it even better so we enjoyed the course and the golf the rest of the way home. For me and my playing partner for the day the Glasgow Gailes is one of the finest courses we have played.. we are both low single figures and have played a lot of nice courses and for us this is definitely top 5 in the country. Thank you so much again too the pro for making us feel so welcome and our day such a delight.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent course"


t354812970's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course great layout and in very good condition great test of golf


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



t1187036094's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in perfect condition. Dry despite recent rain. Forgiving for the odd wayward shot until rough comes up. Greens fantastic. Links golf but lush that bit away from the sea. No sea views. Great welcome from pro shop.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Even better than last year"


Zoomergolf's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Noticed various areas where trees and bushes have been removed since last year - with all changes enhancing the course.

In fantastic condition for time of year and a warm welcome as always.

Truly one of Scotlands finest links.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course all year round."


europe1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/06/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Second time playing at the Gails and we couldn't give it enough praise. Condition brilliant considering it's December. Greenkeepers can be seen out on the course keeping it in a great condition. Only downside is that it's a bit deer but you do get a great course and staff are very helpful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course condition"


u720048566's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/06/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in magnificent order considering the time of year. There was a lot going on within the course foot print but still in great order.

I just goes to prove that courses can be played at this time of year without dropping off fairways.

The tee boxes greens and all surrounding areas were in superb order.

The club house stall and Nick the Pro were most courteous. The clubhouse and shower/toilet areas were very clean. Would not hesitate to go again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Unlucky for some."


uQVHC6558QV's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2016
First time playing Walked Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Picked the only day this year where frost was hard and covered the entire country. That being said the course was available for play from the white tee markers albeit to winter the greens. The entire course was covered in white frost and we did not expect to play at all. We would love to play here in full course conditions, the greens looked undulating and in great shape for December and three putts would have been good. The staff in the clubhouse from the caddy master to the caterers were welcoming and friendly and the clubhouse facilities and prices were excellent. The cousre itself is fairly flat and walking with carry bags was easy.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Glasgow Gailes"


u000004816044's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fantastic course and even though fairway protection in place this never hampered the round. Club contacted prior to round to bring forward times and very accommodating on the day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Sunday afternoon"


Kevin3049340's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After a day of heavy rain the day before I was a bit concerned about the condition the course would be in. Don't worry, it could be raining for a week and this place would cope. Fairways bone dry, green firm and true, all round the course was in excellent condition.

Friendly staff and top class facilities.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"An old gem!"


Jmwh70's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/08/2016
First time playing Walked Played 18 holes Poor weather

Reviewed on

A great links course, steeped in tradition. Interesting throughout, with great variety of holes. Chuck in the wind and rain, and you'll get a great links experience!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"One of the best"


douggscott's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A great golf course, every hole is different and challenging


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"1st Class Course"


IanKing's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2015
First time playing Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the best links course's in Ayrshire and in super condition. Great practice area next to clubhouse to warm up on which you will need. Some really tough holes mixed in with some birdie chances. Whatever you do try to stay out of the gorse unless you have arms like Popeye. Great challenge as you would expect of such a renowned course. Pro was also very welcoming. Would join this club in a shot


I recommend this course


"Glasgow Gailes in a gale"


stanwilson's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/27/2015
First time playing Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Poor weather

Reviewed on

If you love links golf and clubs with a history - then this is the place for you. A real treat even though we played for the most part in high winds and rain. This has to be one of the fairest links courses in Scotland, if you hit it straight - the ball will bounce straight too, and no blind shots - it's all out there right in front of you. Take an extra 20 mins to take the "pro's tour" too, he'll show you all around the club and just drink in the history. Could not be a friendlier staff at any golf club anywhere !


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenging and pricey"


Jerome61's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/29/2015
First time playing Played as a single Walked Played 18 holes Average weather

Reviewed on

A first for me and the second time playing a real links. Challenging for my level, nice and tricky putting green and few bunkers at the right place to take care about . The environment is poor with the train track near some holes. But a very good experience. Staff very friendly and course condition really good. Just a bit pricey !


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed