Balmore Golf Club

4.4436235294 4.4 stars from 5 (20)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 66
  • Length: 5542 yards
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: Proper golf attire.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 66 5542 yards 0.0 0
Yellow 66 5294 yards 0.0 0
Red (W) 70 5073 yards 0.0 0

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 20 Reviews
5 stars:
11
4 stars:
7
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

18 out of 20 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good short, varied course"


carrick1's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Course was in great condition and was excellent value for money. If I hadn't got a deal though, I doubt if I would have paid the full green fees. Preferred the front 9, the two back-to-back par 3s at 15 and 16 crossing over each other didn't do it for me, but 18 is a lovely hole. Course looked great in the autumn colours.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Six par threes a great feature"


rhaddow46's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in great condition considering how wet it has been recently. Greens were very good. Staff welcoming, food good.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"No par 5s !"


u235417100's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A great course for those who find long par 5s a challenge - there are none. The course has a lovely layout, with a nod to the Azaleas at Augusta on a couple of holes. I've played it a couple of times though and it can be tight in places.

On the last occasion the only spoiler was the couple in front who were not in any hurry to beat the rain !

Bar staff and golf pro very friendly, certainly worth another visit.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u951149857's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Titoc's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Balmier G C"


t449728506's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in perfect condition , greens were fast and as good as you'll ever get. Course is an ideal length for middle handicap golfers!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Return Visit"


5Donald5's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2017
Previously played Walked Windy weather

Reviewed on

This was a return visit to Balmore on a very windy day. Despite the weather the course was immaculate and a good test of golf. Friendly staff and members made the visit one to remember. Well Done Balmore !


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Gem of a course with a great welcome!"


grahamg2's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2017
Previously played Walked Windy weather

Reviewed on

Balmore GC is an extremely well manicured course with some lovely scenery. The fairways and greens were of an exceptional standard, and the course was a joy to play.

We received a great welcome from members and staff alike and we will definitely be returning very soon to enjoy the entire experience again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Should play here"


t1612811888's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had another great day at balmore great range of holes .definitely be back .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Lovely course with a friendly welcome"


t1656450451's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This was a well manicured course with some lovely scenery. The fairways and greens were of a very high standard and the course was a joy to play. Not too difficult for myself and partners who are all mid handicappers.

The welcome from the Pro Shop and the Clubhouse was very friendly and all staff were accommodating and helpful.

We will certainly return and would recommend this course without hesitation.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Happy days"


u791597570's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played for the 1st time . Will be back . Course in great condition .


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Balmore golf club"


t615054560's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

The course was in fantastic condition.and the guy in the clubhouse was very helpful just thought the greens could have done with a little bit of watering very hard to stop the ball on greens from a approach shot but overall great course will definitely go back again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u646810535's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice to be back, and play this course, I really mised it


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


"Great little course"


STRICKI's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great little course, not told about about playing with a mat until I was approached by the most rudest groundsman I've met on a course. Was condescending cheeky and lied to me as well. Ruined a great day on a great course, definitely won't be back and couldn't recommended it. Looked down at me when I told him I was a first time visitor and booked via tee off times. I just walked straight of the course.

In future please let first time visitors know, i would happily adhere to any rules, i would of happily bought a mat at the start of the round,not a problem. The thing that annoys me most, a 3 ball In front and behind me and nothing was said to them.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"Good drainage and fun to play"


nelsog20001983's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the best courses for drainage.

Greens and fairways in excellent condition for this time of year.

Very very good value for money.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"DO NOT PLAY IF WINTER GREENS"


klz1632's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/02/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Had heard some good things about the course from a former member and so headed up on a frosty morning in January. We fully expected to play on winter greens given the forecast. However, what we didn't expect was the layout.

We'll overlook the fact that the clubhouse alarm was going off and could easily be heard over the first 6 holes as they had obviously elected to let all the staff have the day off (it is a public holiday in Scotland). We had booked ahead using the internet so tee'd off. It became clear that the temporary greens have been setup to remove the character from the holes. It would appear no attempt has been made to protect the greens. Rather than having the temps on the aprons of the current greens, some are as far away as 150 yards (8th). The setup for the 15th and 16th beggars belief as well as the placement of the green for what should be a great 17th hole.

The course does look like a great challenge when playing correctly, but with the number to choose from in the area I'd be more inclined to try them out before returning here.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Average

Value for the Money: Good


I don't recommend this course


"A Little Gem"


u843860567's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2016
Previously played Walked Played 18 holes Fair weather

Reviewed on

I first played Balmore just over a year ago, and really enjoyed the experience. A friendly welcome from the helpful staff made the pre-round experience very relaxing. There's a practice area for those, like myself, who like a warm up. The course is very well kept and the USGA greens are excellent. The course offers plenty of challenges and also some great looking holes. Some might not like the fact that the course has no Par 5s but that suits me as I'm no long hitter. My friends all love this course too so it makes for a great social occasion. If the membership was a bit cheaper, I'd have most likely joined by now, as I've played there at least a dozen times over the last year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



"A 'must-play' course."


gfward's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very enjoyable experience. Balmore G. C. is a must-play course. Beautiful scenery and a fine course with superb greens, a warm welcome and excellent clubhouse. What more could anyone want?


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Balmore"


u503861146's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/07/2014
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course will most likely be back soon great value for money


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"A Hidden Gem"


5Donald5's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2013
Previously played Played with a group Walked Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

Balmore is a friendly & welcoming Club with stunning scenery to compliment its well presented and challenging Course with testing Greens.<br/> Well worth the effort to try out the Course and once you have done so - you will return.<br/> Enjoy !


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed