Fereneze Golf Club

4.4411470588 4.4 stars from 5 (17)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 5962 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Pull-carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Tops to have collar or roll neck, long trousers or tailored shorts, short sleeve tops to be tucked inside trousers, no football or rugby tops, no denim, trainers, or tee shirts.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 71 5962 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 71 5735 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 72 5354 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 17 Reviews
5 stars:
8
4 stars:
9
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

17 out of 17 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Fantastic course"


espioclone's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Fereneze is a hidden gem on the outskirts of Glasgow, a classic moorland course, hilly at the start and finish with amazing views over Glasgow and West Central Scotland. The course is not long, but every hole is different and challenging. The course is in superb condition. Loved it!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Garycamp's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fab course in good condition lovely greens all round very playable and stunning views over Glasgow


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Take your hiking boots!!"


u3707732's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really nice course. The fairways are in great condition and the greens are immaculate. First few holes are very steep, to the point I was thinking surely it can't keep going up!.

Some really stunning holes on this course and amazing views of the surrounding area (due to being so high up the hill).

Down side to this lovely course is the fact that they sell tee times late in the day. My own fault. I booked a 7.44pm tee off. We were only able to get round 12 holes before it got to dark to play on. Which begs the question , why give the option to book at that time. Also there was no one there, We could have just walked on the course played a few holes and no one would be any the wiser (not that I would do that, but still) saving myself 46 pounds.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Well worth a visit!"


davidpscott's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2017
Previously played Walked Cold weather

Reviewed on

I played with my partner & my son. We had a really enjoyable game but lost a few balls which hit the fairway & then rolled off into long rough. Knowing the course would definitely be an advantage!

We didn't use the clubhouse facilities, apart from the changing rooms.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Value for money"


t744291590's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course, quite short but tight. Rough is very long so if you are off the fairway you are in serious trouble


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great little course"


STRICKI's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, greens were superb. A bit hilly on the first few holes, when the wind picks up makes it tricky. Overall thoroughly enjoyed the course, would highly recommend it, and will definitely be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Amazing value for money"


Cfallo200's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I paid around £10 to play this course. I have previously played it but many years ago. It has stunning views. It is very hilly so be prepared for that. The greens are very fast for the time of year, it's obvious they look after this course. Would pay £25 for this and still feel it was well worth it. Give it a shot.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


espioclone's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
Previously played Walked Windy weather

Reviewed on

Great course, spectacular views of West Central Scotland, not too long, and some cracking holes, tough in the wind!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great Course, Amazing views, Friendly Staff"


t1119256047's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played this course yesterday with 2 friends. We had great weather for it and the course is in superb condition. We are all casual golfers and we found some of the holes quite tricky, but all of the holes were interesting and varied. The course is pretty hilly and the altitude makes for some windy elevated tee shots so expect to lose some balls. The tee boxs fairways and greens were in excellent condition and the 18th down hill par 4 is a lot of fun with the green being drivable for not even the biggest hitters.

The professional was very informative and friendly.

We stopped in the club house for food afterwards to which the Bar maid was very friendly and we had a great burger and chips (huge portions and rediculously cheap)

We will definitely be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



JOHBETP8M's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


u1586966's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this nice corse that has great views in February, overall in good condition for time of year. Unfortunately we played on winter greens due to heavy frost, however the very friendly staff and members offered us to return to play the course properly at a later date. I will definitely be back to play there again as I enjoyed it even in the poor weather conditions.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"DECEPTIVELY TRICKY"


u7211949's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/13/2016
First time playing Walked Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Far from the longest course, Fereneze looks on paper like a par 71 you can really score on, and provided you hit the ball straight there are undoubtedly opportunities, however the problems really start as soon as you are even slightly wayward off the tee. At many of the holes you find yourself playing a blind tee shot onto a narrow fairway, and with thick rough aplenty you can easily find yourself racking up the penalty strokes if you are having an off day with the driver. The par 3's are all very short and inviting, but again accuracy is an absolute imperative or that birdie opportunity can quickly become a battle to prevent double bogey. Course was in outstanding condition for time of year with the greens as quick as anything I have putted on playing on a damp December morning. Only criticism is that playing it for the first time it wasn't always totally obvious where the next hole was at certain points - would benefit from marking each tee with the hole number. Will definitely be having another crack at this course, but with the benefit of experience may opt for a 3 wood off the tee at certain holes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Blue85's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played a round on Sunday for the 1st time and really enjoyed it, really warmed up around the 4th as the first 3 holes are uphill and just got my breath back then haha. Managed a couple of birdies which is good for me as I only started playing 6 months ago. Will defenitely going back for another round as the views are spectacular.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fereneze."


u00000898797's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course though not the longest is a thinking mans course. A few blind holes with a great variance. The course was in really decent condition. The greens were true but slow due to having been scarified and sanded. Very pleasant course with tremendous views all around. Will definitely be going back again although I think I'll do so in the height of the golf season.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Perfect greens"


Phill1987's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/20/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First 3 holes, all up hill but good holes. Views are are excellent on this course. The weather wasnt great over the wkend but the course was in great shape, the greens were perfect, very well maintained. The18th is very interesting, it was too dark for us unfortunately as it was a later tee off,so it was too difficult to see our ball. The gentleman in the starter office was very helpful and gave us worthwhile advice on the trickier holes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Greatest 18th hole ever"


Sigrunedda's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/04/2015
First time playing Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Liked the course, hilly and challenging and the greatast 18th hole I have played downhill all the way very steep.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Interesting and challenging course"


500courses's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/28/2015
First time playing Played as a single Walked Played 18 holes Fair weather

Reviewed on

Welcoming reception by Pro and staff.Useful information about course condition and terrain provided.Easy and efficient check in.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed