Western Gailes Golf Club

4.9722166667 5.0 stars from 5 (8)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 7014 yards
  • Slope: 140
  • Layout

  • Western Gailes Golf Club, Gailes, Irvine, KA11 5AE
  • +44 (0) 1294 311649
  • +44 (0) 1294 312312
  • westerngailes.com

Year built: 1897
Style: Links
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Visitors may not wear jeans or collarless shirts while on the course or in the clubhouse.
Credit cards accepted: Mastercard, Visa, American Express or Switch/Maestro

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Champ 71 7014 yards 0.0 140
Medal 71 6640 yards 0.0 137
Standard 71 6106 yards 0.0 132
Forward 71 5441 yards 0.0 126

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 5.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 5.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 5.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 8 Reviews
5 stars:
7
4 stars:
1
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

8 out of 8 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Excellent Links"


picayune1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/30/2017
First time playing Walked Wet weather

Reviewed on

This is one of those places you may not of heard of but is well worth the visit. An absolute must play course, and I am saying that after a round of non stop wind and rain. Pot bunkers, burns, greens tucked into the swales, this course has it all. Cheaper than most and they throw in a free lunch! Easily accessed from anywhere on the Ayrshire coast. It has moved into my top ten list!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A must-play in Scotland"


MikeBaileyGA's avatar
Golf Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

One local told me this was his favorite course in Scotland and after playing it I can see why. One gorgeous hole after another on a true links course set seaside. Tom Watson said the par 3 seventh was his favorite hole in Scotland, but I just liked the overall flow of the course. Keep it in the fairways and you've got a chance to score. Spray it and you'll be looking for balls. We played it on a relatively calm day, though. I would imagine in gusty weather it's a real bear, but enjoyable no matter what.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Aptly Named"


JeffArenson's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Denver Advisor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2015
Previously played Played as a single Walked Played 18 holes

Reviewed on

Been to Western Gailes twice in the last two years. Played in 2014; after 4 holes, the wind picked up to 4 clubs and it was also raining sideways. Still liked the place, nicest staff in Scotland, and came back for 36 this year. No rain, but the wind was the same. Never the less, I enjoyed Western Gailes very much; this is Scotland so wind is actually part of the experience.<br/> They have the best staff-period-in Scotland. Their locker room is very old school and greatest I have been in. Everybody from the pro shop, to the dining room to the starter who is an icon, was extremely nice. They got me going quickly, kindly moved maintenance for me on a hole, gave me a private room to dine in to watch golf- no tele in the dining room and were just the most pleasant staff in a land with pleasant people.<br/> The golf-Western Gailes is a true links experience. The unique part is that you play 4 holes out, then 9 along the shore in the opposite direction, then the last holes in the same direction you started. A nice variation from the typical out and back routing of most links courses. Beside the wind the fairways are well contoured as are the greens without becoming absurd. There is a need to move the ball in a variety of directions and playing links style shots. There is not a weak hole on the course and a few great holes are there. The par 5 6th stands out for its punchbowl green which only the brave will try to get to in two. It is situated left of the main fairway and all carry over the rough. The par 3 7th also has a great green complex protected by bunkers and plays very long into the wind. The tee box has the best view as you are able to see over the dunes. The rest of the holes are good; there are a couple with a burn in front and only 1 that people mind find quirky. I'll leave it up to you to determine which one that is and if it is quirky. There is also a nice variety of shot and long 3s and 4s, as well as dog legs left and right. A really good blend.<br/> Despite the difficult conditions, all three rounds I have played there have been completed in 3-3.5 hours.Have to love Scotland for that alone.<br/> Due to the fact that I have yet to experience less than 3-4 club wind here, I found this to be quite challenging. The longer holes play into the prevailing wind which ups the challenge. Only a seriously good player, if anybody, will shoot near their handicap in these conditions.<br/> After the round, head back to the clubhouse for a beverage and the view of the course and area. Stay for sunset.<br/> If you are doing the west coast of Scotland and plan on playing Turnberry and Troon, then add Western Gailes (as well as my favorite-Prestwick) and you have yourself a memorable time. Treatment is hard to beat and the golf is a lot of fun.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Must Play on the West Coast"


u000004933203's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2015
First time playing

Reviewed on

We were staying in St. Andrews and thought we had caught a good day with the weather forecast (and the price), so we drove out to the west coast for the day. Weather had changed (Scotland) and we had a 3 club wind with temp around 54. Had a great caddie and staff couldn't have been nicer. Wonderful links layout and in excellent condition, but a tough challenge even if the wind wasn't 25-30mph.. Makie sure you put this one on your list.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Northern Ayrshire Gem"


u000005461662's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2014
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff are friendly and very helpful right from the start. I was provided a stroke saver with much input from the starter on shot lines and such. Magnificent links course along the sea. Tough and challenging test with only 10-15 MPH winds off the sea for this 9.5 handicap player. Easily one of the best courses in western Scotland. Enjoyed a beer after the round and admired the stunning views of Arran and Ailsa Craig from my chair in the clubhouse.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Sweet"


David6973727's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2013
First time playing Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Poor weather

Reviewed on

Course was in terrific shape. Rain was coming down hard and wind was blowing 30-40 mph. caddie called it a 4 club wind. Great experience, worth the drive if staying at Turnberry. Caddie master even let us borrow his clubs as the airline lost mine. Excellent service, will be back on our next trip!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Underrated gem in Scotland"


RyanLavnerGC's avatar
Golf Channel
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2013
First time playing Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

We played this track during a five-day golf excursion before the British Open. I knew absolutely nothing about the place beforehand, but was blown away by the stunning vistas and fun layout. Make no mistake: Western Gailes will beat you up if you're not playing well, and you better bring a few extra balls if you're a little loose off the tee. But it's a great walk and there are a lot of different ways to make pars. Afterward, I'd highly recommend a beer on the patio that overlooks the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Proper Scottish course with a proper Scottish caddie"


JayCoffinGC's avatar
Golf Channel
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2013
First time playing Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

Played as a sixsome, each with a caddie so there were 12 people on the course all at once.

There was a lot of commotion, but that didn't distract from the stunning layout. Too bad I was slapping it all over the map that day.

I can remember every hole vividly, especially the par 3s. You don't hear about Western Gailes as much as, say, Royal Troon or Prestwick, but you should. It's a gem.

Make sure you have a beer off the back of the clubhouse porch at the end of the day as the sun sets. Heavenly as you look out at the Firth of Clyde the Isle of Arran and Ailsa Craig.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course




    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed